Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT CONCERNING THE KATIVIK REGION

THE MINISTER FOR NATIVE AFFAIRS,
For and on behalf of the Gouvernement du Québec,
hereinafter the "Government",

AND

THE KATIVIK REGIONAL GOVERNMENT, acting through and represented by Johnny N. Adams, Chairman of the Executive Committee,
hereinafter the "KRG",


acknowledge that it is desirable to conclude a framework agreement concerning the Kativik region which comprises the following four sections:

  • Section 1: Home ownership and social housing;
  • Section 2: Municipal infrastructures;
  • Section 3: Resource envelope for the development of Inuit communities;
  • Section 4: KRG block funding.

Section 1: Home ownership and social housing

The parties undertake to:

  • develop a new housing framework for the territory of the Kativik region which will promote home ownership and improve the management of social housing;
  • implement this new framework through specific agreements to be reached no later than December 31, 1998.

These commitments are based on the following premises:

The Government agrees that the terms and conditions of the home ownership and social housing improvement objectives be set down in three separate agreements: one concerning home ownership, one concerning the sale of social housing units, and one concerning the management of social housing.

With respect to a home ownership program, the Government undertakes to:

  • apply the terms and conditions of the draft agreement prepared by the KRG and forwarded to the Société d'habitation du Québec on October 8, and approved in principle on the same date;
  • allow individuals who built homes under the 1995 and 1997 pilot projects to elect to be governed by the standards and rules of the home ownership program;

  • allow program clients who have begun home renovations in 1998 to be qualify retroactively for the home ownership program.

With respect to the sale of social housing units, the Government approves the principle and agrees that housing units should be sold to potential purchasers at very low prices. Furthermore, the Government affirms that, with the Société d'habitation du Québec, it is willing to begin negociation as soon as possible with the Government of Canada and the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation concerning the sale of social housing units.

With respect to the management of social housing, the Government undertakes to:

  • recognize and encourage the creation of a social housing management structure which reflects the context of the region and which targets efficiency and improvement of social housing conditions;
  • take steps to ensure that the new management structure may be easily attached to a regional organization;
  • reinvest in social housing development all funds collected through the payment of rent arrears;
  • reinvest in social housing development the funds obtained through the sale of social housing units;
  • invest in social housing development funds equal to those collected through the payment of rent arrears.

For its part, the KRG agrees to temporarily manage programs which evolve out of the new housing framework for the territory of the Kativik region until a final agreement is reached. The aim in doing so is to help resolve the current housing crisis and to improve the living conditions of residents in the Kativik region.

The parties acknowledge that these joint actions in the area of housing are in no way connected with the spirit of the unified housing system described in paragraph 29.0.40 of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreementand that they shall in no way limit the rights of the Inuit guaranteed under the Agreement.

The parties undertake to set up, as soon as possible, a committee responsible for implementing the home ownership program and for preparing a draft special agreement concerning the sale of social housing units as well as a draft special agreement concerning the creation of an improved social housing management structure. The committee will also be asked to determine, based on this framework agreement, the terms and conditions for transferring program administration and management responsibilities in order to ensure a smooth transition and greater respect for the regional context.

Section 2: Municipal infrastructures

The parties undertake to develop a financial assistance program for the construction and improvement of municipal infrastructures in the North, which shall come into force no later than April 1, 1999, and to entrust the KRG with full responsibility for its management.

This commitment is based on the following premises:

The Government shall develop, jointly with KRG representatives, a financial assistance program for the construction and improvement of municipal infrastructures and equipment in the North. Costs related primarily to the following elements will be eligible for financial assistance under the program:

  • drinking water supply systems;
  • wastewater treatment systems;
  • solid waste disposal;
  • replacement and purchase of equipment and vehicles used for road work, solid waste and wastewater collection, as well as drinking water distribution;
  • road improvements.

The KRG agrees to manage the financial assistance program and to provide the Government with an annual report of its management. For these purposes, the KRG Council will be free to allocate the funds to the various projects submitted by the Northern villages.

The Government undertakes, subject to approval of budget planning for the 1999-2000 fiscal year, to provide a $45 million resource envelope over five years for the program. To this will be added any surplus from the Northern Municipal Infrastructure Improvement Program (from order-in-council 448-85 adopted on March 13, 1985).

The Government undertakes to pay a sum the KRG, from the program's resource envelope, for administrative expenses. The sum in question shall represent no more than 8% of the total resource envelope.

The parties undertake to set up, as soon as possible, an implementation committee to be responsible, first, for determining all the terms and conditions for transferring management responsibilities for the program, based on this framework agreement, in order to ensure a smooth transition as well as greater respect for the regional context and project priorities, and second, for drawing up a draft special agreement.

