Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Orientations. Return to strategic priorities

Enhance services

Generally speaking, the Québec State intervenes in the realm of social and cultural development through service delivery designed according to determined needs. Public and parapublic bodies, often structured in networks reporting to government departments, are responsible for administering such services and constantly ensure that they respond judiciously to varied local conditions. In this respect, the action plan pursues two key objectives.

First, it seeks to broaden the Québec government’s service offer to the Aboriginal peoples to make it fuller and more accessible, bearing in mind the specific nature of the missions of the government departments and bodies concerned, and in keeping with the federal government’s responsibilities. The Québec government wishes to offer more effective programs and services that are better adapted to the conditions of the First Nations and Inuit as they perceive them, whether, in particular, in the realm of health, social services, education, justice, public security, employment or culture.

Second, the government wishes to consolidate existing services. The aim is not only to better intervene in fields that are already subject to government measures but also to create complementarity between the networks of the Québec State and Aboriginal organizations, which, on or off the reserve, provide many services in the same or related fields.

Establish new services

As numerous indicators reveal, the living conditions of Québec’s Aboriginal peoples are usually inferior to those of the total population. Aboriginal communities are often overwhelmed by the prevalence of major psychosocial and socioeconomic problems, which are observed among the Inuit and the First Nations as in no other group in Québec society. As Québec Premier Philippe Couillard noted in 2015, such living conditions are not commensurate with a country of Canada’s prosperity, size and wealth.

A broad range of intervention

Consequently, the Québec government’s intervention must cover a very broad range of needs. In recent years, a number of government departments and bodies have, therefore, conducted consultations among the First Nations and Inuit in many fields, in order to determine needs and properly target development initiatives:

  • poverty and social exclusion
  • sexual exploitation
  • sexual assault
  • spousal and family violence
  • elder abuse
  • homophobia and transphobia
  • educational success
  • gender equality
  • cultural policy
  • racism and discrimination
  • bullying
  • youth
  • addiction
  • health prevention
  • vagrancy

The measures put forward in this action plan centre directly on the consultations. They reflect the Québec government’s desire to make available to the Aboriginal peoples services and programs geared to their circumstances and immediate needs in all sectors where its intervention is possible.

However, it should be noted that, from the outset, the measures do not cover all of the topics subject to consultation.

Indeed, deliberations are still under way in certain government departments and bodies to elaborate measures aligned to the needs expressed by the representatives of the First Nations and the Inuit Nation. For example, health prevention measures, especially suicide prevention, aimed at the Aboriginal peoples will be added to this action plan once they are determined (2017-2018).

Furthermore, sectoral action plans that are still in force cover other priority topics. While they are designed for the total population, they include measures devoted to the Aboriginal peoples. The measures will be incorporated into this action plan when the action plans that now contain them are renewed: vagrancy (2020), spousal and family violence (2018), mental health (2020) and bullying (2018).

The Québec government therefore plans to implement initiatives that will be as exhaustive as possible. Various measures are being implemented immediately, including those indicated below.

  • Concrete initiatives that target educational success and school retention among Aboriginal students will be introduced and resources will be allocated to support parents and students in their educational experience;
  • Measures and programs will be established to better support the Aboriginal clientele in the Québec justice system;
  • Resources will be invested to support and guide Aboriginal inmates in detention facilities to promote the management of their problems;
  • Means will be adopted to facilitate the development of midwife services in non-treaty communities;
  • Structuring initiatives will be implemented to support women, in particular women’s groups, to counteract sexual abuse, promote egalitarian relationships and combat gender inequality;
  • Tools will be designed in the realm of youth protection to reduce the difficulties that Aboriginal children and their families encounter and to promote the involvement of Aboriginal communities and foster families in service delivery;
  • The means will be adopted to combat addiction and violence and to foster the mobilization of communities to deal with these questions.1

Relevant, reassuring intervention from the standpoint of the Aboriginal cultures

While the government service offer must be as full and diversified as possible, it is equally essential that it be culturally relevant and reassuring. Even when it receives substantial resources, a program or service is usually ineffective if it is not adapted to the circumstances of the target clientele or if the latter feels misunderstood or unwelcome and decides not to take advantage of it.

