Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

AGREEMENT ON THE REGISTRATION
OF BIRTHS, MARRIAGES AND DEATHS
BETWEEN QUÉBEC
AND KAHNAWAKE

WHEREAS Quebec and Kahnawake have signed a Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect and a Framework Agreement which provides for the negotiation of sectoral agreements in a number of areas, including questions related to the administration of justice;

AND WHEREAS each of the parties maintains for its own use a registry for births, marriages and deaths;

AND WHEREAS it would be advantageous to facilitate the registration of these events without duplicating the administrative procedures;

AND WHEREAS it would be desirable for the information thus registered in both registries be the same and not be divergent;

NOW THEREFORE THE PARTIES AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

OBJECT OF THE AGREEMENT


1. The purpose of this Agreement is to facilitate the registration of births, marriages and deaths related to a Mohawk of Kahnawake.
2. The Territory of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Territory") is, for the purpose of this Agreement, the territory over which the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Council") has jurisdiction.
3. The Preamble is an integral part of this Agreement.
4. The following Schedule forms an integral part of this Agreement:

1. Definitions


REGISTRATION

5. The Directeur de l'état civil du Québec (hereinafter referred to as "Director") and the person designated by the Council as responsible for the purpose of this Agreement (hereinafter referred to as "Registrar") shall cooperate in order to facilitate the registration of births, marriages and deaths related to a Mohawk of Kahnawake.
6. The Director may enter into arrangements with the Registrar for the transmission by the Registrar of declarations of birth or death made by a Mohawk of Kahnawake in the application of this Agreement. These arrangements may also cover the transmission of information related to a marriage solemnized in Kahnawake.
7. The declarations referred to in section 6 are contained in the forms agreed to by the Director and the Registrar.
8. When the Director registers a birth, a marriage or a death related to a person who is, to his knowledge, a Mohawk of Kahnawake on the basis of information which he has received otherwise than through the Registrar, he shall transmit this information to the Registrar.

TRADITIONAL NAME

9. A Mohawk of Kahnawake may cause the Director to register his or her traditional Mohawk name alongside the name given at birth, if any. This procedure may be made without cost at any time. It may be made on behalf of a child by his or her father and mother.
10. The demand for the addition of a traditional name is made on the form prescribed by the Director or on the form prescribed by the Registrar and accepted by the Director.

COOPERATION

11. The parties to this Agreement recognize the need to cooperate and to combine their efforts to achieve the purposes of this Agreement.

Liaison Committee

12. A Liaison Committee is formed to supervise the application of this Agreement.
13. The Liaison Committee shall be composed of an equal number of representatives from each party.
14. The Liaison Committee shall meet as often as required.
15. The Liaison Committee shall have the power to make joint recommendations to the parties concerning any matter relative to the implementation of this Agreement, including omissions, failures and penalties.

FINAL PROVISIONS

Duration of the Agreement


16. This Agreement shall take effect on the date of its signing by both parties and remain in effect for a period of five years, subject to the provisions of this Agreement.
17. The parties may agree on an agenda for the progressive implementation of this Agreement and, if necessary, on transitional arrangements.

Amendment of the Agreement

18. The parties may, by written agreement, amend this Agreement or conclude supplementary agreements by an exchange of letters with respect to the implementation of this Agreement on matters not specified herein.

Difficulties of Application

19. The parties agree to submit to the Liaison Committee any disagreement or situation that may hinder the application of any or all the provisions of this Agreement.
20. Should the difficulty remain unresolved at the expiry of a delay of thirty (30) days from the date it was submitted to the committee, the party that submitted it may address the other party a written resiliation notice as provided in section 21.

Cancellation of the Agreement

21. This Agreement is canceled at the expiry of a delay of sixty (60) days from the date a written resiliation notice is forwarded by either of the parties, unless the parties agree on different terms before the end of such delay.
22. In case of cancellation, the Liaison Committee shall recommend to the parties the transitional or final arrangements to be made.

Extension or Renewal of the Agreement

23. This Agreement is renewed automatically unless one party gives the other a written notice of termination. This Agreement remains in effect for a maximum period of sixty (60) days after its expiry unless the parties agree otherwise.

In the event of non renewal of this Agreement, section 22 applies.

24. This Agreement is not intended to be an agreement or a treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 nor is it to be interpreted in any way as abrogating, derogating, negating or recognizing any aboriginal, treaty or other rights.
25. Should any provision of this Agreement be declared null or void by a competent tribunal, the parties undertake to remedy this nullity or invalidity as quickly as possible so that the purposes of this Agreement can be achieved.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the parties have signed this _____ day of _____ 1999:

On behalf of Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

On behalf of Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand Chief
Mohawk Council of Kahnawake

__________________________
Robert Perreault
Ministre des Relations avec les citoyens et de
l'Immigration
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE SUR L'INSCRIPTION DES NAISSANCES, DES MARIAGES ET DES DÉCÈS ENTRE LE QUÉBEC ET KAHNAWAKE

