Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Speaking notes for the Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks, Guy Chevrette, On the occasion of a mission to Europe dealing
with aboriginal affairs

January 30, 2001

(Check against delivery)

Introduction

I am pleased to be with you today as part of Québec's mission on aboriginal issues. We will be visiting three cities during the course of this mission, Paris, Brussels and London, describing the Québec government's relations with aboriginal people to elected officials, the press, representatives of non-governmental organizations and interested academics.

Let me begin by introducing the people with me. They are aboriginal leaders who are firmly committed to the development of their nation or their community and with whom I have become friends over the last few years. They are the President of Makivik Corporation, Pita Aatami, representing the 10 000 Inuit of Nunavik, the Chief of the Attikamek community of Obedjiwan with a population of 2 050, Simon Awashish, and the Chief of the Innu community of Mashteuiatsh with a population of 4 500, Clifford Moar.  They will give you their perspective on the history and current state of relations between Québec and aboriginal people.

The Québec government's purpose in this mission is to:

  • sensitize European players with an interest in aboriginal issues and develop an international network to more effectively publicize the efforts the government is making to harmonize its relations with aboriginal people and thus provide a more complete picture than is presented in some quarters;
  • respond to the expectations of many players in Québec who want the Québec government to tell the international community about the true situation of aboriginal people in Québec and Québec's policy regarding aboriginal people.
  • give aboriginal leaders an opportunity to describe how they view the development of their community and their nation, as well as their relations with the Québec government.


The situation of aboriginal people in Québec

In order to properly discuss the current state of relations with aboriginal people, I have to begin by describing the geographic, historical, cultural and socio-economic context of Amerindians and Inuit in Québec.

There are 54 aboriginal communities spread throughout Québec, as you can see on the map we have given you. The population of these communities ranges from a few hundred, for instance on the lower North Shore and in the Far North, to about 8 000 in Kahnawake, a community located on the outskirts of Montréal.

With the exception of the Inuit communities which are constituted as municipalities under the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, a modern treaty signed 25 years ago, which Mr. Aatami will describe at greater length, these communities are constituted as reserves, in other words, territories, often very small, set aside for the use of the Indians by the government of Canada in the 19th and 20th centuries.

About 75 000 Amerindians and Inuit live in aboriginal communities in Québec, and close to 40 000 live outside such communities, either in Montréal, Québec City or other municipalities in Québec. Aboriginal people account for about 1% of Québec's population.

The aboriginal population of Québec is young, in fact I'd say very young.  Young people under 30 account for close to 60% of the population of aboriginal communities, and almost 34% are under 15. Though it is trending lower, the birth rate among aboriginal people in Québec is still about double the Québec average, which itself is comparable to the situation in Europe.

Culturally and ethnically, the situation of aboriginal people in Québec is far from uniform.  On the contrary, and the leaders with me can address this, what we have is a varied and complex mosaic of 11 nations, all officially recognized by the National Assembly of Québec. These nations have different cultures, traditions and languages that are still very much alive. Eight aboriginal languages are still spoken in Québec, and many of them are also written. They are taught in school and we back not only their preservation, but also their development since it is essential to maintaining the vitality of each nation's identity.

The Québec government is proud of this cultural richness and supports it every way it can with the resources at its disposal and in a spirit of mutual respect.

In spite of the success of recent years, much remains to be done on aboriginal issues. The aboriginal population of Québec consists of communities and nations of various sizes, scattered throughout the territory, at very different stages of development. You should also be aware that some of these communities are experiencing significant social and economic problems. Many are in the process of moving from a traditional way of life to modernity. Mr. Awashish, whose community is currently undergoing this transition to a more modern lifestyle, will have more to say on this.

Some communities are decidedly in the process of taking charge of their own development, making use of enlightened leadership, skilled human resources and responsible financial management. Others, with far fewer resources, definitely need help to develop acceptable basic infrastructures, including housing in some cases. They are also dramatically in need of support to develop their human and financial capacity to become self-sufficient.

