Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT

BETWEEN
QUEBEC
AND
THE MOHAWKS OF KAHNAWAKE


WHEREAS the Mohawks of Kahnawake are part of the Mohawk Nation recognized by the National Assembly of Québec;

WHEREAS the Mohawks of Kahnawake govern themselves through the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake and exercise their rights through this Council;

WHEREAS Quebec and the Mohawks of Kahnawake want to establish a long term and constructive relationship based on respect and mutual trust by means of a framework agreement and specific agreements in various sectors of their relations;

NOW THEREFORE IT IS AGREED THAT :

SUBJECT MATTER OF THE AGREEMENT
1. The purpose of this Agreement is to establish a general framework that will lead to the conclusion of specific agreements on various sectors of common interest, in order to avoid conflicts and, if necessary, to resolve the latter by discussion and peaceful means in a spirit of understanding and mutual respect.

Orientations and principles

2. The parties accept and recognize the respective distinctiveness and unique quality of their cultures, their languages, their laws, customs, traditions, as well as their national identities.

Exercise of powers

3. Both parties recognize the need to reconcile the exercise of their respective powers and toward this end will negotiate specific agreements on various subject matters where there exists a shared interest.

Responsibility for negotiations

4. The Grand Chief of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake and the Quebec Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs are responsible for implementation of this Agreement and the monitoring of the ensuing negotiations.

Negotiation of specific agreements

5.1 In a first phase, specific agreements will be negotiated in the following sectors:

  • Taxation;
  • Economic development;
  • Public security;
  • Administration of justice;
  • User fees.

5.2 Every effort will be made to conclude the first phase within three months.
5.3 The list of the other sectors to be covered by specific agreements shall be determined by the Grand Chief of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake and the Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs on the joint recommendation of the special negotiators.
6. Each sectoral agreement shall specify :
  • the nature and scope of the agreement;
  • the duration of the agreement;
  • the implementation plan.

7. Each sectoral agreement shall specify the procedure to be followed to avoid and, if necessary, resolve conflicts between the parties.
8. Sectoral agreements should be implemented immediately, unless delays are expressly provided for. The parties are bound to take with diligence whatever actions are necessary to give effect to an agreement.
9. A reciprocal mechanism will be set up for the timely review and comment of draft or pending legislation or regulation which may impact the other party.
10. Upon mutual agreement, the parties may invite other parties to the sectoral tables, including the Government of Canada, or invite the latter into a tripartite negotiation table.

Amendment to agreement

11. The parties agree that, notwithstanding section 12 (Duration of the Agreement), this agreement may be modified in whole or in part by deletion, addition or otherwise upon mutual acceptance in writing, signed by the parties.

Duration of the agreement
12. This Agreement will be for an indefinite time period. Any dispute concerning the interpretation or implementation of this Agreement shall be resolved through negotiations between the parties. Failing those negotiations, each party will be able to terminate this Agreement by giving the other party a written notice, which shall take effect one month thereafter.
13. This agreement is not intended to be an agreement or treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act 1982, nor is it to be interpreted in anyway as abrogating, derogating or negating or recognizing any aboriginal, treaty or other rights.

Signed on the 15th day of October 1998.
________________________
Joe Tokwiro Norton
Grand Chief of the
Mohawk Council
of Kahnawake
_____________________
Guy Chevrette
Minister responsible for
Aboriginal Affairs
Gouvernement du Québec
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE-CADRE

ENTRE
LE QUÉBEC
ET
LES MOHAWKS DE KAHNAWAKE

 

ATTENDU QUE les Mohawks de Kahnawake font partie de la nation mohawk reconnue par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec;

ATTENDU QUE les Mohawks de Kahnawake se gouvernent par l'entremise du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake et exercent leurs droits par l'entremise de ce Conseil;

ATTENDU QUE le Québec et les Mohawks de Kahnawake désirent établir entre eux une relation durable et constructive fondée sur le respect et la confiance mutuelle au moyen d'une entente-cadre et d'ententes particulières dans les différents secteurs de leurs relations;

EN CONSÉQUENCE, LES PARTIES CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

Objet de l'Entente

1. Le but de la présente Entente est d'établir un cadre général favorisant la conclusion d'ententes particulières sur les différents sujets d'intérêt commun entre les parties, de manière à éviter les conflits et, au besoin, à les résoudre par la discussion et la voie pacifique dans un esprit de compréhension et de respect mutuel.

Orientations et principes

2. Les parties acceptent et reconnaissent leur spécificité respective et la singularité de leur culture, de leur langue, de leurs règles, coutumes et traditions et de leur identité nationale.

Exercice des pouvoirs

3. Les deux parties reconnaissent le besoin de concilier l'exercice de leurs pouvoirs respectifs et, à cette fin, elles négocieront des ententes particulières dans les domaines où existe un intérêt commun.

Responsabilité de la négociation

4. La présente Entente et les négociations qui en découleront sont placées sous la responsabilité du Grand Chef du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake et du ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones du Québec.

Négociation des ententes particulières

5.1. Dans une première phase, les ententes particulières qui seront négociées porteront sur les secteurs suivants :

  • les questions fiscales;

  • le développement économique;

  • la sécurité publique;

  • l'administration de la justice;

  • les droits d'usage.

    5.2 Les parties s'efforceront de conclure cette première phase dans un délai de trois mois.

    5.3 La liste des autres secteurs pouvant faire l'objet d'ententes particulières sera déterminée par le Grand Chef du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake et le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones sur la recommandation conjointe des négociateurs spéciaux.

    6. Chacune des ententes particulières devra préciser :

  • la nature et la portée des ententes;

  • la durée de l'entente;

  • le plan de mise en œuvre.

    7. Chaque entente particulière devra prévoir la procédure à suivre pour prévenir et, au besoin, résoudre les différends entre les parties.

    8. Une entente particulière doit être mise en œuvre sans délai, à moins que l'entente n'y pourvoit autrement. Les parties doivent prendre avec diligence toutes les mesures nécessaires pour donner effet à une entente.

    9. Un mécanisme réciproque sera mis en place pour permettre, en temps utile, l'échange d'informations et de commentaires sur les projets de législation ou de réglementation qui pourraient affecter l'autre partie.

    10. Les parties pourront, d'un commun accord, inviter d'autres parties à des tables sectorielles, y compris le gouvernement du Canada, ou encore inviter celui-ci à faire partie d'une table de négociation tripartie.

    Modification de l'Entente 11. Les parties conviennent que, malgré l'article 12 (Durée de l'Entente), la présente Entente peut être modifiée, en tout ou en partie, par suppression, addition ou autrement, d'un commun accord exprimé par l'écrit signé des parties.

    Durée de l'Entente

    12. La présente Entente aura une durée indéfinie. Tout litige quant à l'interprétation ou l'application de la présente Entente sera résolu par voie de négociations entre les parties. En cas d'échec des négociations, une partie pourra mettre fin à l'Entente en donnant un avis écrit qui prendra effet à l'expiration d'un délai d'un mois.

    13. La présente Entente ne constitue pas une entente ou traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit.

    _______________
    Joe Tokwiro Norton
    Grand Chef
    Conseil des Mohawks de Kahnawake

    _______________
    Guy Chevrette
    Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones Gouvernement du Québec

    Le 15 octobre 1998

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 15 octobre 1998