Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

SPECIAL AGREEMENT

ESTABLISHING THE TERMS
OF PROGRAM PLANNING AND COOPERATION
IN THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND
COMMUNITY INFRASTRUCTURE FIELD

BETWEEN

THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC
represented by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
hereinafter known as "Québec",

AND

MICMACS OF GESGAPEGIAG BAND COUNCIL
represented by the Grand Chief,
hereinafter known as "The Council",


CONSIDERING that the orientations of Québec with respect to Aboriginal affairs, outlined in the document entitled "Partnership, Development, Actions", seek to allow the Aboriginal nations and communities to take charge of their development and to achieve greater autonomy;

CONSIDERING that Québec has set up the Aboriginal Development Fund, the goal of which is to support the economic development initiatives of the Aboriginal people and the building of their community infrastructures;

CONSIDERING that economic development is a key element for the progress of the community of Gesgapegiag, for the welfare of its population and for the taking charge of its own future;

CONSIDERING that the parties want to pool their efforts to foster economic development and to support projects originating from the community;

CONSIDERING that the parties want to give priority to partnership between them when required;

CONSEQUENTLY, the parties agree to the following:

PURPOSE OF THE AGREEMENT

1. The purpose of this agreement is to establish the terms of program planning and cooperation as well as the general commitments of the parties in order to foster the economic development and the building of community infrastructures of the community of Gesgapegiag and job creation.
2. This agreement is not a treaty within the meaning of section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 and must in no way be interpreted as having the effect of a repeal, a waiver, a negation or a recognition of an ancestral right, a right resulting from a treaty or another right.
3. The preamble and the schedules form an integral part of this agreement.

DEFINITION

4. Québec will make available to the Council a budget of 1,6 M$ million over five years, namely an average annual sum of 320 000 $, intended to fund economic development and community infrastructure projects as well as economic development measures, (local investment fund, Aboriginal venture capital fund or local economic development assistance measure) according to the needs and priorities expressed by the Council.
5. The Council will present Québec with a list of priority projects and measures that can be funded within the identified budget. A detailed description of each project and measure will accompany this list. An annual program plan will be established jointly.
6. On the basis of the established program plan, the parties agree to sign a funding agreement for all of the projects and measures agreed to. This agreement contains representations and guarantees, individual commitments and commitments shared by the parties as well as general clauses.

By common consent of the parties, changes may be made to the program plan during the year.
7. The Council must devote to economic development projects and/or measures at least 20% of the total budget that it is allotted.

ELIGIBILITY OF PROJECTS AND MEASURES

8. In order for the program plan to be approved by Québec, the projects and measures in the plan must meet the terms and conditions set forth in the schedules.
9. Québec will make sure that the chosen programs and measures will be processed promptly, in accordance with the applicable laws and standards.
10. To this end, the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones will ensure, when required, the interministerial coordination and cooperation necessary for the smooth unfolding of these projects.

DEVELOPMENT FUND

11. Québec will make sure that the Council has access to the Québec financial resources required to carry out the projects and measures stipulated in the program plan. The Aboriginal Development Fund is the preferred funding source, and will complement other government programs, where necessary. Québec requires that the Council ensure or have a third party ensure a financial participation that is at least equivalent to Québec's contribution for the carrying out of the work.
12. The projects and measures must be funded on a priority basis by way of existing programs of the federal government and those of Québec departments, from their own budgets. The Fund only finances those projects and measures where there is no program that can meet their specific needs and, where applicable, those projects and measures that require financial assistance in addition to that offered under current programs.

PARTNERSHIP AND COOPERATION

13. The parties will give prompt follow-up to the projects and measures listed in the annual program plan.
14. The parties recognize the need to cooperate and to pool their efforts to achieve the goal of this agreement.

LIAISON COMMITTEE

15. A liaison committee will be created to oversee the application of this agreement.
16. The liaison committee will be made up of two representatives of each of the parties.
17. The liaison committee will meet as often as necessary.
18. The liaison committee will have the power to make joint recommendations to the parties on any question pertaining to the implementation of this agreement.

