Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2008 > February 14, 2008

Minister Benoît Pelletier signs a framework agreement and five letters of understanding with the Long Point First Nation in Winneway

Winneway, February 14, 2008. – Benoît Pelletier, Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, and Steeve Mathias, Chief of the Long Point First Nation Council, today signed a framework agreement and five letters of understanding in preparation for the sectoral negotiations concerning the Algonquin Community of Winneway in the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region. The signing of this agreement and these letters is the result of more than one year of discussions.

With this agreement we have taken a decisive and important step forward. We know that henceforth we can rely on dialogue, which should facilitate future exchanges. Today, we are sealing a new relationship with the Long Point First Nation, a relationship founded on mutual trust and the search for fairness,” stated Minister Pelletier.

The framework agreement with the Community of Long Point differs from those which the Québec government is in the habit of proposing, notably by the scope of the subject matters that it addresses and by the fact that it is complemented by five letters of understanding. Three of these letters that were signed today specify the content and the timetable of the sectoral agreements to be negotiated. They deal with public security, forestry and the land base of the community. As for the other two letters, one deals with the funding of the negotiations of the three sectoral agreements and the framework agreement, whereas the other specifies the mediator’s mandate.

For his part, Chief Steeve Mathias expressed his satisfaction following the signing of these documents. “I remain optimistic concerning the good faith and the search for our mutual interest that will prevail in the negotiations that will resume shortly,” he stated.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of : February 14, 2008

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2008 > 14 février 2008

Le ministre Benoît Pelletier signe une entente-cadre et cinq lettres d’entente avec la première nation de Longue-Pointe à Winneway

Winneway, le 14 février 2008. – Le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Benoît Pelletier, et le chef du conseil de la première nation de Longue-Pointe, M. Steeve Mathias, ont signé aujourd’hui une entente-cadre et cinq lettres d’entente préalables à des négociations sectorielles concernant cette communauté algonquine de Winneway en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. La signature de ces ententes est l’aboutissement de plus d’un an de discussions.

« Grâce à cette entente, nous franchissons une étape déterminante. Nous savons désormais que nous pouvons miser sur le dialogue,  ce qui devrait faciliter les échanges à venir. Nous scellons aujourd’hui une nouvelle relation avec la première nation de Longue-Pointe. Une relation fondée sur la confiance mutuelle et la recherche d’équité », a déclaré le ministre Pelletier.

L’entente-cadre avec la communauté de Longue-Pointe diffère de celles que le gouvernement du Québec a l’habitude de proposer, notamment par l’étendue des sujets qu’elle aborde et par le fait qu’elle est assortie de cinq lettres d’entente. Trois des lettres qui ont été signées aujourd’hui précisent le contenu et l’échéancier d’ententes sectorielles à négocier. Elles portent sur la sécurité publique, la foresterie et l’assise territoriale de la communauté. Quant aux deux autres lettres, déjà signées,  l’une traite du financement des négociations des trois ententes sectorielles et de l’entente-cadre, tandis que la seconde précise le mandat du médiateur.

Pour sa part, le chef Steeve Mathias a exprimé sa satisfaction à la suite de ces signatures. « Je demeure optimiste relativement à la bonne foi et à la recherche de l’intérêt mutuel qui prévaudront dans les négociations qui se poursuivront incessamment », a-t-il déclaré.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : 14 février 2008