The initiatives under this action plan will, consequently, be elaborated in a logic of relevance and cultural safety and the same logic will guide their implementation. The goal is for the supplier of services to take into account the history and cultural experience of the Aboriginal peoples and to acquire the appropriate skills to serve them. Measures will be adopted in this respect, in particular:

  • establish cultural safety strategies in the health and social services network;
  • offer government employees in the public and parapublic sectors awareness-raising sessions on the historic, cultural and sociological situation of the Aboriginal peoples and training on the concept of relevance and cultural safety;
  • train and raise awareness among Sûreté du Québec and municipal police officers and interveners in the socio-judicial sector of the distinctive characteristics and differences of the Aboriginal clientele;
  • adapt to the circumstances of the First Nations and Inuit the information and awareness-raising tools elaborated in conjunction with the fight against addiction;
  • ensure the implementation of adapted measures aimed at offering culturally reassuring and relevant services to Aboriginal crime victims;
  • reach agreements to establish a specific Aboriginal youth protection scheme.

Enhance the existing service offer

The Québec government has, for several years, offered a broad array of services to the members of the First Nations and the Inuit Nation. The service offer must be bolstered both through the enhancement of existing measures and by means of broader complementarity between the measures.

This action plan seeks to achieve this end.

Consolidated initiatives

The Québec government’s existing initiatives can be consolidated in the realms of education, health and social services, justice, public security, off-reserve housing or employment. The approaches can be reviewed, resources can be reallocated and funding bolstered. In this spirit, the Québec government intends, in particular, to:

  • pursue the fight against elder abuse in Aboriginal communities;
  • reorganize its initiatives by means of a comprehensive, concerted strategy to promote the employment integration of the Inuit and the First Nations;
  • enhance measures devoted to off-reserve Aboriginal housing;
  • enhance the assistance already granted to the Kitcisakik Anicinapek community for home renovation;
  • improve the financial conditions of tenants of low-cost housing in Nunavik;
  • establish services adapted to the circumstances of Aboriginal students in the Québec education system;
  • broaden access and the addiction service continuum for members of the First Nations and Inuit.

Complementary initiatives

The manner in which government intervention is contemplated in the Aboriginal communities must take into account a basic characteristic. In many cases, the Aboriginal peoples themselves offer services to the members of the First Nations and Inuit, either through organizations that are part of their governance structures or through Aboriginal community organizations. Whether they depend on a band council or province-wide body or are part of civil society, the Aboriginal organizations are essential interveners, often the best suited to offering the most appropriate measures.

The federal government is the largest funder of service structures that report to the band councils. While the Québec government is also participating in this effort, especially through recurrent funding for Aboriginal police departments, it is also supporting numerous community organizations, which, off the reserves, offer varied services to the Inuit and the members of the First Nations. The Québec State simultaneously accommodates in its networks, for example health, social services or education, a substantial Aboriginal clientele.

It is, therefore, apparent that constant cooperation must be established between the different interveners. First, the aim is to maximize the efficiency of the resources invested by coordinating the measures and avoiding duplications. Second, it is important to further bolster the collaboration that is essential to create service corridors. The coordination of the initiatives of various interveners must lead, for Aboriginal users, to coherent, continuous service delivery.

Of course, a smooth service continuum must, above all, be achieved between different public networks and, consequently, within the networks. At the same time, different Québec government services and the services that Aboriginal organizations offer must be better linked. The linking must be achieved bearing in mind certain obstacles, such as the considerable mobility in Québec of the Aboriginal populations, language barriers, the jurisdictional responsibilities of different service providers, or the lack of resources of Aboriginal organizations.

In this perspective, this action plan puts forward measures that establish effective complementarity between the services that the Québec government offers and those that on-reserve and off-serve Aboriginal organizations offer. While the Québec government is promoting the management by the Aboriginal peoples of the means to ensure their well-being, it should be noted that it is not a question of establishing bodies parallel to the Québec networks. While it continues to encourage the establishment and development of Aboriginal service organizations, the Québec government wishes, above all, to harmonize its initiatives and those of the Aboriginal organizations.

For example, it is adopting the following measures:

  • establish collaborative forums in Québec municipalities in which significant numbers of Aboriginal peoples live in order to draw closer together the representatives of the Aboriginal organizations concerned and local interveners in the public networks;
  • implement the recommendations in the report of the committee on the administration of Bill 21, the Act to amend the Professional Code and other legislative provisions in the field of mental health and human relations, in the Aboriginal communities.

The first strategic priority of the action plan can be summarized schematically as follows:

Enhance services
Develop a diversified, effective, relevant, reassuring service offer from the standpoint of the
Aboriginal cultures
Consolidate existing services and promote, through the complementarity
 of the initiatives, the creation of service continuums

1 In the case of the Inuit, the measures will take into account the Saqijuq initiative, which seeks to combat the consumption of psychoactive substances and the over-judiciarisation that it engenders.