The major issues

In recent years, dealings with aboriginal people have, on the whole, taken on a much broader scope. Until now, we acted essentially on the basis of administrative agreements to adapt government action to more adequately take the situation of aboriginal people into consideration. However, we are increasingly confronted with much more basic issues, namely aboriginal rights and title in Québec. The agreement reached with the Innus on the Common Approach, which Mr. Moar will discuss, the substantial progress of comprehensive land negotiations with the Attikameks, the work of the Nunavik Commission, the use of the courts as an element of our relations with the Crees, have propelled these issues to the forefront of our relations with aboriginal people.

At the same time, the non-aboriginal population of Québec is worried, particularly in regions with a heavy concentration of aboriginal communities.  While everyone acknowledges the necessity of removing legal uncertainty so that the development of the territory can proceed, there is a fear that governments will go too far in recognizing the rights of aboriginal people.  Non-aboriginal people also fear losing their established rights regarding access to the land as well as wildlife and forest resources. Lastly, the relevance of the tax exemptions aboriginal people enjoy is increasingly called into question.  At a fundamental level, all these concerns often reflect a misunderstanding of the situation of aboriginal people and the government's action regarding them.

These conclusions force us to deal with significant issues. In the short term, we will have to continue supporting aboriginal communities as they take charge of their development, working towards harmonious relations between aboriginal people, our government and Quebecers, while seeking greater fairness among residents of the same territory. In the medium to long term, there is no avoiding the need to settle issues of rights, tied to land and resources, in order to remove the uncertainty that impedes the development of both aboriginal people and Québec in general.

History of relations with aboriginal people
from the arrival of the Europeans until today


These complex issues regarding the rights of aboriginal people require that we look back at our past to better understand the present.

When the Europeans arrived, many groups of aboriginal people were organized in societies, with rules, a common language and system of justice. A European, living on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, in Québec City or Montréal, would not have ventured into the back country without the help of the aboriginal people who knew the territory. Aboriginal people did not attempt to throw the Europeans arriving in Québec back into the sea. And our ancestors did not wage war on them. Each group benefited from the presence of the other and the exchange of know-how. And until the 19th century, aboriginal people and the descendants of the Europeans coexisted.

Not until the Industrial Revolution and the arrival of new technologies did our ancestors begin to push into remote regions, to develop the forest, mines and hydro-electric resources. This period also marked the beginning of worsening relations between aboriginal and non-aboriginal people.  The federal government became the "trustee" of aboriginal people and placed them on Indian reserves.

Today, this past is coming back to haunt us. First, because aboriginal people are claiming their rights. They are saying they were in Québec before us and never gave up the land they have lived and worked on for thousands of years. And second, because aboriginal communities live in economic and social conditions that are decidedly inferior to those of the rest of Québec, something to which we cannot be indifferent.

Relations between the Québec government and aboriginal people over the last thirty years

In spite of this long history of cohabitation, formal relations between the Québec government and aboriginal people in Québec are fairly recent, dating back no further than the early sixties. However, the Québec government's dealings with aboriginal people only became truly significant with the signature of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, in 1975.

Then, in 1983, the Québec government adopted 15 principles to guide relations between Québec and aboriginal people. These principles, together with the work of a parliamentary committee, prompted the National Assembly to pass a resolution in 1985 recognizing the aboriginal nations and their right to develop their identity, culture, economic base and autonomy within Québec. These principles continue to form the basis of the Québec government's current policy regarding aboriginal people.

Partnership, Development, Achievement:
the Québec government's guidelines concerning aboriginal people


In 1998, the 20th anniversary of the formation of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, the Québec government implemented new guidelines enabling aboriginal nations and communities to take charge of their development and achieve greater self-sufficiency. Currently, the major issues for the Québec government and aboriginal nations include land and resources, economic development, self-government and financial self-sufficiency. Agreements have to be negotiated on these issues.

The guidelines:
  • are consistent with previous political actions, namely the 1985 resolution of the National Assembly and the 15 principles of 1983;
  • acknowledge the priority needs identified by Amerindian and Inuit communities;
  • encourage the conclusion of agreements for increased responsibility and development with aboriginal people, under a partnership approach, and the renewal of agreements to continue work in progress;
  • propose that agreements be reached concerning aboriginal institutions and the exercise of contractual jurisdictions;
  • make it easier to pass appropriate legislative amendments;
  • suggest that a bipartite commission be set in place to devise a permanent forum for political discussion;
  • offer a new approach to develop self-government and financial self-sufficiency of aboriginal communities;
  • contribute to economic and community development by setting up a fund and, as a result, foster job creation.