Section 3: Resource envelope for the development of Inuit communities

The Government undertakes to provide a resource envelope for the Inuit, for the purposes of stimulating economic development in the Kativik region, creating jobs for the Inuit and supporting the improvement and construction of community infrastructures other than those described in Section 2.

The parties undertake to sign an implementation agreement concerning this resource envelope no later than December 31, 1998.

These commitments are based on the following premises:

The Government's Aboriginal policy guidelines, which are set out in the document Partnership, Development, Achievement,affirm the Government's willingness to work with Aboriginal people and other partners in order to increase economic development opportunities by promoting job creation and reducing the obstacles that prevent Aboriginal peoples from achieving greater economic self-sufficiency.

The Government policy provides for the creation of a type of financial assistance to be paid to Aboriginal communities, in particular the Inuit.

The Government undertakes to provide a resource envelope of around $25 million over five years, to be used for economic development and the financing of capital construction projects proposed by partners in the Kativik region and accepted by the Government.

Such funds shall not reduce the financial assistance paid by the Government of Canada, in particular, to fulfil its fiduciary duty with respect to the Inuit.

The resource envelope of around $25 million shall not have the effect of allowing Government departments or agencies to withdraw a project from their regular planning. The resource envelope may, however, be used to complement the programs of Government departments and agencies. A sector-based project involving a Government department or agency may not be financed through the resource envelope without the KRG's approval.

Furthermore, the Government agrees that the recreation centre project carried out in the Northern Village of Inukjuak may be eligible for financial assistance under the resource envelope, subject to agreement by all parties and approval by the council of the Northern Village of Inukjuak.

The KRG agrees to promote this new source of financial assistance among the Northern villages and agrees to manage the resource envelope according to the terms and conditions to be determined in a special agreement.

Finally, the parties undertake to set up, as soon as possible, an implementation committee to be responsible for drawing up a draft special agreement setting out the terms and conditions of planning, management and joint actions as well as the general obligations of the parties.

Section 4: KRG block funding

The KRG's primary activities include the management of programs for the residents of the Kativik region. In order to meet its obligations, the KRG receives funding through 20 or so agreements signed with several Québec Government departments and agencies.

The Government acknowledges that the management of public funds paid to the KRG could be simplified and made more efficient, and it agrees to review its funding method. The parties agree that funds paid by the various Government departments and agencies through their different programs should be consolidated into a single resource envelope, block funding.

Consequently, the parties agree to create a task force that will be responsible for preparing a project, before April 1, 1999, aimed at introducing a single government window for the provision of financial support to the KRG. As well as consolidating Government funding, the agreement shall establish the objectives of the sector-based departments concerned, the obligations of the parties and the terms and conditions for implementing this new administrative framework.
 

Signed at Québec, on October 21, 1998

____________________________
Guy Chevrette
Minister for Native Affairs
  ____________________________
Johnny N. Adams
Chairman, Executive Committee,
Kativik Regional Government

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE-CADRE CONCERNANT LA RÉGION KATIVIK

LE MINISTRE DÉLÉGUÉ AUX AFFAIRES AUTOCHTONES,
Pour et au nom du gouvernement du Québec,

ci-après désigné le « Gouvernement »

ET

L’ADMINISTRATION RÉGIONALE KATIVIK, agissant aux présentes et représentée par monsieur Johnny N. Adams, Président du comité administratif,

ci-après désignée « l’ARK »,

conviennent de l’opportunité de conclure une entente-cadre relative à la région Kativik comprenant les quatre volets suivants :

  • Volet 1 : Accession à la propriété privée et habitation sociale;

  • Volet 2 : Infrastructures municipales;

  • Volet 3 : Enveloppe de financement pour le développement des communautés inuites;

  • Volet 4 : « Block Funding » de l’ARK;

    Volet 1 : Accession à la propriété privée et habitation sociale

    Les parties conviennent :

    • d’élaborer une nouvelle approche à la gestion du logement sur le territoire de la région Kativik ayant pour principe de favoriser l’accession à la propriété privée et d’améliorer la gestion du logement social;

    • que cette nouvelle approche soit mise en œuvre par la conclusion d’ententes particulières au plus tard le 31 décembre 1998.


    Les engagements susmentionnés sont fondés sur les prémisses suivantes :

    Le Gouvernement s’engage à ce que les modalités entourant la réalisation des objectifs d’accession à la propriété privée et d’amélioration du logement social soient consacrées dans des ententes distinctes, une portant sur l’accession à la propriété privée, une autre sur l’acquisition d’unités de logement social et une dernière sur la gestion du logement social;

    En ce qui a trait à un programme d’accession à la propriété privée, le Gouvernement s’engage à :

    • mettre en œuvre les termes du projet d’entente élaboré par l’ARK, expédié à la Société d’habitation du Québec le 8 octobre dernier et accepté en principe à cette date;
    • rendre applicables les normes et règles du programme d’accession à la propriété privée aux propriétaires qui le souhaitent et qui ont construit leur résidence sous le régime des expériences pilotes de 1995 et 1997;
    • accepter que les clients du programme qui ont débuté des travaux de rénovation de leur résidence depuis le début de l’année 1998 puissent bénéficier rétroactivement des avantages du programme d’accession à la propriété.

    En ce qui a trait à l’acquisition d’unités de logement social, le Gouvernement se montre favorable au principe et s’engage à ce que l’achat d’unités de logement se fasse à de très faibles coûts pour les éventuels acquéreurs. De plus, le Gouvernement manifeste sa volonté et celle de la Société d’habitation du Québec d’entreprendre, le plus rapidement possible, des négociations avec le gouvernement du Canada et la Société canadienne d’hypothèque et de logements relativement à la vente d’unités de logement social;

    En ce qui a trait à la gestion du logement social, le Gouvernement s’engage à :

    • reconnaître et encourager la mise sur pied d’une structure de gestion du logement social propre à la réalité de la région et qui soit orientée vers l’efficience et l’amélioration effective des conditions du logement social;

    • faire en sorte que cette nouvelle structure puisse aisément être regroupée au sein d’un organisme de la région;

    • réinvestir entièrement dans le développement du logement social les sommes obtenues de la collecte des arrérages de loyers;
      réinvestir dans le développement du logement social les sommes obtenues de la vente d’unités de logement social;

    • ajouter, aux sommes provenant de la collecte des arrérages de loyers, des sommes équivalentes dans le développement du logement social;

    L’ARK accepte de gérer les programmes découlant d’une nouvelle approche concernant l’habitation sur le territoire de la région Kativik sur une base intérimaire jusqu’à ce qu’une entente définitive soit conclue. L’ARK vise uniquement par ces actions à aider à résoudre la crise du logement et à améliorer les conditions de vie des habitants de la région Kativik;

    Les parties reconnaissent que ces actions concertées en matière de logement ne s’inscrivent nullement dans l’esprit du système unifié d’habitation que l’on retrouve à l’alinéa 29.0.40 de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois et qu’elles ne peuvent aucunement restreindre les droits des Inuits garantis par cette Convention;

    Les parties s’engagent enfin à mettre sur pied dans les meilleurs délais un comité qui s’assurera de la mise en œuvre du programme d’accession à la propriété privée et de l’élaboration d’un projet d’entente particulière sur l’acquisition d’unités de logement social et d’un projet d’entente particulière sur la mise en place d’une structure chargée d’améliorer la gestion du logement social. Ce comité aura également pour mandat de déterminer, sur la base de la présente entente, toutes les modalités de transfert des responsabilités d’administration et de gestion des programmes, qui assureront une transition harmonieuse et une correspondance plus grande à la réalité nordique.

    Volet 2 : Infrastructures municipales

    Les parties conviennent de l’opportunité d’élaborer un programme d’aide financière destiné à la construction et l’amélioration d’infrastructures municipales situées en milieu nordique, de le mettre en vigueur d’ici le 1er avril 1999 et d’en confier l’entière gestion à l’ARK;

    L’engagement susmentionné est fondé sur les prémisses suivantes :

    Le Gouvernement élabore, en concertation avec des représentants de l’ARK, un programme d’aide financière destiné à la construction et l’amélioration d’infrastructures et d’équipements municipaux situés en milieu nordique. Les coûts reliés prioritairement aux éléments suivants seront admissibles à une aide financière en vertu de ce programme :

    • approvisionnement en eau potable;

    • traitement des eaux usées;
    • disposition des déchets solides;
    • remplacement et acquisition de machinerie et véhicules affectés aux divers travaux de voirie, à la collecte des déchets et des eaux usées de même qu’à la livraison d’eau potable;
    • amélioration des réseaux routiers;

    L’ARK accepte de gérer ce programme d’aide financière et de faire annuellement rapport au ministre des Affaires municipales de sa gestion. Pour ce faire, le conseil de l’ARK disposera de toute la latitude nécessaire à l’affectation des fonds aux divers projets soumis par les villages nordiques;

    Le Gouvernement s’engage, sujet à l’approbation de la programmation budgétaire pour l’exercice 1999-2000, à ce que le programme dispose d’une enveloppe de 45 M$ sur 5 ans à laquelle seront ajoutés les surplus du « Programme d’amélioration des infrastructures municipales en milieu nordique » (à partir du décret 448-85 adopté le 13 mars 1985);

    Le Gouvernement s’engage à verser à l’ARK, à titre de frais de gestion du programme, un montant représentant un maximum de 8 % de l’enveloppe totale du programme, montant pris à même cette enveloppe;

    Les parties s’engagent enfin à mettre sur pied dans les meilleurs délais un comité de mise en œuvre chargé, d’une part, de déterminer, sur la base de la présente entente, toutes les modalités de transfert des responsabilités de gestion du programme, qui assureront une transition harmonieuse et une correspondance plus grande à la réalité nordique, ainsi que les priorités d’intervention, et, d’autre part, d’élaborer un projet d’entente particulière.

