Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

First Nations Socio-economic Forum

Follow-up by the Government of Canada, the Government of Québec and the First Nations

Québec City, June 16, 2007 – Following their commitments, representatives from federal and provincial governments and a number of First Nations Chiefs have been meeting in the Quebec Region over the past two days to follow up on the First Nations Socio-Economic Forum, which took place in Mashteuiatsh last October.

The meeting was chaired by the Chief of the Assembly of the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador (AFNQL), Ghislain Picard, and co-chaired by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians, Jim Prentice, and the Minister responsible for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, Benoît Pelletier.

Also participating were: Quebec Premier Jean Charest; the Grand Chief of the Atikamekw Nation, Eva Ottawa, the Grand Chief of the Anishnabeg Tribal Council; Lucien Wabanonik, the Chief of the Community of Matimekush-Lac John, Thaddée André; the Chief of the Community of Mashteuiatsh, Gilbert Dominique; the Chief of the Community of Kawawachikamach; the Chiefs representing the Huron-Wendat Nation, René Gros-Louis and Benoît Sioui, and the Chief of the Community of Ekuanitshit, Jean-Charles Piétacho.

"The First Nations Socio-Economic Forum enabled us to establish shared priorities for the development of the Aboriginal Nations. It also gave us an opportunity to affirm our willingness to establish new mutual solidarities. Today, we have been able to take stock of the commitments that were made at Mashteuiatsh and what has been done since," said Mr Charest.

The discussions focused in part on progress made since the First Nations Socio-Economic Forum. The AFNQL presented its report and all parties confirmed their desire to continue working so that concrete results are achieved as soon as possible.

The subject of youth protection was also central to the discussions. "First Nations governments suggest that the Government of Canada and the Government of Quebec join their efforts immediately to address the very pressing issue that currently exists with regard to the placement of First Nations children. Preventive measures must be strengthened and everything possible done to ensure support for the children and their families", said Chief Ghislain Picard.

The Government of Canada, the Government of Quebec and the First Nations are committed to continue working in partnership to find concrete solutions to the serious problems faced by Aboriginal communities with regard to youth protection, especially in terms of prevention, rapid response measures and the placement of children in permanent homes. A prevention-based approach ensures stability for children, and the effectiveness of this approach for the
delivery of child services for First Nations has been demonstrated elsewhere in Canada.

"Children are the future of the First Nations, and it is our duty to work together to ensure they have a secure environment. I am truly proud of the commitment made by all parties here today and I am convinced that this partnership will make a real difference for First Nations' youth in Quebec", explained Mr Prentice.

"In that context, our hope is that the Government of Quebec and the First Nations of Quebec look to the tripartite model implemented in Alberta, which is already showing concrete results, and tailor it to the situation in Quebec", added Mr Prentice.

Land and resources were also discussed. "It was clearly established during the Socio-Economic Forum that the development of our communities requires access to land and natural resources. The time has come to take action. The First Nations reiterate that they are key to development of the regions", said AFNQL Chief Ghislain Picard.

The Government of Quebec made a proposal that talks on this issue be better supported. "The issue of land and resources is a key concern in our relations with the First Nations. We have agreed on a method for working co-operatively to deal with these matters, so that we can learn better ways of living together", added Mr Pelletier.

At the close of the meeting, the parties reiterated their desire to develop new partnerships and their willingness to work assiduously toward their common objectives.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : June 18, 2007

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations

Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Québec et les Premières Nations font le suivi

Québec, le 16 juin 2007 – Donnant suite à leurs engagements, des représentants des gouvernements fédéral et provincial, ainsi que plusieurs chefs des Premières Nations, se sont rencontrés dans la région de Québec, ces deux derniers jours, pour faire le suivi du Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations qui s'est tenu à Mashteuiatsh, en octobre dernier.

La rencontre était présidée par le Chef de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), M. Ghislain Picard, et coprésidée par le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, M. Jim Prentice, et le ministre responsable des Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et des Affaires autochtones, M. Benoît Pelletier.

