Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Press centre > Press releases > 2012 > Juin 8, 2012

Minister Kelley takes part in the official inauguration of the Oujé-Bougoumou Cree Cultural Institute

Oujé-Bougoumou, June 8, 2012 – The official inauguration of the Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute is being celebrated today, attended by the Minister responsible for Native Affairs, Geoffrey Kelley; the Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee),  Matthew Coon Come; the President of the Aanischaaukamikw Foundation, responsible for raising the funds to construct the building through the Acquisition Fund and the Endowment Fund, Abel Bosum; the Chief of the Oujé-Bougoumou Cree Nation, Reggie Neeposh; the President and CEO of the Institute, Dianne Ottereyes Reid; and several distinguished guests from the broader cultural community.

The event will take place over three days of Cree cultural celebrations, from June 7 to 9, 2012, during which the entire Oujé-Bougoumou community will be actively involved. Demonstrations of all types of traditional crafts, storytelling by elders, the reconstruction of traditional dwellings, and vibrant cultural activities are on the program. The Cree Nation is thus paying tribute to its past, present, and future. Activities have been planned to reflect each of these periods and enhance the public’s familiarity with the nine Eeyou Istchee–James Bay Cree communities. “Promoting greater understanding of our Aboriginal heritage adds to the already enormous importance of our relationships and our cultural exchanges with Québec. These festivities not only enable us to preserve our artefacts and customs, but they also project the best of ourselves to the world,” stated the Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees, Matthew Coon Come.

Speaking about the work that was accomplished to reach this day of celebration, Abel Bosum stated: “It was very difficult to raise all the funds needed to make this long-held Cree dream a reality, but here we are now, after 10 years of hard work, at last celebrating the Grand Opening of Aanischaaukamikw, which we view as a gift to the world. The Foundation wishes to express its gratitude to the various Cree entities, the Québec Government, Hydro Québec, and the Government of Canada for their major contributions."

“I am very proud of this institution, which is becoming an important part of discovering the Eeyou Istchee–James Bay territory. The Institute provides a cultural and human experience that  introducing visitors to the Cree nation in a unique way. Aanischaaukamikw will enable the Oujé-Bougoumou community to become a focal point for tourism while promoting Cree culture and Québec’s Aboriginal legacy internationally,” said Minister Kelley.

Through various agreements concluded in 1998 and 2001, the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones allocated $6.25 million to the Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute’s construction project. Last November, the Institute was consecrated by Cree elders and opened its doors to the public. For its part, the Ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine granted $275 000 to the Institute for its permanent exhibition.

“The exhibition provides an incredible window on the history, customs, traditions, and cultures of the Cree nation. Both virtual and physical visitors will be amazed at the treasures waiting to be discovered. For the Cree communities, this institute serves as a mirror of their extraordinary cultural wealth,” added Minister St-Pierre.

The Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute is equipped with the most modern technology. Thus, it will become an interactive virtual hub fuelled by a multi-community fibre optic network, making guided tours of the museum possible, and providing access to distance education programs world-wide – thanks to which the collections may be shown to Web surfers.

The Chief of the Oujé-Bougoumou Cree Nation, Reggie Neeposh, expressed his immense pleasure at providing a home for the Institute and hosting Cree cultural celebrations within his territory: “Our community was incorporated into the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement in 2011. It has been recognized by the United Nations as a remarkable example of community development. Today, the gathering of visitors and distinguished guests from the cultural community at this celebration is another accomplishment we are all proud of.”

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of: June 8, 2012

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Le ministre Kelley participe à l'inauguration officielle de l'Institut culturel cri d'Oujé-Bougoumou

Oujé-Bougoumou, le 8 juin 2012 – C’est aujourd’hui qu’est célébrée l’inauguration officielle de l’Institut culturel cri Aanischaaukamikw, en présence du ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, du grand chef du Grand Conseil des Cris (Eeyou Istchee), M. Matthew Coon Come, du président de la Fondation Aanischaaukamikw, responsable de la collecte de fonds pour la construction du bâtiment, du Fonds d’acquisition et du Fonds de dotation, M. Abel Bosum, du chef de la communauté d’Oujé-Bougoumou, M. Reggie Neeposh, de la présidente de l’Institut, Mme Dianne Ottereyes Reid, et de plusieurs invités de marque de la grande communauté culturelle.