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Duration of the agreement


19. This agreement will take effect on the date that it is signed by the two parties and shall remain in effect for a period of five years, subject to the provisions of this agreement.
20. The parties may agree on a timetable for the progressive implementation of the provisions of this agreement and, if necessary, on the putting in place of transitional mechanisms.

Amendment of the agreement

21. The parties may, upon common accord expressed in writing, amend this agreement or reach complementary agreements through an exchange of letters on the terms of application of this agreement not provided for therein.
22. In the event that any provision whatsoever of this agreement is declared null or invalid by a competent court, the parties agree to remedy, as soon as possible, this nullity or invalidity so that the objectives of this agreement are achieved.

Difficulties in the application of the agreement

23. The parties agree to submit to the liaison committee any disagreement or situation which they deem to be of such a nature as to prevent the application of one or all of the provisions of this agreement.
24. If the difficulty remains unresolved at the end of the thirty days following the date on which the difficulty was brought to the committee's attention, the party that submitted it, can send the other party a written notice of termination, as stipulated in section 25.

Termination of the agreement

25. In the event of a failure to respect the clauses of this agreement by either party, the agreement shall be terminated upon expiry of the sixty days following the date of transmission, by either party, of a written notice of termination, unless the parties agree to different provisions prior to the expiry of said time period.
26. In the event of termination, the liaison committee will recommend to the parties the transitional or final provisions that should be taken.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have signed on the 17th day of April 2001:

FOR THE COUNCIL 
OF GESGAPEGIAG 
BAND COUNCIL

________________________ 
John Martin
Chief

FOR THE GOVERNMENT
OF QUÉBEC
 

_____________________ 
Guy Chevrette
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE PARTICULIÈRE ÉTABLISSANT LES MODALITÉS DE PROGRAMMATION ET DE CONCERTATION EN MATIÈRE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT ÉCONOMIQUES ET D'INFRASTRUCTURES COMMUNAUTAIRES

ENTRE

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC

représenté par le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones; ci-après appelé « Le Québec »,

ET

LE CONSEIL DE BANDE DES MICMACS DE GESGAPEGIAG

représenté par le Grand Chef, ci-après appelé « Le Conseil »,

 

CONSIDÉRANT que les orientations du Québec concernant les affaires autochtones, consignées dans le document intitulé « Partenariat, Développement, Actions », visent à permettre aux nations et aux communautés autochtones de prendre en main leur développement et d’atteindre une plus grande autonomie;

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec met en œuvre le Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones visant à soutenir des initiatives de développement économique et la réalisation d’infrastructures communautaires autochtones;

CONSIDÉRANT que le développement économique est un élément essentiel au progrès de la communauté de Gespeg, au bien-être de sa population et à la prise en charge de son propre devenir;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties veulent unir leurs efforts pour stimuler le développement économique et appuyer les projets en provenance du milieu;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties veulent privilégier le partenariat entre elles lorsque requis;

EN CONSÉQUENCE, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

OBJET DE L’ENTENTE

1. L’objet de la présente entente est d’établir les modalités de programmation et de concertation ainsi que les engagements généraux des parties afin de favoriser le développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires de Gesgapegiag et la création d’emplois.

2. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d’aucune façon comme ayant l’effet d’une abrogation, d’une dérogation, d’une négation ou d’une reconnaissance d’un droit ancestral, d’un droit issu de traité ou d’un autre droit.

3. Le préambule et les annexes font partie intégrante de la présente entente.

CADRE D’APPLICATION

4. Le Québec rend disponible au Conseil une enveloppe financière de 1,6 M$ sur cinq ans, soit une somme annuelle moyenne de 320 000 $, destinée au financement de projets de développement économique et d’infrastructures communau-taires ainsi que de mesures de développement économique, (fonds d’investissement local, fonds de capital de risque autochtone ou mesure d’aide au développement économique local) selon les besoins et les priorités exprimés par le Conseil.

5. Le Conseil présente au Québec une liste de projets et de mesures prioritaires pouvant être financés à l’intérieur de l’enveloppe financière identifiée. Une description détaillée de chaque projet et mesure accompagnera cette liste. Une programmation annuelle est établie conjointement.

