Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2011 > March 2, 2011

Living conditions in the Far North

The gouvernement du Québec and the Inuit nation work hand in hand

Quebec City, March 2, 2011 – Geoffrey Kelley, Minister responsible for Native Affairs, and Pita Aatami, President of the Makivik Corporation, wish to take stock of the situation following the comments made yesterday by the Parti Québécois during a press briefing dealing with the living conditions of the population of Nunvik. Mr. Kelley and Mr. Aatami want to take advantage of the opportunity to reiterate their commitment to work together on daily issues affecting the Inuit nation and the implementation of the Plan Nord.

High cost of living

The high cost of living in Nunavik is of huge concern to the Gouvernement du Québec, which has been particularly active in the past few years in remedying this situation, working closely with the political leadership. Whether construction of new housing or the reduced cost of transportation, major strides have been made and further sizable progress is to come.

Special efforts in housing

The government recognized the importance of the issues related to social housing shortages and the rarity of privately owned housing in Nunavik. From 2003 to 2010, 444 social housing units were built in Nunavik. Furthermore, the Agreement respecting the implementation of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreementrelated to housing inNunavik has been renewed until 2015. The agreement provides for the construction of 340 new social housing units in Nunavik. Minister Kelley pointed out that as part of the Plan Nord, a task force will be assigned exclusively to this question.

A program to compensate for the cost of transportation

Transportation is one of the factors with the greatest impact on the cost of living in Northern regions. This is why the government implemented a program to reduce the cost of transportation. Since 2007, nearly $18 million has been invested to decrease the fees charged for the transportation of passengers and goods, and to compensate for the high cost of gas.

Plan Nord

Mr. Kelley noted that all the Aboriginal Nations that live in the Northern regions of Québec – the Cree, the Innu, the Inuit and the Naskapi – were enlisted to help draft the Plan Nord. They answered the call, with some 80 members of the four Nations working alongside government, municipal, and environmental representatives, along with business leaders and researchers. In coming weeks, Quebecers and Aboriginals will begin implementation of the Plan in the same spirit of mutual respect and solidarity.

"Since signature of the James Bay Agreement, the Inuit and Québec have forged a special and fruitful relationship rooted in respect and understanding. So far our interaction has been harmonious, and we certainly want this to continue. In the near future, a number of efforts should be made by Québec in many files, but we are convinced of the Gouvernement du Québec’s collaboration," said Mr. Aatami.

"For our government, the objective is to have all the people of the North benefit from the development envisaged under the Plan Nord, on the economic level as much as the social one. The Inuit played an active role within the various working groups, and I want to thank them for their involvement. The relationship that the Gouvernement du Québec has had with the Inuit Nation since 2003 goes far beyond the Plan Nord. It is based on a partnership that makes it possible to take their concerns into account and to come up with solutions," the Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs said in closing.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of March 2, 2011

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Conditions de vie dans le Grand Nord

Le gouvernement du Québec et la nation inuite travaillent main dans la main

Québec, le 2 mars 2011. – Le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, et le président de la Société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami, tiennent à faire le point à la suite des propos tenus hier par le Parti québécois, lors d’un point de presse portant sur les conditions de vie de la population du Nunavik. MM. Kelley et Aatami profitent de l’occasion pour réitérer leur engagement à travailler ensemble aux dossiers quotidiens de la nation inuite et à la mise en œuvre du Plan Nord.

Coût élevé de la vie

Le coût élevé de la vie au Nunavik est une préoccupation importante pour le gouvernement du Québec et ce dernier s’est montré particulièrement actif au cours des dernières années pour pallier cette situation. En cette matière, il a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec le leadership politique. Qu’il s’agisse de la construction de nouvelles habitations ou de la réduction du coût du transport, des avancées majeures ont été réalisés et des progrès considérables sont encore à venir.

Des efforts particuliers en matière d’habitation

Le gouvernement reconnaît l’importance des enjeux liés à la pénurie de logements sociaux et à la rareté des logements privés au Nunavik. De 2003 à 2010, 444 logements sociaux ont été réalisés au Nunavik. De plus, l'Entente concernant la mise en œuvre de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois en matière de logement au Nunavik a été reconduite jusqu’en 2015. Cette entente prévoit la construction de 340 nouveaux logements sociaux au Nunavik. Le ministre Kelley a tenu à préciser que, dans le cadre du Plan Nord, un groupe de travail se consacre exclusivement à cette question.

Un programme pour compenser le coût du transport

Le transport est l’un des facteurs qui influent le plus sur le coût de la vie dans les régions nordiques. C’est la raison pour laquelle le gouvernement a mis en œuvre un programme de réduction du coût du transport. Depuis 2007, près de 18 M$ ont ainsi été investis pour diminuer les frais de transport des personnes et des marchandises et pour compenser le coût élevé de l’essence.

Plan Nord

M. Kelley rappelle que toutes les nations autochtones qui occupent les régions septentrionales du Québec – les Cris, les Innus, les Inuits et les Naskapis – ont été conviées à contribuer à l’élaboration du Plan Nord. Elles ont répondu à l’appel, puisque quelque 80 membres de ces quatre nations ont côtoyé, au sein de groupes de travail, les représentants du gouvernement, du monde municipal et du secteur de l’environnement, ainsi que des gens d’affaires et des chercheurs. Dans les prochaines semaines, c’est dans ce même esprit de respect mutuel et de solidarité que les Québécois et les Autochtones amorceront la mise en œuvre de ce plan.

« Depuis la signature de la Convention de la Baie James, les Inuits ont développé avec le Québec une relation particulière et fructueuse, fondée sur le respect et la compréhension. À ce jour, nous entretenons des relations harmonieuses et nous voulons certainement poursuivre dans cette voie. Plusieurs efforts devront être prochainement faits par le Québec dans nombre de dossiers, mais nous sommes convaincus de la collaboration du gouvernement du Québec », a déclaré M. Aatami.

« Pour notre gouvernement, l’objectif est de faire profiter tous les résidents du territoire du développement envisagé dans le cadre du Plan Nord, et ce, autant sur le plan économique que dans le domaine social. Les Inuits ont participé activement aux différents groupes de travail et je tiens à les remercier de leur engagement. Par ailleurs, la relation que le gouvernement du Québec entretient avec la nation inuite, depuis 2003, va bien au-delà du Plan Nord. Elle est fondée sur un partenariat qui permet de prendre en considération ses préoccupations et d’élaborer des solutions », a conclu le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : 2 mars 2011