Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Programs and services > Aboriginal Initiatives Fund II (AIF II) > General application framework of the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund II

General application framework of the Aboriginal Initiatives Fund II

The Aboriginal Initiatives Fund II (AIF II) is made up of five different budgets, the management of which has been entrusted to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs: economic development, loan guarantees, community infrastructure, community action and consultation.

The main objective of the AIF II is to support Aboriginal social, economic and community development. To this end, the AIF II will provide financial support to promising projects with potential for major spin-offs and growth generation.

  • Funding from the AIF II is complementary to other sources of provincial or federal government support. The role of the AIF II must be clearly understood as being complementary to the role of other government stakeholders, to allow Aboriginals to materialize their projects. The AIF II will not fund projects that would interfere with or duplicate existing responsibilities, programs or services.
  • Projects submitted under the framework of the AIF II must be funded on a priority basis by the existing programs of the federal government as well as those of Gouvernement du Québec departments and agencies.
  • The AIF II may be used only to fund those projects that no other program can fund and, as the case may be, those projects requiring additional financial assistance not available under existing programs.

In this context, in order for the funding to be authorized within the framework of the AIF II, generally speaking, an important part of the funding must be assumed by the community, proponent, federal government or any other partner. The proponent must demonstrate its financial need and provide the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones—and relevant Aboriginal authorities, if applicable—with a business plan including, among other things, the following information:

  • The issue explaining and justifying the financial need and the relevance of resorting to the funding budget;
  • The place where the project will be carried out;
  • The breakdown of the costs and funding of the project, including an itemized list of the other anticipated sources of funding;
  • The advantages associated with the project;
  • The steps taken to support the project, and a demonstration of how the assistance being sought is needed in order to carry out the project;
  • A three-year budget forecast.

Lastly, to be eligible for AIF II funding, an expense must be incurred after the date on which the application for financial assistance is submitted. No project will be approved by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs until such time as the financing plan has been completed, including, where such is the case, the financial participation of the federal government.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Online as of: November 2, 2012

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Programmes et services > Fonds d’initiatives autochtones II (FIA II) > Cadre général d’application du Fonds d’initiatives autochtones II

Cadre général d’application du Fonds d’initiatives autochtones II

Le Fonds d’initiatives autochtones II (FIA II) est constitué de cinq enveloppes distinctes dont la gestion relève de la ministre déléguée aux Affaires autochtones : développement économique, garantie de prêt, infrastructure communautaire, action communautaire et consultation.

L’objectif général du FIA II est de soutenir les Autochtones dans leur développement économique, social et communautaire. À cette fin, le FIA II permettra de soutenir financièrement des projets prometteurs qui offrent des possibilités de retombées importantes et structurantes.

  • Le financement du FIA II intervient en complément des autres sources d’aide gouvernementale provinciale ou fédérale. Le rôle du FIA II doit être clairement compris comme étant complémentaire au rôle des autres intervenants gouvernementaux, de façon à permettre aux Autochtones de concrétiser leurs projets. Le FIA II ne financera pas de projets qui interféreraient avec des responsabilités, des programmes ou des services existants, ou qui les doubleraient.
  • Les projets soumis dans le cadre du FIA II doivent être financés en priorité par les programmes existants du gouvernement fédéral et par ceux des ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec.
  • Le FIA II pourra seulement servir au financement de projets qu’aucun autre programme ne peut financer et, le cas échéant, pour des projets qui nécessitent une aide financière additionnelle à ce que peuvent offrir les programmes existants.

Dans ce contexte, pour que le financement soit autorisé dans le cadre du FIA II, il faut, de façon générale, qu’une part importante du financement soit assumée notamment par la communauté, le promoteur, le gouvernement fédéral ou tout autre partenaire. Le promoteur doit faire la démonstration des besoins financiers et fournir au Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones – et aux autorités autochtones concernées, le cas échéant – un plan d’affaires présentant, entre autres, les renseignements suivants :

  • la problématique expliquant et justifiant les besoins financiers et la pertinence d’un recours à l’enveloppe de financement;
  • le lieu de réalisation du projet;
  • la ventilation des coûts et du financement du projet, incluant le détail des autres sources de financement prévues;
  • les avantages associés au projet;
  • les démarches effectuées pour soutenir le projet et la démonstration que l’aide demandée est nécessaire pour la réalisation du projet;
  • le budget de fonctionnement prévisionnel pour une période de trois ans.

Enfin, pour être recevable au financement du FIA II, une dépense doit être engagée après la date du dépôt de la demande d’aide financière. Aucun projet ne sera agréé par la ministre déléguée aux Affaires autochtones tant que le plan de financement ne sera pas complété, incluant, le cas échéant, la participation financière du gouvernement fédéral.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise en ligne : 2 novembre 2012