The approach is one of overall fairness: both aboriginal and non-aboriginal populations must have access to the same living conditions, the same general development conditions and a fair share of the collective wealth, while allowing aboriginal people to maintain and develop their identity.

Results after two years

Overall, the results of the measures arising from the Partnership, Development, Achievement policy paper are positive. Over the last two years, we have signed nine declarations of mutual understanding and respect, eleven framework agreements and over twenty sector agreements in various fields of economic and social activity. These agreements make it possible to establish more solid and lasting relations with aboriginal communities. Communities are playing a more active role in their own development, economic and community development projects are being pursued, and the mechanisms set up under these agreements make it possible to build and consolidate more harmonious relations between the government and these aboriginal communities, as well as between these communities and neighbouring non-aboriginal populations.

For instance, the signature of agreements with the Mohawk community of Kahnawake has enabled us to consolidate our relations with them. We have been able to move from a confrontational approach to one emphasizing dialogue and negotiation to resolve even the hardest issues. This change in approach is happening with all the communities with which we are signing agreements.

In addition, with the signature of specific agreements concerning the implementation of the Aboriginal Development Fund with 38 of the 54 communities already, we are carrying out concrete economic and community development projects with them. This means that Québec is participating directly in improving the living conditions of aboriginal populations. In addition to helping meet pressing social and community needs and supporting the creation of businesses and jobs among aboriginal people, the Fund is a valuable tool for Québec. Often, it helps establish contact, build relations of trust and bring aboriginal communities to become more involved in economic activity in Québec.

Major challenges in harmonizing relations between Québec and aboriginal people

As Minister for Native Affairs in the Québec government, the major challenges I will be focusing my energy on in the next few years are:
  • first of all, seeking balance and fairness between aboriginal and non-aboriginal people both in terms of living conditions and opportunities, especially for young people, to become more involved in economic activity in Québec;
  • improving living conditions in the most isolated and poorest communities by providing proper housing for their populations, ensuring they have access to adequate community infrastructures and have the opportunity to develop and flourish in acceptable conditions;
  • supporting the difficult but unavoidable transition from tradition to modernity in certain aboriginal communities, while respecting their culture and identity;
  • working towards solutions concerning questions of rights in order to remove the legal uncertainty impeding the development of aboriginal communities and Québec in general. The challenge lies in the definition of these aboriginal rights and their recognition in a 21st century context;
  • the division of responsibilities between the Québec government, the federal government as trustee of aboriginal people, and aboriginal bodies, as part of the exercise of self-government and financial self-sufficiency.


In conclusion

In carrying out my responsibilities as Minister for Native Affairs, I have seen at first-hand just how deeply we need to talk to each other, get to know each other better, understand and become familiar with each other to establish lasting relations not only between aboriginal nations and the Québec government, but also between aboriginal communities and neighbouring non-aboriginal communities.

I feel that together - with the leaders accompanying me, of course, but also with many of their fellows - we have come a long way in this regard in recent years. However, we must go on with our work to forge lasting links.

I am convinced that we share enough common objectives to build together solid relations that will enable us to deal with the most delicate issues and the most difficult ones. By giving ourselves the chance to build a better future for our respective communities, respecting each other's identity, we are helping to bridge the gaps between us and, together, we are defining an increasingly shared vision of the future.

Aboriginal people are an important component of Québec's past, present and future.  Québec is immeasurably better off thanks to the presence of eleven culturally diverse aboriginal nations, of aboriginal communities in every part of Québec, and of living aboriginal languages spoken in Québec in the 21st century. We are proud, and want other people, including Europeans, to have a better appreciation of this situation.

Thank you for your attention. I now yield the podium to the leaders here with me.
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Notes pour une allocution du ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette à l'occasion d'une mission en Europe portant sur les affaires autochtones du 30 janvier au 10 février 2001

(La version prononcée fait foi)

Je suis heureux d'être ici parmi vous aujourd'hui dans le cadre de cette mission québécoise sur les questions autochtones. Cette mission nous amène dans trois villes européennes, soit Paris, Bruxelles et Londres pour présenter à des parlementaires, des journalistes, des représentants d'organisations non gouvernementales et des universitaires intéressés, l'état des relations que le gouvernement du Québec entretient avec les Autochtones.