Return to strategic priorities

To the top

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of : November 2, 2017

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Orientations. Retour à la liste des axes d'intervention

Améliorer les services

Pour l’essentiel, l’État du Québec intervient en matière de développement social et culturel au moyen d’une prestation de services conçue en fonction de besoins déterminés. Des organismes publics et parapublics, souvent structurés en réseaux relevant de ministères, sont chargés d’administrer ces services, en s’assurant continuellement qu’ils répondent de manière judicieuse aux réalités variées du terrain. À cet égard, le Plan d’action poursuit deux grands objectifs.

Il s’agit, premièrement, d’enrichir l’offre de services du Gouvernement du Québec à l’endroit des Autochtones, de manière à la rendre plus complète et plus accessible, cela en tenant compte des particularités de chacune des missions des ministères et organismes concernés, d’une part, et de façon cohérente avec les responsabilités qui incombent au gouvernement fédéral, d’autre part. Que ce soit notamment en matière de santé, de services sociaux, d’éducation, de justice, de sécurité publique, d’emploi ou de culture, le Gouvernement du Québec veut offrir des programmes et des services plus efficaces et mieux adaptés aux réalités énoncées par les Premières Nations et les Inuits eux-mêmes.

Deuxièmement, le gouvernement veut consolider les services existants. Il s’agit ici non seulement de mieux intervenir dans des domaines qui font déjà l’objet de mesures gouvernementales, mais aussi de créer des complémentarités entre les réseaux de l’État du Québec et les diverses organisations autochtones qui, sur ou hors réserve, assurent elles-mêmes de nombreux services dans les mêmes domaines ou dans des domaines connexes.

Mettre en place de nouveaux services

Comme le montrent de nombreux indicateurs, les conditions de vie propres aux Autochtones du Québec sont généralement en deçà de celles dont bénéficie la population générale. Les collectivités autochtones sont souvent marquées par une prévalence de problèmes psychosociaux et socioéconomiques majeurs, lesquels sont observées chez les Inuits et les Premières Nations comme dans nul autre groupe au sein de la société québécoise. Comme le soulignait en 2015 le premier ministre du Québec, M. Philippe Couillard, ces conditions de vie « ne sont pas à la hauteur d’un pays de la prospérité, de la taille et de la richesse du Canada ».

Un large spectre d’intervention

En conséquence, l’intervention du Gouvernement du Québec doit couvrir un éventail très étendu de besoins. Ces dernières années, plusieurs ministères et organismes ont donc tenu, auprès des Premières Nations et des Inuits, des consultations dans de nombreux domaines, de manière à bien déterminer les besoins et à cibler adéquatement les actions en développement :

  • Pauvreté et exclusion sociale
  • Exploitation sexuelle
  • Agressions sexuelles
  • Violence conjugale et familiale
  • Maltraitance envers les aînés
  • Homophobie et transphobie
  • Réussite éducative
  • Égalité entre les femmes et les hommes
  • Politique culturelle
  • Racisme et discrimination
  • Intimidation
  • Jeunesse
  • Dépendances
  • Prévention en santé
  • Itinérance

Les mesures mises de l’avant dans le présent plan d’action prennent directement appui sur ces consultations. Elles matérialisent la volonté du Gouvernement du Québec de mettre à la disposition des Autochtones des services et des programmes qui répondent à leurs réalités et à leurs besoins immédiats, dans l’ensemble des secteurs où il lui est possible d’intervenir.

Précisons toutefois que, dans un premier temps, ces mesures ne couvrent pas l’ensemble des sujets ayant fait l’objet des consultations.

En effet, des travaux sont toujours en cours au sein de certains ministères et organismes, dans le but d’élaborer des mesures qui soient en adéquation avec les nécessités exprimées par les représentants des Premières Nations et de la nation inuite. Par exemple, les mesures qui correspondent au domaine de la prévention en santé chez les Autochtones (lequel englobe notamment la question de la prévention du suicide) seront ajoutées au présent plan d’action lorsqu’elles seront déterminées (2017-2018).

Par ailleurs, d’autres sujets prioritaires font actuellement l’objet de plans d’action sectoriels toujours en vigueur et qui, tout en étant conçus pour la population générale, comportent des mesures consacrées aux Autochtones. Ces mesures seront incorporées au présent plan d’action au moment du renouvellement des plans d’action auxquels elles appartiennent en ce moment : itinérance (2020), violence conjugale et familiale (2018), santé mentale (2020) et intimidation (2018).

