Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Speech Notes for Minister Benoît Pelletier

29th Annual General Assembly
of the Cree Regional Authority

Waskaganish, September 11, 2003

Ted Moses, Grand Chief and President,
Paul Gull, Vice Grand Chief and Vice-President,
Robert Weistche, Chief of Waskaganish,
Other Chiefs and Directors of the Cree Regional Administration,
Ladies and Gentlemen:

First of all, I would like to thank Grand Chief Moses for his kind invitation to attend the Cree Regional Authority annual general assembly. It is a great pleasure for me to be here with you today. I see it as an opportunity to consolidate and improve the relationship between our respective nations.

As minister delegate for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, I am strongly committed to taking every opportunity to meet with Québec aboriginal leaders. I believe that building better, stronger relationships for the future is only possible through dialogue and mutual understanding at the political level.

By visiting your communities, I am also given the opportunity to better appreciate the reality in which you live and better understand your concerns and your needs.

Let me reassure you that strengthening our government’s relations with the Cree nation is a priority for me. As it implies constant dialogue, this is not a duty that I can do alone; therefore, I urge you to continue to foster the dialogue between you and the government.

Together, we can build on our past achievements to further conciliate our common interests, stimulate economic and social development and create prosperity for your nation that will benefit the entire Québec society.

May our visit here be another step toward a brighter future for both of us. And I hope more significant steps will be made in the near future in order to strengthen our cooperation and our friendship.

Once again, thank you.


Benoît Pelletier

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Notes pour une allocution de monsieur Benoît Pelletier à l'occasion de la 29e Assemblée annuelle de l'Administration régionale crie, Waskaganish

Waskaganish, le 11 septembre 2003

Ted Moses, Grand Chef et Président,
Paul Gull, Vice-Grand Chef et Vice-Président,
Robert Weistche, Chef de Waskaganish,
Les autres chefs et administrateurs de l’Administration régionale crie,
Mesdames et messieurs,

Je voudrais d’abord remercier le Grand Chef Moses d’avoir eu la gentillesse de m’inviter à assister à l’Assemblée générale annuelle de l’Administration régionale crie. C’est un énorme plaisir pour moi d’être ici parmi vous aujourd’hui. Je vois en cette rencontre l’occasion de renforcer et d’améliorer les relations entre nos nations respectives.

En tant que ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, je me suis engagé à saisir chaque occasion de rencontrer les dirigeants autochtones du Québec. Je crois que le développement de relations plus harmonieuses et plus fortes n’est possible qu’à travers le dialogue et une compréhension mutuelle au niveau politique.

En visitant vos communautés, j’ai aussi eu l’occasion de mieux me rendre compte de la réalité dans laquelle vous vivez et, de ce fait, je comprends mieux vos inquiétudes et vos besoins.

Soyez assurés que le développement de solides relations entre notre gouvernement et la nation crie est une priorité pour moi. Cependant, cela demande une communication constante et c’est une tâche que je ne peux mener seul; je vous exhorte donc à continuer de favoriser le dialogue entre vous et le gouvernement.

Ensemble, en s’appuyant sur nos accomplissements passés, nous devons concilier davantage nos intérêts communs, stimuler le développement économique et social, et ainsi favoriser le mieux-être de votre nation pour le bénéfice de la société québécoise toute entière.

Que notre visite ici soit un autre pas vers un futur meilleur, à la fois pour vous et pour nous. J’espère que des avancées encore plus significatives seront réalisées d’ici peu pour consolider notre coopération et notre amitié.

Merci encore une fois.


Benoît Pelletier

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :