Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Programs and services > Aboriginal Initiatives Fund (AIF) > General application framework of the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund

General application framework of the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund

The main objective of the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund (AIF) is to support those projects that may have major spin-offs on the development of Québec’s Aboriginal communities.

The AIF is made up of several different budgets, the management of which has been entrusted to the Minister for Native Affairs. The AIF complements and completes the other government assistance mechanisms, both at the Québec and federal levels, according to the needs and priorities expressed by each nation or community. However, the Fund is not used to finance those projects that would interfere with existing responsibilities, programs or services, or that would overlap them.

The role of the Government of Québec must be clearly seen as complementing that of the other government stakeholders in order to enable the Aboriginal peoples to give tangible form to their projects. From this vantage point, in order for projects to be approved by the Minister for Native Affairs, an important part of their funding must be assumed by the nation, the community, the federal government or any other partner.

The AIF may not be used to fund just any project. In principle, the regular programs of the departments and agencies of the Government of Québec apply to all citizens, including the Aboriginal peoples. Projects must therefore be funded on a priority basis by the existing programs of the federal government as well as those of Québec departments and agencies from their respective budgetary appropriations. The AIF is only used to fund those projects that no other program can cover and, as the case may be, those projects requiring additional financial assistance not available under existing programs.

The AIF may not be used to reimburse operating expenses or to cover the deficit of an organization or a business; nor may it be used to pay off an accumulated debt. Eligible expenses are limited to the expenses defined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. To be eligible, an expense must be incurred after the date on which the application for financial assistance is submitted. In order to meet the needs and priorities of each Aboriginal nation, community or organization, the AIF may, in certain explicitly stipulated cases, broaden its funding in a limited and temporary manner and apply this funding to operating expenses. Finally, a grant may not be used to replenish the working capital of a business.

A project may not go against established government policies, statutes and regulations and may not have a significant negative effect on Aboriginal or non-Aboriginal businesses active in an identical or related activity sector.

The AIF is a veritable development “toolbox” intended for the Aboriginal peoples of Québec. In order to ensure the effectiveness of this fund, a parity committee, made up of the SAA and Aboriginal representatives, will be created. The committee will see notably to the follow-up on the objectives to be achieved and, if necessary, will make recommendations concerning the achievement of result targets.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update : January 18, 2007

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Programmes et services > Fonds d’initiatives autochtones (FIA) > Cadre général d’application du Fonds d’initiatives autochtones

Cadre général d’application du Fonds d’initiatives autochtones

L’objectif principal du Fonds d’initiatives autochtones (FIA) est de soutenir les projets pouvant avoir d’importantes retombées sur le développement des communautés autochtones du Québec.

Le FIA est constitué de plusieurs enveloppes distinctes d’engagements dont la gestion relève du ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones. Il intervient en complément et complète ainsi les autres mécanismes d’aide gouvernementale, tant québécoise que fédérale, selon les besoins et les priorités exprimés par chaque nation ou communauté. Le Fonds ne sert cependant pas à financer les projets qui interféreraient avec des responsabilités, des programmes ou des services existants, ou qui les doubleraient.

Le rôle du gouvernement du Québec doit être clairement perçu comme complémentaire du rôle des autres intervenants gouvernementaux, de façon à permettre aux Autochtones de concrétiser leurs projets. Dans cette perspective, pour que des projets soient agréés par le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, il faut qu’une part importante du financement soit assumée par la nation, la communauté, le gouvernement fédéral ou tout autre partenaire.

Le FIA ne peut servir à financer n’importe quel projet. En principe, les programmes réguliers des ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec s'appliquent à tous les citoyens, y compris aux Autochtones. Les projets doivent donc être financés en priorité par les programmes du gouvernement fédéral existants ainsi que par ceux des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux québécois actuels, et ce, à même leur enveloppe budgétaire. Le FIA ne sert qu’à financer les projets qu’aucun autre programme ne peut subventionner et, le cas échéant, les projets qui nécessitent une aide financière additionnelle à ce que peuvent offrir les programmes actuels.

Le FIA ne peut servir à rembourser les dépenses de fonctionnement ou le déficit d’un organisme ou d’une entreprise, ni à rembourser une dette accumulée. Les dépenses admissibles sont limitées aux immobilisations définies selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus. Pour être recevable, une dépense doit être engagée après la date du dépôt de la demande d’aide financière. Afin de répondre aux besoins et aux priorités de chaque nation, communauté ou organisme autochtone, le FIA peut, dans certains cas explicitement prévus, élargir son financement de façon ponctuelle et temporaire et l’appliquer à des dépenses de fonctionnement. Enfin, une subvention ne peut servir à renflouer le fonds de roulement d’une entreprise.

Un projet ne peut aller à l’encontre des politiques gouvernementales établies, lois et règlements et ne peut avoir d'effet négatif notable sur les entreprises autochtones ou non autochtones œuvrant dans un secteur d'activité identique ou connexe.

Le FIA s’avère une véritable « boîte à outils » du développement à l’intention des Autochtones du Québec. Afin de s’assurer de l’efficacité de ce fonds, un comité paritaire, composé du SAA et de représentants autochtones, sera créé. Le comité verra notamment au suivi des objectifs à atteindre et, au besoin, fera des recommandations quant à l’atteinte des cibles de résultats.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 18 janvier 2007