Le Gouvernement du Québec entend donc déployer une intervention qui sera la plus exhaustive possible. Des actions diversifiées se mettent en branle dès maintenant, entre autres les suivantes :

  • Des initiatives concrètes visant la réussite éducative et la persévérance scolaire des étudiants autochtones sont mises en œuvre, et des ressources sont consacrées afin de soutenir les parents et l’élève dans le cheminement à l’école;
  • Des mesures et des programmes sont implantés dans le but de mieux accompagner la clientèle autochtone au sein du système de justice québécois;
  • Des ressources sont investies en matière de soutien et d'accompagnement des personnes autochtones en établissement de détention, en vue de favoriser la prise en charge de leurs difficultés;
  • Des moyens sont consentis pour faciliter le développement des services de sages-femmes dans les communautés non conventionnées;
  • Des initiatives structurantes sont mises en place dans le but de soutenir les femmes, en particulier afin d’appuyer les groupes de femmes, de contrer les violences sexuelles, de promouvoir des rapports égalitaires et de combattre les inégalités entre les femmes et les hommes;
  • Des outils sont conçus en matière de protection de la jeunesse afin de réduire les difficultés rencontrées par les enfants autochtones et leur famille et de favoriser l’implication des communautés autochtones et des familles d’accueil dans la prestation de services;
  • Des moyens sont déployés afin de lutter contre le phénomène des dépendances et de la violence, et de favoriser la mobilisation des milieux contre ces enjeux1.

Une intervention pertinente et sécurisante du point de vue des cultures autochtones

Si l’offre de services gouvernementale doit être la plus complète et la plus diversifiée possible, il est tout aussi fondamental qu’elle soit culturellement pertinente et sécurisante. Même doté de ressources importantes, un programme ou un service est généralement inefficace s’il n’est pas adapté aux réalités de la clientèle visée ou si celle-ci, ne se jugeant pas comprise ou la bienvenue, décide de ne pas s’en prémunir.

Les interventions du présent plan d’action sont, dès lors, élaborées dans une logique de pertinence et de sécurisation culturelle et elles seront implantées en fonction de cette même logique. Il s’agit alors, pour le prestataire de services, de tenir compte des antécédents ainsi que des expériences culturelles de la personne autochtone et d’acquérir les compétences appropriées pour la servir. Des initiatives sont prises à cet effet, notamment les suivantes :

  • Mettre en place des stratégies de sécurisation culturelle au sein du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux;
  • Fournir au personnel de l’État des secteurs public et parapublic des séances de sensibilisation sur les réalités historiques, culturelles et sociologiques des Autochtones, de même que des formations sur le concept de pertinence et de sécurisation culturelle;
  • Former et sensibiliser les membres des forces de l’ordre (Sûreté du Québec et corps policiers municipaux), de même que les intervenants du domaine sociojudiciaire, aux particularités et aux différences de la clientèle autochtone;
  • Adapter aux réalités des Premières Nations et des Inuits les outils d’information et de sensibilisation élaborés dans le contexte de la lutte contre les dépendances;
  • Assurer la mise sur pied d’interventions adaptées, visant à offrir des services culturellement sécurisants et pertinents aux personnes autochtones victimes d’actes criminels;
  • Convenir d’ententes établissant un régime particulier de protection de la jeunesse pour les Autochtones.

Bonifier l’offre de services existantes

Depuis plusieurs années, le Gouvernement du Québec met à la disposition des membres des Premières Nations et de la nation inuite une offre de services importante. Celle-ci doit être renforcée, à la fois par une amélioration des interventions existantes et par l’établissement de meilleures complémentarités entre celles-ci.

Le présent plan d’action se veut aussi l’occasion d’un tel exercice.

Des interventions consolidées

En matière d’éducation, de santé et de services sociaux, de justice, de sécurité publique, de logement hors réserve ou d’emploi, l’action existante du Gouvernement du Québec peut être consolidée. Les manières de faire peuvent être revisitées, les ressources redéployées et les financements solidifiés. Dans cet esprit, le Gouvernement du Québec entend notamment :

  • poursuivre la lutte contre la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées en milieu autochtone;
  • réorganiser ses interventions par l’entremise d’une stratégie exhaustive et concertée en faveur de l’intégration professionnelle des Inuits et des Premières Nations;
  • bonifier les efforts en matière de logement autochtone hors réserve;
  • bonifier l’aide déjà consentie aux Anicinapek de Kitcisakik en matière de rénovation domiciliaire;
  • améliorer les conditions financières des locataires des logements à loyer modique au Nunavik;
  • mettre en place des services adaptés aux réalités des élèves et étudiants autochtones au sein du réseau québécois de l’éducation;
  • améliorer l’accès et le continuum de services en dépendances pour les membres des Premières Nations et les Inuits.

