Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Notes for a speech by Mr. Rémy Trudel, Minister of State for the Population, the Regions and Native Affairs at the time of the signing of the partnership agreement for the economic and community development of Nunavik between the Government of Québec, Makivik Corporation and the Kativik Regional Government Tasiujaq

APRIL 9, 2002

The spoken version takes precedence

Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik,
Mr. Johnny Adams, President of the Kativik Regional Government,
Mr. Prime Minister,
Mr. Minister delegate for Native Affairs and the development of Northern Québec,
Mayors of the Northern Village Municipalities,
Members of the Kativik Regional Government,
Mr. André Caillé, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Hydro-Québec,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am very happy to be here with you today and to take part in the annual general meeting of Makivik Corporation. It is indeed a great pleasure for me to find myself here in Nunavik in the land of the Inuit with whom we have maintained very good relations for many years, particularly since the signing of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement in 1975.

For a very long time now, the organizations and institutions of Nunavik have been evolving within Québec's jurisdiction and have been working in close cooperation with the departments and organizations of the Government of Québec. Two nations that talk to one another and that understand one another: this has been the history of the relations between Québec and the Inuit. It is not surprising then that over the last few days we have arrived at a major partnership agreement for the long-term economic and community development of Nunavik. On February 15th of this year, I met with Mr. Pita Aatami and Mr. Johnny Adams, and we agreed to step up the pace of discussions that would eventually lead to the agreement that we are signing today. Having been able to work out such a major agreement in so little time shows just how close and productive the relationship between Québec and the Inuit is.

This agreement reached between Québec, Makivik Corporation and the Kativik Regional Government is also in keeping with the government action strategy respecting aboriginal matters. This strategy proposes agreements to foster the taking on of greater responsibility and to promote development, the carrying out of tangible actions to achieve economic development and job creation, and the adoption of measures leading to greater financial autonomy. Partnership, development and actions are all words that summarize our approach.

Long-term economic development of Nunavik

The agreement stipulates that Québec and the Inuit will work in close partnership to develop the hydroelectric, mining and tourism potential of Nunavik.

It also encourages the Inuit to take on more responsibility, thereby ensuring greater participation in their own economic development. Various models are put forward in the agreement to develop natural resources such as mines and hydroelectricity, as well as the important sector of tourism.

In particular, over the next five years, studies will be carried out to identify the hydroelectric potential of the territory's rivers and tides. One of these studies will consist of examining the feasibility of a power transmission line, possibly accompanied by a fiber optic telecommunications network. This network could connect all the northern villages to Hydro-Québec's main network.

If the decision is made to go ahead with hydroelectric projects, Québec will share the profits with the Inuit of Nunavik according to the extent of the production of the hydroelectric facilities, their profitability and the selling price of electricity in Canada and the United States.

Québec will also encourage the reaching of agreements between the Inuit and the proponents of hydroelectric and mining projects, with a view to ensuring more jobs and more contracts for Nunavik.

Of course, every hydroelectric or mining project will be subject to the current environmental protection framework described in the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement.

Moreover, to development Nunavik's tourism industry, Québec will work in close cooperation with the Kativik Regional Government over the next five years to examine the possibility of developing other parks in Nunavik (Monts Torngat, Lac Guillaume-Delisle and Lac-à-L'Eau-Claire, Rivière Koroc).

Québec, the Kativik Regional Government and Makivik Corporation will see to it that Nunavik takes charge of the management of Pingualuit Park and that the economic spin-offs provide maximum benefits for the region.


Priority projects stipulated in the agreement

In addition to the natural resource development projects, Québec is also seeking to take tangible steps in other sectors. The government's action will involve carrying out several others projects included in the partnership agreement:

  • paving of roads (including airport access roads) of all northern villages;
  • construction of maritime infrastructures;
  • increase in the number of police officers;
  • construction of new police stations;
  • construction of detention facilities and a 10-bed transitional community residential centre;
  • hiring of six new wildlife conservation officers and creation of wildlife assistant positions.


This summarizes the content of this important agreement that we are signing today. It contains major leverage tools to ensure that the Inuit take greater responsibility for their economic and community development. It also offers additional means to existing organizations that must meet the needs of the population. This agreement will enable such organizations to act right away to create jobs and business opportunities, and, in so doing, to contribute to the quality of life of Nunavik residents.