Permettez-moi tout d'abord de vous présenter les gens qui m'accompagnent. Ce sont des leaders autochtones fermement engagés dans le développement de leur nation ou de leur communauté et avec qui, au cours des dernières années, j'ai établi des liens d'amitié. Il s'agit de monsieur Pita Aatami, président de la Société Makivik, qui représente les 10 000 Inuits du Nuvanik, de monsieur Simon Awashish, chef de la communauté attikamek d'Obedjiwan dont la population s'élève à 2 050 personnes et de monsieur Clifford Moar, chef de la communauté innue de Mashteuiatsh qui compte 4 500 membres. Ils vous expliqueront, à partir de leur propre perspective, l'évolution et l'état actuel des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones.

Par cette mission, le gouvernement du Québec vise à :

sensibiliser des intervenants européens intéressés par les questions autochtones et développer un réseau de relayeurs afin de mieux faire connaître, au plan international, les efforts consacrés à l'harmonisation de ses relations avec les Autochtones pour ainsi donner une vision plus complète que celle véhiculée par certains intervenants;

répondre aux attentes de plusieurs intervenants québécois qui souhaitent que le gouvernement du Québec fasse connaître, au plan international, la situation réelle des Autochtones au Québec et la politique québécoise concernant les Autochtones.

donner l'occasion à des leaders autochtones de présenter leur vision du développement de leur communauté et de leur nation ainsi que des relations qu'ils entretiennent avec le gouvernement du Québec.

La réalité autochtone au Québec

Exposer l'état actuel des relations avec les Autochtones implique au préalable de vous présenter le contexte géographique, historique, culturel et socio-économique de la présence amérindienne et inuite au Québec.

Le Québec autochtone est constitué de 54 communautés réparties sur l'ensemble du territoire québécois, comme vous pouvez le constater sur la carte que nous vous avons remise. Les populations de ces communautés varient de quelques centaines d'habitants, par exemple sur la Basse-Côte-Nord et dans le Grand Nord, à quelque 8 000 habitants dans la communauté de Kahnawake, située en banlieue de Montréal.

À l'exception des communautés inuites qui sont constituées en municipalités depuis la signature de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois, un traité moderne signé il y a 25 ans, dont monsieur Aatami pourra vous entretenir plus longuement, ces communautés sont constituées en réserves, c'est-à-dire en territoires, souvent très limités, qui ont été mis à ladisposition des Indiens, par le gouvernement du Canada, au cours des XIXe et XXe siècles.

La population autochtone du Québec s'élève à environ 75 000 Amérindiens et Inuits vivant dans les communautés autochtones,et près de 40 000 vivant hors des communautés autochtones, soit à Montréal, Québec ou dans d'autres municipalités québécoises. La population autochtone du Québec représente donc un peu plus de 1 % de la population québécoise.

La population autochtone du Québec est jeune, je dirais même très jeune. En effet, les communautés autochtones sont composées de près de 60 % de jeunes de moins 30 ans dont plus de 34 % sont âgés de moins de 15 ans. Même s'il tend à diminuer, le taux de natalité chez les Autochtones du Québec demeure aujourd'hui environ le double de la moyenne québécoise qui, elle, se compare au contexte européen.

Aux plans culturel et ethnique, la réalité autochtone du Québec est loin d'être monolithique. Au contraire, et les leaders qui m'accompagnent pourront eux-mêmes en témoigner, il s'agit d'une mosaïque à la fois diversifiée et complexe composée de 11 nations, toutes reconnues officiellement par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec. Ces nations se distinguent par leur culture, par des traditions qui leurs sont propres et par des langues vernaculaires encore très vivantes. Huit langues autochtones sont encore parlées au Québec, plusieurs d'entre elles sont également écrites. Elles sont enseignées dans les écoles et nous soutenons seulement leur conservation mais aussi leur évolution puisqu'il s'agit d'un élément essentiel à la préservation et à la vivacité de l'identité propre à chacune de ces nations.