Y participaient également : le premier ministre, M. Jean Charest; la Grand Chef du Conseil de la nation atikamekw, Mme Eva Ottawa; le Grand Chef du Conseil tribal anishnabeg, M. Lucien Wabanonik; le Chef de la communauté de Matimekush-Lac John, M. Thaddée André; le Chef de la communauté de Mashteuiatsh, M. Gilbert Dominique; le Chef de la communauté de Kawawachikamach, M. Philip Einish; les Chefs représentant la nation huronne-wendat, MM. René Gros-Louis et Benoît Sioui; le Chef de la communauté d'Ekuanitshit, M. Jean-Charles Piétacho.

« Le Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations nous a permis de nous fixer des priorités communes quant au développement des nations autochtones. Il nous a aussi donné l'occasion d'affirmer notre volonté d'établir entre nous des solidarités nouvelles. Nous avons pu, aujourd'hui, faire le point sur les engagements qui avaient été pris à Mashteuiatsh et sur les suites qui leur ont été données », a déclaré le premier ministre.

Une partie des échanges a porté sur les progrès réalisés depuis le Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations. L'APNQL a présenté son bilan, et toutes les parties ont confirmé leur volonté de poursuivre les travaux afin d'en arriver à des résultats concrets dans les meilleurs délais.

La protection de la jeunesse a également été au coeur des discussions. « Les gouvernements des Premières Nations proposent au gouvernement du Canada et à celui du Québec d'unir leurs efforts immédiatement pour mettre fin à la situation actuelle, très préoccupante, en ce qui concerne les placements d'enfants des Premières Nations. Il faut renforcer les mesures préventives et tout mettre en oeuvre pour assurer le soutien aux enfants et aux familles », a indiqué le Chef Ghislain Picard.

Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Québec et les Premières Nations se sont engagés à poursuivre leur collaboration et à travailler en partenariat afin d'appliquer des solutions concrètes aux problèmes criants des communautés autochtones en matière de protection de la jeunesse, notamment en ce qui à trait à la prévention, aux mesures d'intervention rapide et au placement des enfants dans un foyer permanent. Une approche axée sur la prévention permet d'assurer une stabilité à l'enfant. Cette approche a démontré son efficacité ailleurs au pays dans la prestation des services à l'enfance au sein des Premières Nations.

« Les enfants représentent l'avenir des Premières Nations et il est de notre devoir de travailler ensemble afin de leur assurer un environnement sécuritaire. Je suis vraiment fier de l'engagement pris par les parties aujourd'hui et je suis convaincu que ce partenariat permettra de faire une réelle différence pour les jeunes des Premières Nations au Québec », a expliqué M. Prentice.

« Dans cette optique, nous souhaitons que le gouvernement du Québec et les Premières Nations du Québec s'inspirent du modèle tripartite mis en oeuvre en Alberta, qui apporte déjà des résultats concrets, et l'adaptent à la réalité québécoise », a ajouté M. Prentice.

Le territoire et les ressources ont aussi fait l'objet de discussions. « Il a été clairement établi durant le Forum socioéconomique que le redressement de nos communautés passe nécessairement par l'accès aux territoires et aux ressources naturelles. Le temps est effectivement venu d'agir. Les Premières Nations rappellent qu'ils sont incontournables dans tout ce qui touche le développement des régions », rappelle le Chef de l'APNQL, M. Ghislain Picard.

Le gouvernement du Québec a fait une proposition pour que soient mieux encadrés les pourparlers à ce sujet. « La question du territoire et des ressources est au coeur des préoccupations dans nos relations avec les Premières Nations. Nous avons convenu d'une méthode de travail commune pour traiter de ces questions, et ce, dans la perspective d'apprendre à mieux cohabiter », a ajouté M. Pelletier.

À l'issue de la rencontre, les parties ont réitéré leur désir de développer de nouveaux partenariats et leur volonté de poursuivre assidûment leurs objectifs communs.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 18 juin 2007