Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2012 > March 30, 2012

Minister Kelley at Makivik Corporation's Annual General Meeting

Chisasibi, March 29, 2012 – Geoffrey Kelley, Minister responsible for Native Affairs, was in Chisasibi for the annual general meeting of Makivik Corporation, the organization that represents the Inuit of Nunavik. The MNA for Ungava, Luc Ferland, also attended.

“I am very pleased to have been invited to this event once again this year. It gives me the opportunity to meet with the Inuit and exchange our views on issues of great importance to them,” Minister Kelley indicated.

Speaking before the representatives of Nunavik’s companies, organizations and Northern villages, Minister Kelley highlighted the importance of maintaining healthy relations among the various partners in the development of Northern Québec.

The Minister and the Inuit discussed many subjects such as the creation of Table Québec-Nunavik, the possibility of the formation of a regional government, and the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund, whose renewal for the next five years was announced in the most recent provincial budget. 

“Throughout our many discussions, I was able to gain greater insight into the concerns of the leaders of Nunavik. There is still much that needs to be done to ensure better living conditions and economic development. I am convinced that by working together we will be able to find solutions to the different issues facing the Inuit” Minister Kelley added.

Furthermore, his participation at the meeting allowed him to express the importance for the Government of Québec of recognizing the effect of the tragic events surrounding the slaughter of sled dogs in the 1950s and 1960s in Nunavik. The agreement was signed last August in Kangiqsualujjuaq.

Minister Kelley also met privately with Makivik Corporation’s newly elected President, Jobie Tukkiapik, and the members of the Board to strengthen ties between Makivik and the government.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of: March 30, 2012

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Le ministre Kelley participe à l'assemblée générale annuelle de la Société Makivik

Chisasibi, le 29 mars 2012 – Le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, a participé aujourd’hui à Chisasibi à l’assemblée générale annuelle de la Société Makivik, l’organisme de représentation des Inuits du Nunavik. Le député d’Ungava, M. Luc Ferland, était également présent à l’événement.

« C’est avec plaisir que j’ai répondu à cette invitation encore une fois cette année. Cet événement me donne la chance de rencontrer les Inuits et d’échanger à propos de questions d’importance primordiale pour eux », a mentionné le ministre Kelley.

Devant l’assistance, composée de représentants de l’ensemble des sociétés, organismes, et des villages du Nunavik, M. Kelley a souligné l’importance d’entretenir de saines relations entre les différents partenaires qui prennent part au développement du Nord québécois.

Au cours de cette assemblée, le ministre et les Inuits ont discuté de nombreux sujets, notamment la création de la Table Québec-Nunavik, de la possibilité de création d’un gouvernement régional et du Fonds d’initiatives autochtones, dont la reconduction pour cinq ans a été annoncée dans le dernier budget provincial.

« Grâce à nos nombreux échanges, j’ai été en mesure de mieux comprendre les préoccupations des dirigeants du Nunavik. Il y a encore beaucoup à faire pour améliorer les conditions de vie et favoriser la prospérité économique, mais je suis convaincu qu’en travaillant main dans la main nous arriverons à trouver des solutions aux obstacles auxquels les Inuits font face », a ajouté le ministre Kelley.

De plus, la participation du ministre à cette rencontre lui a permis d’exprimer à quel point il est important pour le gouvernement du Québec de reconnaître les conséquences des événements tragiques qui ont entouré l’abattage de chiens de traîneau au cours des années 1950 et 1960, au Nunavik. Une entente relative à cette question a été signée en août dernier à Kangiqsualujjuaq.

Le ministre Kelley a profité de l’occasion pour rencontrer M. Jobie Tukkiapik, nouvellement élu à la tête de la Société Makivik, et des membres du conseil d’administration afin de consolider les liens de collaboration.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 30 mars 2012