Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING AND MUTUAL RESPECT

Kahnawake and Québec recognizing the importance of cooperative endeavours wish to develop a constructive relationship on the basis of their respective principles and concepts found in the Two Row Wampum and the document entitled Partnership, Development, Achievement. They therefore agree to the following declaration of reciprocal political commitment.

Kahnawake and Québec, as represented by the undersigned, favor the route of discussion and negotiation for concluding and signing agreements that will be negotiated in various fields of jurisdiction.

With a strong sense of their respective culture, language, custom, laws and traditions, Kahnawake and Québec agree to negotiate with mutual respect for their national identities and each other's history and territorial occupation.

Kahnawake and Québec further agree to participate as partners in some of Kahnawake's economic development ventures. Québec also agrees to develop financial and fiscal arrangements that would provide for Kahnawake's long term economic stability.

To accelerate the negotiation process and bring it to a rapid conclusion, Québec and Kahnawake each have already appointed a special negotiator with a view to the rapid conclusion of a framework agreement and specific agreements in the various fields of mutual interest.

Nothing in this declaration prevents Kahnawake from continuing to exercise its prerogatives to conclude agreements with any other government, in the application of its jurisdiction through its legal institutions, and in accordance with its priorities.

________________________
Joe Tokwiro Norton
Grand Chief of the
Mohawk Council
of Kahnawake
_____________________
Guy Chevrette
Minister responsible for
Aboriginal Affairs
Gouvernement du Québec

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

DÉCLARATION DE COMPRÉHENSION ET DE RESPECT MUTUEL

Conscients de l'importance d'une coopération active, les Mohawks de Kahnawake et le Québec désirent établir entre eux une relation constructive basée sur leurs principes et concepts respectifs contenus dans la doctrine du Two Row Wampum et dans le document intitulé « Partenariat, Développement, Actions ». En conséquence, ils adoptent la déclaration suivante d'engagement politique réciproque.

Le Québec et Kahnawake, par leurs représentants soussignés, privilégient la discussion et la négociation pour les conduire à la conclusion et à la signature d'ententes négociées dans différents champs de compétence.

Fiers de leur culture, de leur langue, de leurs coutumes, règles et traditions, le Québec et Kahnawake entendent négocier dans le respect mutuel de leur identité nationale de même que de leur histoire et de leur occupation du territoire.

Le Québec et Kahnawake désirent également participer à titre de partenaires dans des projets de développement économiques à Kahnawake. De plus, le Québec accepte de mettre en place des arrangements financiers et fiscaux propres à contribuer à la stabilité économique à long terme de Kahnawake.

Afin d'accélérer le processus de négociation et le faire aboutir rapidement, le Québec et Kahnawake ont déjà nommé chacun un négociateur spécial en vue de la conclusion rapide d'une entente-cadre et d'ententes spécifiques dans les différents domaines d'intérêt commun.

Rien dans la présente déclaration n'empêche Kahnawake de continuer à pouvoir conclure des ententes avec tout autre gouvernement, suivant propres priorités, dans l'exercice de ses compétences et par l'entremise de ses institutions légales.

_______________
Joe Tokwiro Norton
Grand Chef
Conseil des Mohawks de Kahnawake

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones Gouvernement du Québec

Le 15 octobre 1998

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 15 octobre 1998