Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2009 > August 25, 2009

Economic Action Plan - Canada, Quebec and First Nations in Quebec Reach an Historic Child Welfare Framework

Kahnawake, August 25, 2009 – Representatives from the Government of Canada, the Government of Quebec and the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador today announced a historic framework for First Nations child and family services in Quebec.

The event was attended by the Honourable Chuck Strahl, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians, Pierre Corbeil, Minister responsible of Aboriginal Affairs and Lise Thériault, Minister responsible of Social Services for the Government of Québec and Gilbert Dominique, Chief of the Mashteuiatsh community on behalf of Ghislain Picard, Chief of the Assembly of the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador.

"Today's announcement demonstrates the positive and growing working relationship we have with Quebec," said Minister Strahl. "Children represent the future of First Nation communities in Quebec – and today's announcement demonstrates our shared commitment to improving conditions for First Nations children and youth.  Alberta, Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan also have tripartite agreements with the Government of Canada and we are proud to now sign a fourth historic agreement with Quebec”.

The Framework with Quebec and First Nations in Quebec will provide $59.8 million over five years to implement an Enhanced Prevention-Focused Approach to First Nations Child and Family Services (FNCFS) on reserves in Quebec.

“At the Mashteuiatsh socioeconomic forum, the Government of Quebec committed to work towards improving living conditions for Quebec First Nations. Today, thanks to the cooperation of the federal government and a remarkable collaboration among all of the partners, we are proud to observe that the commitment towards strengthening services to the family and children within the communities will become a reality,” said Ministers Thériault and Corbeil.

The announcement of the tripartite framework in this province, following tripartite frameworks with Alberta, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia, means that the new prevention model is now being implemented in First Nations communities in four provinces, covering nearly half of the First Nations children in Canada.

“This investment is very much appreciated by the First Nations of Quebec, and we want to thank the AFNQL, the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission (FNQLHSSC), INAC and the Quebec health and social services ministry (MSSSQ) for all of their hard work over the past several months in this file, which is of the utmost importance for our children. The needs are desperate, and everything needs to be implemented quickly because we have been waiting for this money for a very long time. We hope that we can now actively re-engage in discussions with the government of Quebec in order to secure an extension to the deadline to implement the life-long projects.Thanks to both levels of government. This is a good start,” said Gilbert Dominique, Chief of the Mashteuiatsh community, representing the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador (AFNQL).

In 2007, INAC renovated its approach to Child and Family Services by introducing an Enhanced Prevention-Focused Approach that will ensure that more First Nations children and parents get the help they need to prevent the types of crises that lead to intervention and family breakdown.

"Today's announcement demonstrates that fact that First Nation are participating in Canada's Economic Action plan," said Minister Strahl. Under Canada’s Economic Action Plan   $20 million over two years was provided to implement concrete changes in Child and Family Services on reserves across Canada.

Backgrounder - First Nations Child and Family Services (Quebec)

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : 3 septembre 2009

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Plan d’action économique du Canada - Le Canada, le Québec et les Premières nations au Québec s’entendent sur un cadre tripartite historique pour l'aide à l'enfance

Kahnawake, le 25 août 2009 – Des représentants du gouvernement du Canada, du gouvernement du Québec et de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador ont fait l'annonce aujourd'hui d'un cadre historique pour les services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations au Québec.

Étaient présents à cette occasion l'honorable Chuck Strahl, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, M. Pierre Corbeil, ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones du Québec, Mme Lise Thériault, ministre déléguée aux Services sociaux du Québec, ainsi que M. Gilbert Dominique, chef de la communauté de Mashteuiatsh, au nom de M. Ghislain Picard, chef de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador.

« L'annonce d'aujourd'hui témoigne des bonnes relations professionnelles qui se nouent de plus en plus au Québec, a déclaré le ministre Strahl. Les enfants sont l'avenir même des communautés des Premières nations au Québec : cette annonce donne la preuve de notre engagement commun à améliorer les conditions de vie des enfants et des jeunes des Premières nations. Notre gouvernement est fier de signer le quatrième accord de ce genre. Le Québec se joint à l’Alberta, à la NouvelleÉcosse et à la Saskatchewan, qui ont toutes signé un accord tripartite historique avec nous. »

Le cadre conclu avec le Québec et les Premières nations au Québec entraînera le versement de 59,8 millions de dollars sur cinq ans en vue d'appliquer une approche améliorée axée sur la prévention, en ce qui à trait aux services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations dans les réserves du Québec.

« Lors du forum socioéconomique de Mashteuiatsh, le gouvernement du Québec s'était engagé à travailler à l'amélioration des conditions de vie des Premières Nations du Québec. Aujourd'hui, grâce au concours du gouvernement fédéral et à une collaboration remarquable entre tous les partenaires, nous sommes fiers de voir que l'engagement visant à renforcer les services à la famille et à l'enfance dans les communautés sera concrétisé », ont déclaré les ministres Thériault et Corbeil. 

L'annonce du cadre tripartite dans cette province, qui vient s'ajouter aux cadres déjà conclus avec l'Alberta, la Saskatchewan et la Nouvelle-Écosse, signifie que le nouveau modèle de prévention est désormais mis en application dans les communautés des Premières nations de quatre provinces et couvre ainsi près de la moitié des enfants des Premières nations au Canada.

Selon le Chef de la communauté de Mashteuiatsh, M. Gilbert Dominique, représentant de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL) : « Cet investissement est fort apprécié de la part des Premières Nations du Québec et nous devons remercier l’APNQL, la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (CSSSPNQL), Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada et le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec pour leur travail intensif, échelonné sur plusieurs mois, dans ce dossier prioritaire pour nos enfants. Les besoins sont criants et il est urgent de rapidement tout mettre en œuvre, car nous attendons ce montant depuis fort longtemps. Nous espérons maintenant pouvoir reprendre activement nos pourparlers avec le gouvernement du Québec afin qu’il nous donne le temps de nous organiser concernant les projets de vie permanents. Merci aux deux paliers de gouvernements, c’est un bon départ », a-t-il ajouté.

En 2007, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada a repensé son approche envers les services à l'enfance et à la famille et lancé une approche améliorée axée sur la prévention, qui veillera à ce que davantage d'enfants et de parents des Premières nations reçoivent l'aide voulue pour éviter les crises de nature à provoquer des interventions et l'éclatement de la famille.

« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui démontre que les Premières nations participent au Plan d’action économique du Canada », a souligné le ministre Strahl. En vertu du Plan d’action économique du Canada  , une somme de 20 millions de dollars sur deux ans a été accordée pour mettre en œuvre des changements concrets dans la prestation des services à l’enfance et à la famille dans les réserves partout au Canada.

Document d'information - Services à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières nations (Québec)


– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : 3 septembre 2009