Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2011 > August 4, 2011

Death of the spiritual leader of the Algonquins

Minister Geoffrey Kelley offers his condolences

Québec City, August 4, 2011 – Geoffrey Kelley, Minister responsible for Native Affairs, offers his sincere condolences to all the members of the Algonquin Nation and to the family and friends of Mr. William Commanda, who died yesterday at age 97.

For 19 years (1951-1970), Mr. Commanda shaped the destiny of the Algonquin Reserve of Kitigan Zibi, a community in the Ottawa Valley region. Over the years, he became a highly respected spokesperson by promoting his values of peace, respect for nature, and harmony among peoples at every opportunity. He also played a role on the international stage a number of times, taking part in ceremonies alongside great humanitarians such as Nelson Mandela and the Dalai Lama.

"The Algonquin Nation and all the First Nations of Québec and Canada are in mourning. The influence and commitment of this Anishnabe elder extended far beyond the world of the Algonquins. The man known by his people as Ojigkwanong became a leading spiritual guide. Almost one hundred years old when he passed away, this very charismatic man with exceptional strength of character leaves us an invaluable legacy of wisdom.

"Deeply attached to his roots and generous in sharing the traditional knowledge that he guarded, Mr. Commanda was also a greatly talented artisan. We have lost a strong and caring man and a wonderful ambassador of Native culture.

"Mr. Commanda's departure will leave a tremendous emptiness in the hearts of many people, but I know that his spirit will continue to inspire us for many more years to come," said Mr. Kelley.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of August 5, 2011

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Décès du chef spirituel des Algonquins

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley offre ses condoléances

Québec, le 4 août 2011. – Le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, offre ses plus sincères condoléances à tous les membres de la nation algonquine, ainsi qu’à la famille et aux proches de M. William Commanda, décédé hier à l’âge de 97 ans.

Pendant dix-neuf ans, de 1951 à 1970, M. Commanda a mené les destinées de la réserve algonquine de Kitigan Zibi, une communauté établie dans la région de l’Outaouais. Puis au fil des années, il est devenu un porte-parole très respecté en faisant la promotion de ses valeurs – la paix, le respect de la nature et l’harmonie entre les peuples – sur toutes les tribunes qui lui ont été offertes. Il s’est d’ailleurs illustré à plusieurs reprises sur la scène internationale, en prenant part à des cérémonies, notamment aux côtés de Nelson Mandela et du dalaï-lama.

« La nation algonquine ainsi que toutes les premières nations du Québec et du Canada sont en deuil. L’influence et l’engagement de cet aîné anishnabe dépassaient très largement l’univers des Algonquins. Celui que son peuple connaissait sous le nom d’Ojigkwanong était en effet devenu un important guide spirituel. Presque centenaire au moment de sa mort, cet homme d’un grand charisme et d’une force de caractère remarquable laisse un précieux héritage de sagesse. 

« Profondément attaché à ses racines et généreux dans le partage des enseignements traditionnels dont il était porteur, M. Commanda était aussi un artisan de grand talent. Nous perdons un homme de cœur et un formidable ambassadeur de la culture autochtone.

« Le départ de M. Commanda laissera un immense vide dans le cœur de nombreuses  personnes, mais je sais que son esprit continuera de nous inspirer longtemps encore », a indiqué M. Kelley.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166



Mise en ligne : 5 août 2011