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec et Kahnawake ont signé une Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel ainsi qu'une entente-cadre qui prévoit la négociation d'ententes sectorielles dans un certain nombre de domaines, dont les questions relatives à l'administration de la justice;

CONSIDÉRANT que chacune des parties maintient pour ses fins propres un registre dans lequel sont consignés les naissances, les mariages et les décès;

CONSIDÉRANT qu'il y aurait avantage à faciliter l'enregistrement de ces événements en évitant de dédoubler les procédures administratives;

CONSIDÉRANT qu'il serait souhaitable que les informations consignées dans l'un et l'autre des registres soient semblables et ne comportent pas de divergences;

EN CONSÉQUENCE, LES PARTIES ONT CONVENU DE CE QUI SUIT :

OBJET DE L'ENTENTE

1. L'objet de la présente entente est de faciliter l'enregistrement des naissances, mariages ou décès impliquant un Mohawk de Kahnawake .

2. Le territoire de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Territoire ») est aux fins de la présente entente, le territoire sur lequel le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Conseil ») a compétence.

3. Le préambule fait partie intégrante de la présente entente.

4. L'annexe ci-après énumérée fait partie intégrante de la présente entente :

1. Définitions

ENREGISTREMENT

5. Le directeur de l'état civil du Québec (ci-après désigné « Directeur ») et la personne nommée par le Conseil à titre de registraire aux fins de la présente entente (ci-après désigné « Registraire ») collaboreront afin de faciliter l'enregistrement des naissances, des mariages et des décès impliquant un Mohawk de Kahnawake.

6. Le Directeur peut convenir avec le Registraire d'arrangements prévoyant la transmission par ce dernier, conformément à la présente entente, des déclarations de naissance ou de décès faites par un Mohawk. Ces arrangements peuvent également porter sur la transmission d'informations relatives à un mariage célébré à Kahnawake.

7. Les déclarations qui sont visées par l'article 6 sont celles qui sont contenues dans les formulaires convenus entre le Directeur et le Registraire.

8. Lorsque le Directeur enregistre une naissance, un mariage ou un décès impliquant une personne qui, à sa connaissance, est un Mohawk de Kahnawake à la suite de renseignements qui lui ont été transmis autrement que par l'intermédiaire du Registraire, il transmet ces renseignements au Registraire.

NOM TRADITIONNEL

9. Un Mohawk de Kahnawake peut faire inscrire au registre de l'état civil du Québec son nom traditionnel Mohawk, en plus du nom qui lui a été donné à sa naissance, le cas échéant. Cette demande peut être faite sans frais en tout temps. Elle peut être faite au nom d'un enfant mineur par ses père et mère.

10. La demande d'ajout du nom traditionnel est faite sur le formulaire prescrit par le Directeur ou sur le formulaire équivalent prescrit par le Registraire et accepté par le Directeur.

COOPÉRATION

11. Les parties reconnaissent la nécessité de coopérer et de mettre leurs efforts en commun pour réaliser les objectifs de la présente entente.

Comité de liaison

12. Un Comité de liaison est constitué en vue de surveiller l'application de la présente entente.

13. Le Comité de liaison sera composé à part égale de représentants de chacune des parties.

14. Le Comité de liaison se réunira aussi souvent que nécessaire.

15. Le Comité de liaison aura le pouvoir de faire aux parties des recommandations conjointes sur toute question relative à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente, y compris les cas d'omissions ou de manquements et les pénalités.

DISPOSITIONS FINALES

Durée de l'entente

16. La présente entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur pour une période de cinq ans, sous réserve des dispositions de la présente entente.

17. Les parties pourront convenir d'un calendrier de mise en vigueur progressive des dispositions de la présente entente et, au besoin, de la mise sur pied de mécanismes transitoires.

Amendement de l'entente

18. Les parties peuvent, d'un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires par un échange de lettres sur des modalités d'application de la présente entente non prévues à celle-ci.

Difficulté d'application

19. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au Comité de liaison toute mésentente ou situation qu'elles estiment de nature à empêcher l'application de l'une ou de l'ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente.

20. Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l'expiration de trente jours de la date où le Comité en a été saisi, la partie qui l'a soumise peut adresser à l'autre partie un avis de résiliation écrit, tel que prévu à l'article 21.

Résiliation de l'entente

21. L'entente est résiliée à l'expiration de soixante jours de la date de transmission, par l'une ou l'autre des parties, d'un avis de résiliation écrit, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes.

22. En cas de résiliation, le Comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

Reconduction ou renouvellement de l'entente

23. La présente entente sera renouvelé automatiquement à moins qu'une partie donne à l'autre un avis écrit au contraire. Elle demeure en vigueur pour une période n'excédant pas soixante jours après son expiration, à moins que les parties n'en conviennent autrement.

En cas de non-renouvellement de l'entente, l'article 22 s'applique.

24. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit.

25. Advenant qu'une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un tribunal compétent, les parties s'engagent à remédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs recherchés par l'entente soient atteints.

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé ce _____ jour de _____ 1999 :

Pour le Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

_______________
Robert Perreault
Ministre des Relations avec les citoyens et de l'Immigration

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 30 mars 1999