Le gouvernement du Québec est fier de cette richesse culturelle présente au Québec et y apporte tout le soutien possible dans la mesure de ses moyens et dans le respect mutuel.

Malgré les succès enregistrés au cours des dernières années, il reste beaucoup à faire dans le dossier autochtone. En effet, la population autochtone du Québec est composée de communautés et de nations de tailles différentes, éparpillées sur le territoire, à des stades de développement fort différents. Il faut également être conscient du fait que certaines de ces communautés connaissent d'importantes difficultés aux plans social et économique. Plusieurs sont en processus de passage de la tradition à la modernité. Monsieur Awashish, dont la communauté vit présentement ce passage vers un mode de vie plus moderne, pourra vous en reparler.

Certaines communautés sont nettement engagées dans un processus de prise en charge de leur propre développement, fortes d'un leadership éclairé, de ressources humaines compétentes et d'une gestion financière responsable. D'autres, beaucoup plus démunies, ont définitivement besoin de soutien pour se doter d'infrastructures de base adéquates y compris, dans certains cas,en matière d'habitation. Elles ont également dramatiquement besoin d'un appui pour développer leur capacité humaine et financière à se prendre en main.

Les principaux enjeux

Au cours des dernières années, on constate que globalement les échanges avec les Autochtones ont pris une tout autre envergure. Alors que notre action reposait jusqu'à présent essentiellement sur des ententes à caractère administratif visant l'adaptation de l'action gouvernementale pour mieux prendre en considération la réalité autochtone, nous sommes de plus en plus confrontés à des questions beaucoup plus fondamentales, soit celles des droits et du titre autochtones sur le territoire québécois. La conclusion de l'Approche commune avec les Innus, dont je laisse le soin à monsieur Moar de vous parler, l'évolution marquée des négociations territoriales globales avec les Attikameks, les travaux de la Commission du Nunavik, la « judiciarisation » de nos relations avec les Cris, ont projeté ces questions à l'avant-plan de nos relations avec les Autochtones.

Parallèlement, la population non autochtone du Québec s'inquiète, particulièrement dans les régions où l'on trouve une forte concentration de communautés autochtones. Même si tous reconnaissent la nécessité de lever les incertitudes juridiques pour assurer le développement du territoire, on craint que les gouvernements aillent trop loin dans la reconnaissance des droits des Autochtones. On craint également de perdre des acquis quant à l'accessibilité au territoire et aux ressources, tant fauniques que forestières. On remet en question enfin de plus en plus la pertinence des exemptions fiscales dont bénéficient les Autochtones. Fondamentalement, toutes ces préoccupations témoignent bien souvent d'une méconnaissance des réalités autochtones et de l'action du gouvernement à leur égard.

Ces constats nous obligent à faire face à des enjeux importants. Ainsi, à court terme, nous devons maintenir notre soutien à la prise en charge par les communautés autochtones de leur développement, poursuivre l'établissement de relations harmonieuses entre les Autochtones, notre gouvernement et la population québécoise, tout en recherchant une plus grande équité entre les résidents d'un même territoire. À moyen et à long termes, il devient incontournable de régler les questions de droits, liées aux territoires et aux ressources, afin de lever les incertitudes qui constituent des freins au développement tant des Autochtones que du Québec en général.

Historique des relations avec les Autochtones de l'arrivée des Européens à aujourd'hui

Ces enjeux complexes relatifs aux droits des Autochtones nous obligent à faire un peu d'histoire, à retourner dans le passé pour mieux comprendre le présent.

À l'arrivée des Européens, plusieurs groupes autochtones étaient organisés en société, avec leurs règles, leur langue et une forme de système de justice. Un Européen, établi le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent, à Québec ou à Montréal, ne se serait pas aventuré dans l'arrière-pays sans la complicité des Autochtones qui connaissaient le territoire. Les Autochtones n'ont pas tenté de rejeter à la mer les Européens qui arrivaient au Québec. Et nos ancêtres ne leur ont pas fait la guerre. Chaque groupe a bénéficié de la présence de l'autre et de l'échange de leur savoir-faire. Et jusqu'au tournant du XIXe siècle, il y a eu coexistence des Autochtones et des descendants européens. Ce n'est qu'à partir de la Révolution industrielle, et de l'arrivée de nouvelles technologies, que nos ancêtres ont pénétré les régions éloignées pour exploiter la forêt, les mines et les ressources hydroélectriques. Et c'est aussi à partir de cette période que les relations entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones se sont raréfiées. Le gouvernement fédéral devint « fiduciaire » des Autochtones et les localisa dans des réserves indiennes.