Self-government in Nunavik

The agreement also contains an important provision that will help meet a major expectation of Nunavik. Indeed, Québec agrees to ensure that the grants, which currently come from various Québec departments and organizations, are grouped in one budget that will be indexed annually. Hence, there would be one budget for the Kativik Regional Government and one budget for each northern village.

This step is part of a broader initiative that we have been engaged in over the last few years and that concerns the creation of an autonomous government in Nunavik.

Moreover, one year ago, at the time of the 2001 annual general meeting, the Nunavik Commission tabled its report entitled - Mapping the Road toward a Government for Nunavik. We all know the importance of the work of this Commission. And we wish to recall the commitment made in the Political Agreement of 1999 by Québec, the Inuit and the federal government, namely to negotiate a form of government in Nunavik, once the Nunavik Commission had tabled its recommendations. Today, I am pleased to inform you that Québec will soon be designating the person who will represent it at the negotiation table. We plan to move ahead with determination in this matter, which holds such promise for Inuit youth.

Conclusion

Our common achievements can largely be attributed to the close and harmonious relations that we have forged. This climate of agreement is a guarantee of future success in the resolution of various questions and matters. It is with great pride that I will affix my signature to the bottom of this document, which heralds a new and even more profitable era between the Government of Québec and the inhabitants of Nunavik.


Thank you!
Nakurmik marialuk
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Notes pour une allocution du Ministre d'État à la Population, aux Régions et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Rémy Trudel, à l'occasion de la signature de l'entente de partenariat pour le développement économique et communautaire du Nunavik entre le entre le gouvernement du Québec et la Société Makivik et l'Administration régionale Kativik

Tasiujaq, le 9 avril 2002

La version prononcée fait foi

Monsieur le Président de Makivik, Pita Aatami,
Monsieur le Président de l'Administration régionale Kativik, Johnny Adams
Monsieur le Premier ministre
Monsieur le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et au Développement du Nord québécois
Maires des municipalités de villages nordiques,
Membres de l'Administration régionale Kativik
Monsieur André Caillé, Président directeur général, Hydro-Québec,
Mesdames et messieurs,

Je suis très heureux d'être avec vous aujourd'hui et de participer à l'assemblée annuelle de la Société Makivik. C'est avec un grand plaisir que je me retrouve au Nunavik, pays des Inuits avec qui nous avons des relations privilégiées depuis bon nombre d'années, particulièrement depuis la signature de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois en 1975.

Depuis longtemps, les organismes et les institutions du Nunavik évoluent pleinement dans la juridiction québécoise et travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement du Québec. Deux nations qui se parlent et se comprennent, c'est l'histoire des relations entre le Québec et les Inuits. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que nous en soyons arrivés ces derniers jours à une importante entente de partenariat pour le développement économique et communautaire à long terme du Nunavik. Le 15 février dernier, je rencontrais Pita Aatami et Johnny Adams, et nous convenions alors de donner un coup d'accélérateur aux pourparlers devant mener à l'entente que nous signons aujourd'hui. Arrivés à une entente d'une telle envergure aussi rapidement démontre comment la relation entre le Québec et les Inuits est étroite et productive.

Cette entente conclue entre le Québec, la Société Makivik et l'Administration régionale Kativik s'inscrit également dans la stratégie d'action gouvernementale en matière autochtone, qui propose des ententes de responsabilisation et de développement, la réalisation d'actions concrètes de développement économique et de développement de l'emploi, et des mesures conduisant à une plus grande autonomie financière. Partenariat, développement, actions, voilà des mots qui résument bien notre approche.

Le développement économique du Nunavik à long terme

Ainsi, l'entente prévoit que le Québec et les Inuits travailleront en partenariat étroit pour développer le potentiel hydroélectrique, minier et touristique du Nunavik.

Tout en favorisant, par ailleurs, la prise en charge de plus grandes responsabilités par les Inuits afin de contribuer à une plus grande participation dans leur propre développement économique, différents modèles sont élaborés dans l'entente pour mettre en valeur les ressources naturelles telles que les mines et l'hydroélectricité ainsi que l'important secteur du tourisme.