Des interventions complémentaires

En milieu autochtone, la façon d’envisager l’action de l’État doit tenir compte d’une particularité fondamentale. Dans bien des cas, les services offerts aux membres des Premières Nations et aux Inuits le sont par les Autochtones eux-mêmes, soit  par l’entremise d’organismes qui relèvent de leurs propres structures de gouvernance, soit par l’intermédiaire d’organismes communautaires autochtones. Qu’ils dépendent d’un conseil de bande ou d’une instance nationale ou qu’ils appartiennent à la société civile, les organismes autochtones sont des acteurs incontournables, souvent les mieux à même d’offrir les interventions les plus appropriées.

Le gouvernement fédéral est le principal bailleur de fonds des structures de services qui relèvent des conseils de bande. Si le Gouvernement du Québec participe lui aussi à cet effort, notamment par un financement récurrent consacré aux services de police autochtones, il soutient, en même temps, de nombreux organismes communautaires qui, à l’extérieur des réserves, offrent des services variés aux Inuits et aux membres des Premières Nations. De façon simultanée, l’État québécois accueille aussi dans ses réseaux, par exemple en santé, en services sociaux ou en éducation, une clientèle autochtone considérable.

On conçoit, dès lors, qu’une coopération constante doit s’établir entre ces différents acteurs. Il s’agit, dans un premier temps, de maximiser l’efficience des ressources investies en synchronisant les efforts et en évitant les dédoublements. Dans un second temps, il importe de poursuivre le renforcement des collaborations indispensables à la création de corridors de services. La correspondance des interventions des divers acteurs doit mener, pour le demandeur autochtone, à une prestation de services cohérente et continue.

Certes, un continuum de services fluide doit avant tout s’observer entre les différents réseaux publics et, partant, au sein même de ceux-ci. En même temps, un meilleur arrimage doit s’établir entre, d’une part, les différents services assurés par l’État québécois et, d’autre part, ceux qui sont offerts par les organisations autochtones. Cet arrimage doit se faire en tenant compte de certains obstacles, comme la grande mobilité sur le territoire des populations autochtones, la barrière des langues, les responsabilités juridictionnelles des différents prestataires de services ou le manque de moyens des organismes autochtones.

Dans cette perspective, le présent plan d’action met de l’avant des mesures qui permettent d’établir des complémentarités effectives entre les services que le Gouvernement du Québec assure lui-même et ceux qu’offrent les organismes autochtones situés sur les réserves ou à l’extérieur de celles-ci. Bien que le Gouvernement du Québec favorise la prise en charge par les Autochtones des leviers de leur propre bien-être, soulignons qu’il ne s’agit pas ici de créer des instances parallèles aux réseaux québécois. Tout en continuant à encourager la création et le développement d’organismes de services autochtones, le Gouvernement du Québec souhaite avant tout harmoniser ses interventions avec les leurs.

Il pose par exemple les actions suivantes :

  • Créer des lieux de concertation dans les municipalités du Québec où réside une population appréciable d’Autochtones, de manière à rapprocher les représentants des organisations autochtones concernées et les intervenants locaux des réseaux publics;
  • Mettre en œuvre les recommandations du rapport du Comité sur l’application du projet de loi no 21 : Loi modifiant le Code des professions et d’autres dispositions législatives dans le domaine de la santé mentale et des relations humaines, au sein des communautés autochtones.

Schématiquement, le premier axe d’intervention du présent plan d’action se résume ainsi :

AmÉliorer les services
Mettre en place une offre de services diversifiée et efficace, pertinente et sécurisante du point de vue des
cultures autochtones
Consolider les services existants et favoriser, par la complémentarité
 des interventions, la création de continuums de services

1 Dans le cas des Inuits, ces actions tiendront compte de l’initiative Saqijuq, qui vise à lutter contre la consommation de substances psychoactives et contre la surjudiciarisation qu’elle entraîne.

Retour à la liste des axes d'intervention

Haut de page

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 2 novembre 2017