Aujourd'hui, ce passé nous rattrape. D'abord, parce que les Autochtones revendiquent des droits. Ils nous disent qu'ils étaient au Québec avant nous et qu'ils n'ont jamais renoncé au territoire qu'ils habitaient et exploitaient ancestralement. Et ensuite parce que les communautés autochtones vivent dans des conditions économiques et sociales nettement inférieures à celles du reste du Québec, ce qui ne peut pas nous laisser indifférents.

Évolution des relations entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Autochtones au cours des trente dernières années

En fait, malgré ce long passé de cohabitation, les relations formelles entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Autochtones habitant le territoire québécois sont assez récentes puisqu'elles ne datent que du début des années soixante. Toutefois, ce n'est qu'après la signature de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois, en 1975, que les interventions du gouvernement du Québec auprès des Autochtones sont devenues vraiment significatives.

Puis en 1983, le gouvernement du Québec a adopté 15 principes devant guider les relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones. Ces principes et les travaux d'une commission parlementaire ont conduit l'Assemblée nationale du Québec à adopter, en 1985, une résolution reconnaissant les nations autochtones et leur droit à développer leur identité, leur culture, leur base économique et leur autonomie au sein du Québec. Ces principes sont toujours à la base de la politique actuelle du gouvernement du Québec concernant les Autochtones.

Partenariat, Développement, Actions : Les orientations gouvernementales québécoises concernant les Autochtones

En 1998, le gouvernement du Québec profite du vingtième anniversaire de la création du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones pour mettre en œuvre de nouvelles orientations permettant aux nations et aux communautés autochtones de prendre en main leur développement et d'atteindre une plus grande autonomie. Les grands enjeux actuels pour le gouvernement du Québec et les nations autochtones sont notamment le territoire et les ressources, le développement économique, l'autonomie gouvernementale et financière. Ces questions devraient faire l'objet d'ententes négociées.

Les orientations proposées :

s'inscrivent en continuité avec les gestes politiques déjà posés, soit la résolution de l'Assemblée nationale de 1985 et les 15 principes de 1983;

tiennent compte des besoins prioritaires identifiés par les communautés amérindiennes et inuites;
favorisent la conclusion d'ententes de responsabilisation et de développement avec les Autochtones, selon une approche de partenariat, et le renouvellement d'ententes pour continuer le travail déjà amorcé;

proposent la conclusion d'ententes concernant des institutions autochtones et l'exercice de juridictions contractuelles;

facilitent l'adoption de modifications législatives appropriées;

suggèrent la mise en place d'une commission bipartite ayant pour mandat de concevoir un lieu d'échanges politiques permanent;

offrent une nouvelle approche afin de développer l'autonomie gouvernementale et l'autonomie financière descommunautés autochtones;

contribuent au développement économique et communautaire par la mise en place d'un fonds et, par conséquent, favorisent la création d'emplois.

L'approche se situe dans une perspective d'équité d'ensemble : les populations autochtone et non autochtone doivent toutes deux avoir accès aux mêmes conditions de vie, aux mêmes conditions générales de développement ainsi qu'à une part juste de la richesse collective, tout en permettant aux Autochtones de préserver et de développer leur identité.

La bilan de la mise en œuvre de la politique après deux ans

La mise en œuvre des mesures découlant du document d'orientation Partenariat, Développement, Actions, donne des résultats globalement positifs. Au cours des deux dernières années, nous avons signé 9 déclarations de compréhension et de respect mutuel, 11 ententes-cadres et plus de 20 ententes sectorielles dans divers domaines de l'activité économique et sociale. Ces ententes permettent d'établir, avec les communautés autochtones, des relations plus solides et durables. Les communautés prennent davantage en charge leur propre développement, des projets de développement économique et communautaire se réalisent, les mécanismes mis en place par le biais de ces ententes permettent de bâtir et de consolider des relations plus harmonieuses entre le gouvernement et ces communautés autochtones, de même qu'entre ces communautés et les populations non autochtones environnantes.

