Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2012 > April 5, 2012

Fonds québécois d'initiatives sociales

More than $3,3 Million to Fight Poverty in First Nations Communities

Wendake, April 5, 2012 –The Minister responsible for Native Affairs, Geoffrey Kelley, is pleased to announce on behalf of the Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity and the Minister responsible for the Mauricie region, Julie Boulet, that between now and 2015, more than $3.3 million will fund the prevention of poverty in Québec’s non-treaty First Nations communities.

The Minister announced the Government of Québec’s contribution at the official launch of the New Pathways: Foundation for the future of First Nations, created by the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission (FNQLHSSC). The launch was held today at the Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations in Wendake.

“I am proud because this process will leave place to initiatives that emerge from the communities,” said Minister Kelley. “This grant will give the FNQLHSSC the resources needed to support actions that fight poverty in the various Aboriginal communities. The projects will be chosen by the Commission according to their action plan.”

“The poverty prevention initiatives will be part of a Solidarity Alliance,” said Minister Boulet. “Signed with the FNQLHSSC, the Alliance will lead to cooperation and a common vision of the required efforts. It will also foster the implementation of projects that actively address poverty and social exclusion.”

The sums granted to realize the Solidarity Alliance are drawn from the Fonds québécois d’initiatives sociales, which has a budget of $115 million to fund projects that address poverty. Most money from the fund is granted to the Conférences régionales des élus, the Ville de Montréal, and the FNQLHSSC. The Commission represents 32 Aboriginal communities.

These funds stem from the measures adopted in the Government Action Plan for Solidarity and Social Inclusion 2010-2015, which budgeted $7 billion to improve the living conditions of people on low incomes, particularly through prevention and local and regional action.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of: April 5, 2012

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Fonds québécois d'initiatives sociales

Plus de 3,3 M$ pour lutter contre la pauvreté dans les communautés des Premières Nations

Wendake, le 5 avril 2012–Le ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, est heureux d’annoncer au nom de la ministre de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale et ministre responsable de la région de la Mauricie, Mme Julie Boulet, qu’un montant de plus de 3,3 millions de dollars servira à financer, d’ici 2015, des actions de lutte contre la pauvreté dans les communautés des Premières Nations non conventionnées du Québec.

Le ministre a annoncé cette contribution du gouvernement du Québec au lancement officiel de la fondation Nouveaux Sentiers, mise sur pied par la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (CSSSPNQL), qui a eu lieu aujourd’hui à l’hôtel-musée Premières Nations, à Wendake.

« Je suis fier parce que cette démarche appuiera des initiatives provenant du milieu. Cette subvention donnera les moyens nécessaires à la CSSSPNQL pour soutenir des actions de lutte contre la pauvreté dans les différentes communautés autochtones. Ces projets seront choisis par la Commission, en fonction de leur plan d’action », a déclaré le ministre Kelley.

« Les actions de lutte contre la pauvreté s’inscriront dans le cadre d’une Alliance pour la solidarité. Cette alliance, qui sera signée avec la CSSSPNQL, permettra d’établir une concertation et une vision commune quant aux efforts à déployer. Elle favorisera également la mise en place de projets pour lutter activement contre la pauvreté et l’exclusion sociale », a mentionné la ministre Boulet.

Les montants accordés pour concrétiser les Alliances pour la solidarité proviennent du Fonds québécois d’initiatives sociales, qui est doté d’un budget de 115 M$ destiné au financement des projets de lutte contre la pauvreté. La grande majorité des montants de ce fonds est confiée aux conférences régionales des élus, à la Ville de Montréal et à la CSSSPNQL. La Commission représente 32 communautés autochtones.

Rappelons que les montants accordés font partie des mesures formulées dans le Plan d’action gouvernemental pour la solidarité et l’inclusion sociale 2010-2015. Ce plan, qui prévoit des investissements de 7 milliards de dollars, vise l’amélioration des conditions de vie des personnes à faible revenu en privilégiant, notamment, la prévention et l’action locale et régionale.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 5 avril 2012