6. Sur la base de la programmation établie, les parties conviennent de signer une entente de financement pour un ou l’ensemble des projets et des mesures convenus.

Dans cette entente, on retrouve les représentations et garanties, les engagements individuels et partagés des parties ainsi que des clauses générales. D’un commun accord des parties, des modifications peuvent être apportées à la programmation en cours d’année.

7. La Conseil doit consacrer au moins 20 % de l’enveloppe financière totale qui lui est dédiée à des projets et/ou des mesures de développement économique.

ADMISSIBILITÉ DES PROJETS ET DES MESURES

8. Pour que la programmation soit agréée par le Québec, les projets et les mesures qui la composent doivent rencontrer les modalités inscrites aux annexes.

9. Le Québec s’assurera que les projets et les mesures retenus seront traités avec célérité, conformément aux lois et normes applicables.

10. À cet effet, le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones assurera, lorsque requis, la coordination et la concertation interministérielles nécessaires au bon cheminement de ces projets.

FONDS DE DÉVELOPPEMENT

11. Le Québec s’assurera que le Conseil aura accès aux ressources financières québécoises requises pour la réalisation des projets et des mesures prévus à la programmation. Le Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones constitue la source de financement privilégiée, en complément des autres programmes gouvernementaux s’il y a lieu. Il est requis par le Québec que le Conseil assure lui-même ou par un tiers une participation financière au moins équivalente à la contribution du Québec pour la réalisation des travaux.

12. Les projets et mesures doivent être financés en priorité par le biais des programmes existants du gouvernement fédéral et ceux des ministères québécois, à même leur enveloppe budgétaire. Le Fonds ne finance que les projets et mesures où il n’existe aucun programme pouvant répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques et le cas échéant, les projets et mesures qui nécessitent une aide financière additionnelle à ce que peuvent offrir les programmes actuels.

PARTENARIAT ET COOPÉRATION

13. Les parties donneront suite avec célérité aux projets et mesures inscrits à la programmation annuelle.

14. Les parties reconnaissent la nécessité de coopérer et de mettre leurs efforts en commun pour réaliser l’objet de la présente entente.

COMITÉ DE LIAISON

15. Un comité de liaison est constitué en vue de surveiller l’application de la présente entente.

16. Le comité de liaison sera composé de deux représentants de chacune des parties.

17. Le comité de liaison se réunira aussi souvent que nécessaire.

18. Le comité de liaison aura le pouvoir de faire aux parties des recommandations conjointes sur toute question relative à la mise en œuvre de la présente entente.

DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES

Durée de l’entente

19. La présente entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur pour une période de cinq ans, sous réserve des dispositions de la présente entente.

20. Les parties pourront convenir d’un calendrier de mise en vigueur progressive des dispositions de la présente entente et, au besoin, de la mise sur pied de mécanismes transitoires.

Amendement de l’entente

21. Les parties peuvent, d’un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires par un échange de lettres sur des modalités d'application de la présente entente non prévues à celle-ci.

22. Advenant qu’une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un tribunal compétent, les parties s’engagent à remédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs recherchés par l’entente soient atteints.

Difficulté d’application

23. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au comité de liaison toute mésentente ou situation qu’elles estiment de nature à empêcher l’application de l’une ou de l’ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente.

24. Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l’expiration de trente jours de la date où le comité en a été saisi, la partie qui l’a soumise, peut adresser à l’autre partie un avis de résiliation écrit, tel que prévu à l’article 25.

Résiliation de l’entente

25. En cas de non-respect des clauses de la présente entente par l’une ou l’autre des parties, l’entente est résiliée à l’expiration des soixante jours de la date de transmission, par l’une ou l’autre des parties, d’un avis de résiliation écrit, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes.

26. En cas de résiliation, le comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

EN FOI DE QUOI, les parties ont signé le 17e jour d'avril 2001 :



POUR LE CONSEIL
DE BANDE DES MICMACS
DE GESGAPEGIAG,

_______________
John Martin
Chef

POUR LE
GOUVERNEMENT
DU QUÉBEC,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux
Affaires autochtones

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 17 avril 2001