Notamment, d'ici les cinq prochaines années, des études seront entreprises pour cerner le potentiel hydroélectrique des rivières et des marées du territoire. L'une de ces études consistera à examiner prochainement la faisabilité d'une ligne de transport d'électricité possiblement accompagnée d'un réseau de télécommunications par fibres optiques. Ce réseau pourrait relier tous les villages nordiques au réseau principal d'Hydro-Québec.

Si des projets hydroélectriques se concrétisent, le Québec partagera les bénéfices avec les Inuits du Nunavik selon l'ampleur de la production des installations hydroélectriques, leur rentabilité et le prix de vente de l'électricité au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Le Québec encouragera également la conclusion d'ententes entre les Inuits et les promoteurs de projets hydroélectriques et miniers avec pour objectif d'assurer encore plus d'emplois et plus de contrats pour le Nunavik.

Tout projet hydroélectrique ou minier se fera, bien sûr, dans le respect du processus actuel de protection de l'environnement de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois.

Par ailleurs, afin de développer l'industrie touristique du Nunavik, le Québec travaillera de concert avec l'Administration régionale Kativik d'ici les cinq prochaines années pour étudier la possibilité de développer d'autres parcs au Nunavik (monts Torngat, lac Guillaume-Delisle et lac à L'Eau-Claire, rivière Koroc).

Le Québec, l'Administration régionale Kativik et Makivik verront à ce que le Nunavik prenne en charge la gestion du parc des Pingualuit et que les retombées économiques profitent au maximum à la région.

Les projets prioritaires prévus dans l'entente

Outre les projets de mise en valeur des ressources naturelles, le Québec vise aussi à poser des gestes concrets dans d'autres secteurs. L'action gouvernementale à ce chapitre s'exprime par la réalisation de plusieurs autres projets d'envergure compris dans l'entente de partenariat :

pavage des rues (incluant les routes d'accès aux aéroports) de tous les villages nordiques;

construction d'infrastructures maritimes;

augmentation des effectifs policiers;

construction de nouveaux postes de police;

construction d'installations de détention et d'un centre résidentiel communautaire de transition de 10 places;

embauche de six nouveaux agents de conservation de la faune et création de postes d'assistants.

Voilà en gros le contenu de cette importante entente que nous signons aujourd'hui. Elle contient des leviers majeurs pour assurer une plus grande prise en charge par les Inuits de leur développement économique et communautaire. Elle offre aussi des moyens supplémentaires aux organisations en place qui doivent répondre aux besoins de la population. Cette entente leur permettra d'agir dès maintenant pour créer des emplois, des occasions d'affaires et aussi contribuer à la qualité de vie des résidants du Nunavik.

L'autonomie gouvernementale au Nunavik

L'entente contient aussi une importante disposition qui fera en sorte de rencontrer une attente importante du Nunavik. En effet, le Québec s'engage à faire en sorte que les subventions, provenant actuellement des divers ministères et organismes québécois, soient regroupées en une seule enveloppe financière indexée annuellement. Une enveloppe pour l'administration régionale Kativik et une pour chaque village nordique.

Ce geste s'inscrit dans une plus vaste démarche que nous avons entreprise ensemble depuis quelques années concernant la mise en place d'un gouvernement autonome au Nunavik.

D'ailleurs, il y a un an, lors de votre réunion annuelle de 2001, la Commission du Nunavik déposait son rapport intitulé : Tracer la voie vers un gouvernement pour le Nunavik. Nous connaissons tous l'importance des travaux de cette Commission. Et nous nous rappelons de l'engagement pris dans l'Accord politique de 1999 par le Québec, les Inuits et le gouvernement fédéral, à l'effet de négocier une forme de gouvernement au Nunavik, une fois que la Commission du Nunavik aurait déposé ses recommandations. Je suis heureux, aujourd'hui, de vous informer que le Québec désignera bientôt la personne qui le représentera à la table de négociations. Nous irons de l'avant avec détermination dans ce dossier porteur d'espoir pour la jeunesse inuite.

Conclusion

Nos réalisations communes sont à mettre au compte des relations étroites et harmonieuses que nous entretenons. Ce climat de bonne entente est un gage de succès dans le règlement des différents dossiers. C'est donc avec beaucoup de fierté que j'apposerai ma signature au bas de ce document qui annonce une ère nouvelle et encore plus riche entre le gouvernement québécois et les habitants du Nunavik.

Merci!
Nakurmik marialuk

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :