Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

BACKGROUNDER ON HISTORY OF THE CREATION OF THE NUNAVIK COMMISSION

For decades, the Inuit of Québec have aspired to assume more control over their development. As far back as 1970, the Inuit were indicating their desire for self-government to the Neville-Robitaille Commission, which was travelling across northern Québec in a quest to seek out the concerns and aspirations of the people.

Since 1975, the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA) has led to the establishment of several institutions allowing the region of Nunavik, the part of Québec north of the 55th parallel, to acquire a certain degree of administrative control. The Makivik Corporation speaks for the Inuit regarding implementation of the Agreement and is deeply involved in the social and economic development of the Inuit. These institutions also include the Kativik Regional Government, the Kativik School Board, the Kativik Regional Development Council and the Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services, the latter having been replaced by the Nunavik Board of Regional Health and Social Services in 1994. These institutions all have a public nature and a regional calling.

However, the Inuit look for a united institution covering the whole region and enjoying broader autonomy. This concern with unity and autonomy surfaced once again with the 1983 Parliamentary Commission on Aboriginal People. At the time, René Lévesque opened the door to negotiations on the implementation of an autonomous regional government in northern Québec on condition that the various Inuit groups presenting their points of view to the Commission spoke as one. Following a referendum (1987) and an election (1989) in Nunavik, the Inuit developed a united approach and implemented the Nunavik Constitutional Committee with which the government of Québec opened discussions in 1990.

The discussions were interrupted in 1992 because of the constitutional discussions leading to the Charlottetown Accord and its rejection in a Canada-wide referendum. They resumed in July 1994 and continued until June 1995 following decisions made by the Québec government in 1994. The parties unanimously agreed to suspend discussions in December 1995 for several reasons (referendum campaign and post-referendum period, change in leadership at Makivik Corporation and change in premier).

During his visit to Nunavik in September 1997, the Premier of Québec, Lucien Bouchard, agreed with the President of Makivik Corporation, who was Mr. Zebedee Nungak, to reopen negotiations on the establishment of a public government institution in the part of Québec north of the 55th parallel (the Region of Nunavik). It was during this visit that the parties involved agreed to examine the conditions for resuming discussions. To follow up, the government of Québec gave the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) the responsibility of setting up a joint task force with Makivik that would present to the political authorities of the two parties the parameters for a process of negotiation to establish self-government north of the 55th parallel.

Makivik and the SAA began working together on these parameters in December 1997. Many meetings took place in 1998 and 1999. They led to the current political accord that creates the Nunavik Commission, responsible for proposing a form of self-government in Nunavik to the three signatories. The federal government participated in these meetings to the extent that they involved issues falling under federal jurisdiction.

November 5, 1999

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

HISTORIQUE DE LA CRÉATION DE LA COMMISSION DU NUNAVIK

Depuis plusieurs décennies, les Inuits du Québec aspirent à assurer davantage leur propre développement. Déjà, en 1970, ils avaient fait part de leur volonté d'autonomie gouvernementale à une commission fédérale-provinciale, la Commission Neville-Robitaille, qui, en parcourant le nord québécois, visait à saisir les préoccupations et les aspirations de la population.

La Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ) a amené, depuis 1975, la mise sur pied de plusieurs institutions qui ont permis à la région du Nunavik, c'est-à-dire la partie du Québec couvrant le nord du 55e parallèle, de bénéficier d'une certaine capacité de prise en charge administrative. La Société Makivik est le porte-parole des Inuits quant à la mise en œuvre de la Convention et elle est engagée fermement dans le développement social et économique de la nation inuite. Il y a aussi l'Administration régionale Kativik (ARK), la Commission scolaire Kativik (CSK), le Conseil régional de développement Kativik (CRDK) et la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik (RRN) qui a remplacé le CRSSS-Kativik en 1994. Ces quatre dernières institutions ont toutes un caractère public et une vocation régionale.

Cependant, les Inuits souhaitent une seule institution unifiée pour couvrir l'ensemble de la région et bénéficier d'une plus large autonomie. Cette préoccupation d'unité et d'autonomie refait surface lors de la Commission parlementaire de 1983 sur les Autochtones. À cette occasion, monsieur René Lévesque ouvre la porte à la négociation d'un gouvernement régional autonome dans le nord du Québec à la condition que les divers groupes inuits venus présenter leur point de vue à la Commission fassent l'unité entre eux. Après un référendum (1987) et une élection (1989) tenus au Nunavik, les Inuits unifient leur démarche et mettent sur pied le Comité constitutionnel du Nunavik (CCN) avec lequel le gouvernement du Québec engage des discussions en 1990.

Interrompus en 1992 à cause des discussions constitutionnelles ayant mené à l'Accord de Charlottetown et à son rejet lors d'un référendum pancanadien, les pourparlers reprennent en juillet 1994 et se poursuivent intensivement jusqu'en juin 1995. Par la suite, d'un commun accord, les parties suspendent les discussions en décembre 1995 pour plusieurs raisons (campagne référendaire et période post-référendaire, changement de leadership à la Société Makivik, changement de premier ministre).

Lors de sa visite en septembre 1997 en milieu nordique, le premier ministre du Québec, monsieur Lucien Bouchard, convient avec le président de la Société Makivik qui était alors monsieur Zebedee Nungak, de relancer les négociations sur l'établissement d'une institution gouvernementale publique dans la partie du Québec située au nord du 55e parallèle (région du Nunavik). À l'occasion de cette visite, on s'entend pour examiner sur quelles bases les pourparlers pourraient être repris. Pour donner suite à cette volonté, le gouvernement du Québec confie au Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) le soin de mettre en place avec Makivik un groupe de travail conjoint qui proposera aux autorités politiques des deux parties les paramètres d'un processus de négociation en vue de l'établissement d'un gouvernement autonome au nord du 55e parallèle.

Makivik et le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones ont entrepris de travailler conjointement sur ces paramètres à partir de décembre 1997. De très nombreuses rencontres, impliquant aussi des représentants du gouvernement fédéral, ont eu lieu en 1998 et en 1999. Elles ont permis d'aboutir à l'Accord politique signé aujourd'hui pour créer la Commission du Nunavik chargée de proposer une forme d'autonomie gouvernementale au Nunavik. Le gouvernement fédéral a participé à ces rencontres et ce, pour toutes les questions relevant de ses compétences.

5 novembre 1999

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 5 novembre 1999