    Volet 3 : Enveloppe de financement pour le développement des communautés inuites

    Le Gouvernement convient de rendre disponible une enveloppe de financement pour les Inuits ayant pour objectif de stimuler le développement économique de la région Kativik, de créer des emplois pour les Inuits et de soutenir l’amélioration de même que la construction d’infrastructures communautaires autres que celles prévues au Volet 2;

    Les parties conviennent également qu’une entente de mise en œuvre de cette enveloppe de financement devra être conclue au plus tard le 31 décembre 1998;

    Les engagements susmentionnés sont fondés sur les prémisses suivantes :

    Les orientations gouvernementales en matière de politique autochtone, contenues au document présenté par le Gouvernement et intitulé « Partenariat, Développement, Actions », confirment la volonté du gouvernement du Québec de travailler avec les autochtones et d’autres partenaires dans le but d’accroître leurs possibilités de développement économique en favorisant la création d’emplois et en réduisant les obstacles à une plus grande autosuffisance économique des autochtones;

    Ces orientations gouvernementales prévoient la création d’une forme d’aide financière à être versée aux communautés autochtones, notamment à la communauté inuite;

    Le Gouvernement confirme une enveloppe de l’ordre de 25 M$ disponible sur 5 ans et devant servir au développement économique et au financement de projets d’immobilisations proposés par les intervenants de la région Kativik et agréés par le Gouvernement;

    Les crédits ainsi alloués ne doivent pas avoir pour effet de diminuer l’aide financière du gouvernement du Canada découlant notamment de son obligation de fiduciaire à l’égard des Inuits;

    Cette enveloppe de l’ordre de 25 M$ ne doit pas avoir pour effet de permettre à un ministère ou à un organisme gouvernemental de retirer un projet de sa programmation régulière. Il est entendu toutefois que cette enveloppe peut venir en complément à d’autres programmes de d’autres ministères ou d’organismes gouvernementaux. Un projet sectoriel impliquant un ministère ou un organisme gouvernemental ne peut être financé à même cette enveloppe sans l’accord de l’ARK;

    Par ailleurs, le Gouvernement accepte que le projet de centre récréatif réalisé sur le territoire du village nordique d’Inukjuak puisse être reconnu admissible à une aide financière à la faveur de l’enveloppe de financement mise en place, sous réserve toutefois d’un accord des parties et d’une recommandation favorable du conseil municipal du village nordique;

    L’ARK accepte de promouvoir cette nouvelle source d’aide financière auprès des villages nordiques et convient de gérer l’enveloppe de financement selon des modalités qui seront convenues à l’entente particulière;

    Les parties s’engagent enfin à mettre sur pied dans les meilleurs délais un comité de mise en œuvre chargé d’élaborer un projet d’entente particulière portant sur les modalités de programmation, de gestion et de concertation ainsi que sur les engagements généraux des parties.

    Volet 4 : « Block Funding » de l’ARK

    L’ARK a notamment pour activités d’administrer des programmes destinés aux résidents de la région Kativik et elle reçoit, pour rencontrer ses obligations, du financement provenant d’une vingtaine d’ententes signées avec plusieurs ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec.

    Le Gouvernement reconnaît qu’il y a lieu de simplifier et de rendre plus efficace la gestion des fonds publics versés à l’ARK et ainsi de revoir son mode de financement. Les parties conviennent donc de viser la consolidation, en une seule enveloppe globale de transferts (block funding), des montants versés par les différents ministères et organismes gouvernementaux à travers leurs différents programmes.

    En conséquence, les parties conviennent de mettre sur pied un comité de travail chargé d’élaborer, d’ici le 1er avril 1999, un projet pour la mise en place d’un guichet unique gouvernemental pour l’octroi des aides financières à l’ARK. Tout en réunissant les budgets de transferts gouvernementaux, cette entente devra établir les objectifs des ministères sectoriels concernés, les obligations des parties et les modalités de mise en œuvre de ce nouveau cadre administratif.

    Signée à Québec, le 21 octobre 1998

    ________________________________
    Guy Chevrette
    Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

    ________________________________
    Johnny N. Adams
    Président du Comité administratif de l'Administration régionale Kativik

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 21 octobre 1998