Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Support for consultation

The support for consultation component of the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund II (AIF II), with a total budget of $20 million over five years, provides funding for Aboriginal nations or communities that are planning to participate in the consultation processes initiated by the Gouvernement du Québec. The objective of this budget is to facilitate the application of the constitutional obligation incumbent upon the Gouvernement du Québec in this field.

A. General terms

In order to have access to this budget, an Aboriginal nation or community must have been solicited by a government department, a government agency or a government corporation to have the nation or community take part in a consultation process as outlined in the Interim Guide for Consulting the Aboriginal Communities (Interim Guide). Aboriginal nations or communities that present projects of a structuring nature facilitating their participation in consultations initiated by the Gouvernement du Québec, pursuant to the Interim Guide, will also have access to this component of the program.

B. Eligible organizations

  1. Aboriginal nations and communities that are recognized by the Québec National Assembly;
  2. Organizations mandated by one or more Aboriginal nations or communities to take part in consultations.

C. Eligible projects

Consultation Office

  1. Set-up and operation of consultation offices that allow a nation or community to participate in consultation processes initiated by the Gouvernement du Québec under the Interim Guide;
  2. Other activities by Aboriginal nations and communities that allow them to achieve the goals sought by the consultation processes initiated by the Gouvernement du Québec;
  3. Participation in certain consultation activities among partners, prior to consultation processes.

Strategic Initiatives

  1. Projects of a structuring nature related to consultations may also be eligible for this component of the program. These projects should, notably, facilitate consultation work between the Gouvernement du Québec and Aboriginal nations or communities or contribute to developing a nation’s or community’s capacity to participate in consultations. These projects will be subject to separate agreements.

D. Eligible expenses

The eligible expenses include:

  1. Operating expenses of consultation offices;
  2. Consulting fees not exceeding current rates regulated by the Gouvernement du Québec;
  3. Travel expenses not exceeding current rates regulated by the Gouvernement du Québec;
  4. Expenses incurred to attend meetings or assemblies;
  5. Expenses related to the production, preparation, drafting or translation of documents;
  6. All other reasonable related expenses that can be linked to the eligible projects.

E. Determining of the financial assistance

The maximum amount of financial assistance granted, in the form of non-refundable contribution, will be determined by taking into account the sectoral opinions from the departments working in the consultation process as well as comparable agreements. The needs related to the consultation office’s activities as well as the volume of anticipated consultation work will be the key elements taken into consideration during this assessment.
The maximum financial assistance may reach 100% of the costs of eligible consultation activities.

F. Conditions of payment and reporting

All authorized projects will be the subject of a funding agreement between the eligible organization and the Gouvernement du Québec. The agreement will define the consultation activities, conditions for the payment of financial assistance and commitments of the parties. Moreover, this agreement will provide for a reporting process

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of: November 2, 2012

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Soutien à la consultation

Le Fonds d’initiatives autochtones II (FIA II), volet soutien à la consultation, prévoit le financement de la participation des nations ou des communautés autochtones aux processus de consultation initiés par le gouvernement du Québec, à la hauteur de 20 millions de dollars sur cinq ans. Cette enveloppe a pour objectif de faciliter la mise en application de l’obligation constitutionnelle, qui incombe au gouvernement du Québec, de consulter les communautés autochtones.

A. Conditions générales

Afin d’avoir accès à cette enveloppe, une nation ou une communauté autochtone doit avoir été sollicitée par un ministère, un organisme gouvernemental ou une société d’État, pour participer à un processus de consultation au sens du Guide intérimaire en matière de consultation des communautés autochtones (Guide intérimaire). Les nations ou communautés autochtones qui présenteront un projet structurant facilitant leur participation aux consultations initiées par le gouvernement du Québec conformément au Guide intérimaire pourront également avoir accès à ce volet du programme.

B. Organismes admissibles

  1. Les communautés et les nations autochtones reconnues par l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.
  2. Les organismes mandatés par une ou plusieurs nations, ou communautés autochtones, pour agir dans le contexte des consultations.

C. Projets admissibles

Bureau de consultation

  1. La mise en place et le fonctionnement d’un bureau de consultation permettant à une nation ou une communauté autochtone de participer à l’ensemble des processus de consultation initiés par le gouvernement du Québec dans le cadre du Guide intérimaire.
  2. Les autres activités d’une nation ou d’une communauté autochtone qui permettent d’atteindre les objectifs recherchés par les processus de consultation initiés par le gouvernement du Québec.
  3. La participation à certaines activités de concertation avec des partenaires en amont des processus de consultation.

Initiatives stratégiques

  1. Des projets spécifiques à caractère structurant en matière de consultation pourront aussi être admissibles à ce volet du programme. Ces projets devront notamment permettre de faciliter le travail de consultation entre le gouvernement du Québec et les nations ou communautés autochtones ou contribuer au développement des capacités d’une nation ou communauté en matière de consultation. Ces projets feront l’objet d’ententes distinctes.

D. Coûts admissibles

Les coûts admissibles comprennent :

  1. les frais d’exploitation d’un bureau de consultation;
  2. les honoraires versés à des experts, jusqu’à concurrence des tarifs réglementaires en vigueur au gouvernement du Québec;
  3. les frais de déplacement, jusqu’à concurrence des tarifs en vigueur au gouvernement du Québec;
  4. les frais engagés pour participer à des rencontres ou à des assemblées;
  5. les frais de production, de préparation, de rédaction ou de traduction de documents;
  6. tous les autres frais connexes raisonnables pouvant être liés aux projets admissibles.

E. Détermination de l'aide financière

Le montant maximal de l’aide financière accordée, sous forme de contribution non remboursable, sera déterminé en tenant compte des avis sectoriels des ministères œuvrant dans le contexte de la consultation ainsi que des ententes comparables. Les besoins liés aux activités du bureau de consultation ainsi que le volume de consultation anticipé seront les principaux éléments considérés lors de cette évaluation.
L’aide financière maximale peut atteindre 100 % des coûts des activités de consultation admissibles.

F. Modalités de versement et de reddition de comptes

Tous les projets autorisés feront l’objet d’une entente de financement entre l’organisme admissible et le gouvernement du Québec. Cette entente définira les activités de consultation, les conditions de versement de l’aide et les engagements des parties. Elle prévoira en outre un processus de reddition de comptes.


Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 2 novembre 2012