Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2012 > Febuary 17, 2012

Cree Community of Wemindji

Minister Kelley at the inauguration of the Justice Centre

Wemindji, February 17, 2012 – Geoffrey Kelley, Minister responsible for Native Affairs, was in Wemindji today for the inauguration of the Justice Centre. He joined the Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees, M. Matthew Coon Come, Deputy Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee) and Vice-Chairman of the Cree Regional Authority, Ashley Iserhoff and the Chief of the Community of Wemindji, Rodney Mark, for the official opening ceremony.

"Doing what’s needed to promote justice means choosing better quality of life for the entire community. It means positive social change. And that means having the adequate infrastructure.
Creating the Wemindji Justice Centre is the best way to assure great living conditions” said Minister Kelley.

The facilities are designed to meet the specific needs of the Cree and the Court, especially those of the Itinerant Court. The services offered will promote the exercise of justice and enable reconciliation among the members of the community. The Justice Centre will be a place for mediation, conciliation and arbitration in keeping with the Crees’ own way of operating, for example, in managing family trapping grounds or in matters of local administrative and regulatory decisions.

The Wemindji Justice Centre is the fifth of its kind, after those in Chisasibi, Oujé-Bougoumou, Waswanipi and Mistissini. It comes in the wake of the Agreement concerning the administration of justice for the Crees between le gouvernement du Québec and the Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee) and the Cree Regional Authority, signed in May 2007, providing for an annual payment of $ 13 million indexed for 20 years. It will be used to fund various justice-administration-related projects and measures. The creation of the Wemindji Justice Centre represents an investment of more than $ 3.5 million.

"The Community of Wemindji wants an adapted justice system that reflects its values and takes account of its needs under every circumstance. Today’s event shows that it has succeeded in making its point about its desire for greater autonomy, that it wants to be the architect of the projects that have meaningful consequences for it. Justice is the bedrock of a community, and to play an active role in it is to act directly on its social development, Grand Chief, M. Matthew Coon Come, said in closing.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of: Febuary 17, 2012

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2012 > 17 février 2012

Communauté crie de Wemindji

Le ministre Kelley prend part à l'inauguration du centre de justice

Wemindji, le 17 février 2012 – Le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, s'est rendu à Wemindji aujourd'hui pour l'inauguration du centre de justice. C'est en compagnie du grand chef du Grand Conseil des Cris (Eeyou Istchee), M. Matthew Coon Come, du vice-grand chef du Grand Conseil des Cris (Eeyou Istchee) et vice-président de l'Administration régionale crie, M. Ashley Iserhoff et du chef de la communauté de Wemindji, M. Rodney Mark, qu'il a pris part à la cérémonie d'ouverture officielle.

« Mettre les moyens en place pour favoriser la justice, c’est choisir une meilleure qualité de vie pour l’ensemble de la communauté. C’est aussi entraîner des changements sociaux positifs et cela nécessite des infrastructures adéquates. La création du centre de justice à Wemindji est le meilleur moyen de créer les conditions de vie souhaitées », a soutenu le ministre Kelley.

L’aménagement du centre de justice est conçu pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de la communauté, de même qu'à ceux des divers intervenants judiciaires, notamment ceux de la cour itinérante. Les services qui y seront offerts favoriseront l’exercice de la justice et permettront une certaine réconciliation entre les membres de la communauté. C’est un lieu où la médiation, la conciliation et l’arbitrage pourront s’exercer, en lien avec des aspects du mode de fonctionnement interne des Cris, par exemple en matière de gestion des aires familiales de piégeage ou de décisions administratives et réglementaires locales.

Le centre de justice de Wemindji est le cinquième à voir le jour, après les communautés de Chisasibi, d’Oujé-Bougoumou, de Waswanipi et de Mistissini. Il s’inscrit dans la foulée de l’Entente concernant l'administration de la justice pour les Cris entre le gouvernement du Québec et le Grand Conseil des Cris (Eeyou Istchee) et l’Administration régionale crie, signée en mai 2007. Cette entente prévoit une indemnité annuelle de 13 millions de dollars indexée sur une période de 20 ans, en vue de financer des mesures et projets liés à l’administration de la justice. La création du centre de justice de Wemindji représente un investissement de plus de 3,5 millions de dollars.

« La communauté de Wemindji souhaite un système de justice adapté, qui reflète ses valeurs et qui tient compte de ses besoins en toutes circonstances. L’événement d’aujourd’hui montre qu’elle a réussi à faire valoir sa volonté de bénéficier d’une plus grande autonomie, d’être le maître d’œuvre dans les projets qui ont une portée significative pour elle. La justice est le pilier d’une collectivité, y participer activement, c’est agir directement sur son développement social », a conclu M. Coon Come.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 17 février 2012