L’événement aura lieu pendant les célébrations de la culture crie, du 7 au 9 juin 2012, trois jours au cours desquels toute la communauté d’Oujé-Bougoumou s’animera. Démonstrations de toutes sortes sur les métiers d’antan, récits d’aînés, reconstitutions d’habitations traditionnelles et activités culturelles hautes en couleur seront au rendez-vous. Ainsi la nation crie veut rendre hommage à son passé, son présent et son avenir. Des activités sont prévues pour refléter chacune de ces périodes, en vue de mieux faire connaître les neuf communautés cries d’Eeyou Istchee–Baie-James. « Favoriser une meilleure compréhension de notre patrimoine autochtone renforce l’importance déjà énorme de nos liens et de nos échanges culturels avec le Québec. Ces festivités contribuent non seulement à protéger nos artéfacts et nos coutumes, mais elles projettent le meilleur de nous-mêmes dans le monde entier », a déclaré le Grand Chef du Grand Conseil des Cris, M. Matthew Coon Come.

Au sujet du travail qui a été accompli jusqu’à ce jour, M. Abel Bosum a déclaré ceci : « Il a été difficile de réunir tous les fonds nécessaires pour faire de ce vieux rêve des Cris une réalité. Mais nous y voilà, après 10 ans de travail acharné, nous célébrons enfin la grande ouverture d’Aanischaaukamikw, un cadeau pour le monde selon nous. La Fondation souhaite exprimer sa reconnaissance envers diverses entités cries, envers le gouvernement du Québec ainsi qu’à l’endroit d’Hydro Québec et du gouvernement du Canada pour leur importante contribution. »

« Je suis très fier de cette institution qui devient un arrêt incontournable lors de la découverte du territoire Eeyou Istchee–Baie-James. L’Institut offre une expérience culturelle et humaine qui nous fait découvrir de façon unique l’histoire de la nation crie. Aanischaaukamikw  permettra à la communauté d’Oujé-Bougoumou de devenir une plaque tournante pour le tourisme, tout en contribuant au rayonnement de la culture crie et de l’héritage autochtone du Québec à l’échelle internationale », a indiqué le ministre Kelley.

Le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, en vertu de différents protocoles d’entente conclus en 1998 et 2001, a accordé une aide financière de 6,25 millions de dollars en guise de soutien au projet de construction de l’Institut culturel cri Aanischaaukamikw. Celui-ci a reçu la consécration d’aînés cris et ouvert ses portes au public en novembre dernier. Le ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine a versé pour sa part une somme de 275 000 $ à l’Institut, pour l’aménagement de son exposition permanente.

« L’exposition est une fenêtre incroyable sur l’histoire, les coutumes, les traditions et la culture de la nation crie. Les visiteurs, virtuels ou réels, y feront des découvertes étonnantes. Pour les communautés cries, cet institut se veut un miroir de leur extraordinaire richesse culturelle », a déclaré la ministre St-Pierre.

L’Institut culturel cri Aanischaaukamikw est doté des technologies les plus modernes. Ainsi il deviendra un carrefour virtuel interactif alimenté par un réseau multicommunautaire de fibres optiques, rendant possibles les visites guidées du musée ainsi que le recours à des programmes de télé-enseignement accessibles mondialement et grâce auxquels les collections pourront être montrées aux internautes.

Le chef de la communauté d’Oujé-Bougoumou, Reggie Neeposh, a mentionné qu’il accueille avec un grand plaisir  l’Institut et les célébrations de la culture crie sur son territoire : « Notre communauté a été intégrée au sein de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois en 2011. Elle a été reconnue par les Nations Unies comme un exemple remarquable de développement communautaire. Aujourd’hui, le rassemblement de visiteurs et de personnalités du monde culturel à cette exposition représente un accomplissement de plus dont nous sommes tous fiers. »

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 8 juin 2012