Ainsi, par exemple, la signature d'ententes avec la communauté mohawk de Kahnawake nous a permis de consolider nos relations avec cette dernière. Nous sommes réellement parvenus à passer d'une approche de confrontation à une approche misant sur le dialogue et la négociation pour résoudre les dossiers les plus difficiles. Ce changement d'approche se concrétise avec toutes les communautés avec qui nous signons des ententes.

De plus, par la signature, avec déjà 38 des 54 communautés, d'ententes particulières concernant la mise en œuvre du Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones, nous réalisons avec eux des projets concrets de développement économique et communautaire. Le Québec participe donc directement à l'amélioration des conditions de vie des populations autochtones. En plus de contribuer à répondre à des besoins socio-communautaires urgents dans les communautés et de soutenir la création de projets d'entreprise et la création d'emplois chez les Autochtones, le Fonds constitue un outil précieux pour le Québec. En effet, il permet fréquemment d'établir le contact, de bâtir des relations de confiance et d'amener les communautés autochtones à participer davantage à l'activité économique du Québec.

Les principaux défis dans l'harmonisation des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones

À titre de ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones au gouvernement du Québec, les principaux défis auxquels j'entends consacrer mes énergies au cours de prochaines années sont :

D'abord la recherche de l'équilibre et de l'équité entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones et ce, tant au plan des conditions de vie qu'en ce qui a trait aux perspectives, particulièrement pour les jeunes, de participer activement à l'activité économique du Québec ;

L'amélioration des conditions de vie des communautés les plus isolées et les plus démunies en s'assurant que leurs populations soient logées convenablement, qu'ils aient accès à des infrastructures communautaires adéquates et qu'ils aient la possibilité de s'épanouir et de se développer dans des conditions acceptables;

Le soutien au difficile mais incontournable passage de la tradition à la modernité de certaines communautés autochtones dans le respect de leur culture et de leur identité;

La recherche de solutions concernant les questions de droits de façon à lever les incertitudes juridiques qui constituent des freins au développement tant des communautés autochtones que du Québec en général. Le défi réside dans la définition des ces droits ancestraux et leur reconnaissance dans le contexte du XXIe siècle;

Le partage des responsabilités entre le gouvernement du Québec, le gouvernement fédéral à titre de fiduciaire des Autochtones et les instances autochtones, aussi bien dans le cadre de l'exercice de l'autonomie gouvernementale que de l'autonomie financière.

En conclusion

Dans l'exercice de mes responsabilités de ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, j'ai été en mesure d'apprécier à quel point nous avons dramatiquement besoin de nous parler, de mieux nous connaître, de nous comprendre et de nous apprivoiser pour établir des relations durables entre les nations autochtones et le gouvernement du Québec, mais également entre les communautés autochtones et les communautés non autochtones avoisinantes.

J'estime qu'ensemble - avec les leaders qui m'accompagnent, certes, mais aussi avec plusieurs de leurs confrères - nous avons réalisé des progrès importants à cet égard au cours des dernières années. Il faut toutefois poursuivre dans cette voie pour continuer à tisser les liens qui perdureront.

Je suis persuadé que nous partageons suffisamment d'objectifs communs pour construire ensemble des relations solides qui nous permettront d'aborder les questions plus délicates, plus difficiles. En se donnant la chance de bâtir un avenir meilleur pour nos communautés respectives, dans le respect de nos identités propres, nous contribuons à réduire les écarts qui nous séparent et nous définissons ensemble une vision de plus en plus partagée de l'avenir.

Les Autochtones constituent une composante importante du Québec d'hier, d'aujourd'hui et de demain. La présence de onze nations autochtones aux particularités culturelles diversifiées, de communautés autochtones réparties sur l'ensemble du territoire québécois, de langues autochtones vivantes, parlées au Québec au XXIe siècle, constitue une richesse inestimable pour le Québec. Nous sommes fiers et nous voulons faire connaître cette réalité davantage, y compris aux Européens.

Je vous remercie et je cède maintenant la parole aux leaders qui m'accompagnent.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :