Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2009 > August 26, 2009

Canada, Quebec and the Mi’gmaq celebrate the beginning of a new relationship

Gaspé, August 26, 2009 – The Honourable Chuck Strahl, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians; Deputy Premier Nathalie Normandeau, Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife, Minister responsible for the Northern Plan, Minister responsible for the Gaspésie-Magdalen-Islands region; and Mr. Pierre Corbeil, Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs for the Government of Québec met with the leaders of the Mi’gmawei Mawiomi, Councillor Quentin Condo Gesgapegiag; Chief Claude Jeanotte, Gespeg; and Chief Alison Metallic, Listuguj, to commemorate the signing of the Niganita'suatas'gl Ilsutaqann (NI) Agreement.

"Today we celebrate our Government's work, in partnership with the Mi'gmaq and Government of Quebec, to move forward on our shared goal of ensuring that First Nations have the tools to best manage their own affairs and improve economic opportunities in their communities," said Minister Strahl. "The NI Agreement is a sure sign that even more positive results are to come."

The NI Agreement, commemorated publicly today and signed by the parties in September 2008, marks the beginning of a renewed relationship built on cooperation and trust and confirms a commitment to work together.

“The Agreement is the result of more than five years of discussions and it carries the vision of the Chiefs to work constructively towards a mutually beneficial reconciliation that will help foster a better future for all of us,” affirmed Gespeg Chief Claude Jeannotte, Chair of the Mi’gmawei Mawiomi. “The Agreement represents a significant step in finding resolution to the long standing differences relative to Mi’gmaq rights, title and jurisdiction between Quebec, Canada and the Mi’gmaq. We are confident that this process will help to renew and strengthen our relationship” concluded Chief Jeannotte.

“Because of this agreement, we know that any dialogue that occurs will be carried out in a climate of trust between the three parties. Future communication will be greatly facilitated,” said Minister Corbeil.

“Through this initiative, our government acknowledges the importance of the Mi’gmaq communities to the economic and cultural development of our region and expresses its desire to build a new partnership with them,” said Minister Normandeau.

The NI Agreement is a result of discussions held among the parties over the past few years. The NI is a process that could result in a Framework Agreement that would establish the basis for negotiations.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : September 3, 2009

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Le Canada, le Québec et les Mi’gmaq célèbrent le début d’une nouvelle relation

Gaspé, le 26 août 2009 – L’honorable Chuck Strahl, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, la vice‑première ministre Nathalie Normandeau, ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, ministre responsable du Plan Nord et ministre responsable de la région Gaspésie‑Îles‑de‑la‑Madeleine, et M. Pierre Corbeil, ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones pour le gouvernement du Québec, ont rencontré les dirigeants de Mi’gmawei Mawiomi, le conseiller Quentin Condo (Gesgapegiag), le chef Claude Jeannotte (Gespeg) et le chef Alison Metallic (Listuguj), pour commémorer la signature de l’accord Niganita'suatas'gl Ilsutaqann (NI).

« Nous célébrons aujourd’hui le travail de notre gouvernement, en partenariat avec les Mi’gmaq et le gouvernement du Québec, afin de faire progresser notre objectif commun de garantir que les Premières nations ont les outils pour assurer la meilleure gestion de leurs propres affaires et pour améliorer les occasions économiques dans leurs collectivités, a déclaré le ministre Strahl. L’accord NI est une indication que d’autres résultats positifs sont à venir. »

L’accord NI, faisant l’objet d’une commémoration publique aujourd’hui et signé par les parties en septembre 2008, marque le début d’une relation renouvelée basée sur la collaboration et la confiance, et confirme l’engagement de travailler ensemble.

« Cet accord est la conclusion de plus de cinq ans de discussions et concrétise la volonté des chefs de travailler de façon constructive à une réconciliation bénéfique pour tous, qui contribuera à renforcer un avenir meilleur pour nous tous », a affirmé le chef Claude Jeannotte de Gespeg, président de Mi’gmawei Mawiomi. Cet accord permet de franchir une importante étape vers la résolution des divergences de longue date touchant les droits, le titre et l’administration des Mi’gmaq entre le Québec, le Canada et les Mi’gmaq. Nous avons confiance que ce processus contribuera à renouveler et à renforcer notre relation », de conclure le chef Jeannotte.

« Grâce à cet accord, nous savons que toute discussion à venir aura lieu dans un climat de confiance entre les trois parties. Les communications futures seront grandement facilitées », a déclaré le ministre Corbeil.

« Au moyen de cette initiative, notre gouvernement reconnaît le rôle important des collectivités Mi’gmaq dans le développement économique et culturel de notre région et exprime son désir de créer de nouveaux partenariats avec ces dernières », a indiqué la ministre Normandeau.

L’accord NI est le fruit de discussions entre les parties au cours des dernières années. Il est un processus qui pourrait mener à un accord-cadre qui établirait le fondement des négociations.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : 3 septembre 2009