Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

AGREEMENT ON POLICE SERVICES
BETWEEN QUÉBEC
AND KAHNAWAKE

WHEREAS Kahnawake and Quebec have signed a "Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect" and a "Framework Agreement" on October 15, 1998 which establishes the basis of their relationship; and

WHEREAS Kahnawake and Quebec concur in the "Framework Agreement" that the Mohawks of Kahnawake govern themselves through the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake and exercise their rights through this Council; and,

WHEREAS Kahnawake, Quebec and Canada have signed, in September 1995, an agreement respecting police services in the Kahnawake territory, which has proved beneficial to all parties; and,

WHEREAS, with a strong sense of their respective culture, language, custom, laws and traditions, Kahnawake and Quebec have agreed to negotiate with mutual respect for their national identities and each other's history and territorial occupation; and,

WHEREAS Kahnawake and Quebec wish to continue working jointly to ensure the maintenance, in the Kahnawake territory, of effective, efficient, professional and culturally sensitive police services, in accordance with the needs and expectations of the people concerned; and,

WHEREAS Kahnawake and Quebec have agreed in the "Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect" that Kahnawake shall continue to exercise its prerogatives to conclude agreements with other governments, in the application of its jurisdiction through its legal institutions, and in accordance with its priorities; and

WHEREAS Kahnawake and Canada have entered and may enter into complementary arrangements with respect to policing; and,

WHEREAS Kahnawake, Quebec and Canada wish to take counsel together concerning the exercise of their respective powers as regards the delivery of policing services.

NOW THEREFORE KAHNAWAKE AND QUEBEC (THE PARTIES) TO THIS AGREEMENT AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

OBJECT OF THE AGREEMENT


1. This Agreement is intended to maintain a framework for effective cooperation between the parties with a view to ensuring order, peace and public security within the Kahnawake territory and to establish functional relations between the parties in this respect. It also establishes the contribution of Québec, in addition to the contribution of Canada, to financing the Kahnawake police force (hereinafter Peacekeepers).
2. For the purpose of this Agreement, the Kahnawake territory is deemed to consist of the territory over which Kahnawake has jurisdiction.
3. The preamble is an integral part of this Agreement.

SCHEDULES

4. The following schedules are hereby incorporated into and constitute part of this Agreement:

Schedule I - Provisions of the Code of Ethics of Kahnawake Peacekeepers
Schedule II - Eligibility - Hiring standards


POLICE FORCE

5. Kahnawake undertakes to maintain the Peacekeepers, as duly constituted under the authority of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake and responsible for maintaining peace, order and public security within the Kahnawake territory, for the prevention of crime and offences pursuant to the laws applicable within the Kahnawake territory and to seeking out offenders.

The parties recognize that this police force, known as the Peacekeepers, is of a distinctive nature and therefore, the provisions of this agreement shall not be interpreted as meaning that the Kahnawake police force is either a provincial or municipal police force.

6. It is agreed that the members of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers will exercise their powers as employees of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake under the direction of a chief of police (hereinafter Chief Peacekeeper) under the authority of the Peacekeepers Administration Board (hereinafter PAB).

INDEPENDENCE OF THE POLICE FORCE AND ACCOUNTABILITY

7. It is agreed that, in order to ensure the independence of the Peacekeepers, the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake will maintain the PAB as the entity accountable to the Community for the activities of the Peacekeepers and responsible for establishing its goals, objectives, priorities and management policies and for overseeing their administration.
8. Kahnawake undertakes to ensure that the Chief Peacekeeper exercises authority that is independent of the Council, its members or staff in respect of the performance of the Chief Peacekeeper's duties.
9. It is agreed that the Council, its members, staff and any agency that the Council establishes must refrain from issuing directions to the Chief Peacekeeper and members of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers with regard to specific operating decisions or the day-to-day operations of the Peacekeepers, except as provided for by the Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law.

ELIGIBILITY - HIRING STANDARDS

10. It is understood that, to become a member of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, an applicant must meet the standards of the "Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law" as listed in Schedule II.

SWEARING-IN

11. It is agreed that members of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers will be sworn in before they assume their duties, as stipulated in the Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law.

CODE OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

12. It is agreed that provisions in Schedule I will govern the professional conduct of the members of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers.

Any failure or omission concerning a duty or a standard of conduct referred to in Schedule I constitutes a derogatory act and may result in the imposition of a penalty upon a complaint lodged by any person in accordance with the applicable laws.
13. A complainant who is a Mohawk of Kahnawake shall follow the procedure provided under the "Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law".
14. A complainant who is not a Mohawk of Kahnawake shall follow either the procedure provided under the "Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law" or, at his or her choice, the procedure provided under the Police Organisation Act.
15. The Commissaire à la déontologie policière will enter into a written protocol with the PAB about the treatment of:
a) complaints referred to in sections 13 and 14
b) complaints made by a Mohawk against a member of any Quebec police force.

16. When the Comité de déontologie sits in relation to a complaint against a member of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, the member who presides must come from an aboriginal community.

LIAISON COMMITTEE

17. The Liaison Committee as established is the advisory body responsible to oversee the administration of this Agreement and of the complementary agreement between Kahnawake and Canada.
18. Kahnawake Police Liaison committee shall consist of, but not be restricted to, four (4) members with representation as follows:
a) two (2) member named by Kahnawake;
b) one (1) member named by Québec;
c) one (1) member named by Canada.

19. The liaison Committee shall meet whenever necessary, but at least once every two (2) months.
20. The principal responsibilities of the Liaison Committee shall include:
a) maintaining a forum for liaison and the promotion of cooperation among Québec, Kahnawake and Canada;
b) review and facilitate the training needs of police officers working within the Kahnawake territory and making recommendations regarding: the choice of police training institutions; the development and implementation of an annual training plan; other programs such as secondments, exchanges and specialized training;
c) overseeing the development and implementation of the provisions of article 22 of this Agreement regarding mutual assistance and operational cooperation among the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, the Sûreté du Québec and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the implementation of any other agreement that has been or may be developed between the Kahnawake Peacekeepers and any other police service;
d) receiving annual activity reports and submitting them to the parties to this Agreement;
e) reviewing annual and special budgetary requests and submitting them to the parties to this Agreement;
f) making the appropriate recommendations to the parties to this Agreement concerning the implementation of this Agreement;
g) overseeing the implementation of the arrangements between the Commissaire à la déontologie policière and the PAB under section 15 of this Agreement.

The Parties to this Agreement undertake to inform the Liaison Committee in writing on a timely basis of any matter of substantial concern, to any of the Parties, that may have an adverse impact on policing. In such a case, the parties shall provide the Liaison Committee with a mandate to resolve the issue or to provide recommendations to the parties.

It is understood that the Liaison Committee would be provided with a minimum time frame of 30 days within which to report back to the parties with options to resolve the matter. It is further understood that the Liaison Committee may provide interim and/or permanent solutions to the issue.

Within the period specified in the previous paragraph, the parties agree to make every effort to resolve the matter that is deemed to have an adverse impact on policing as well as every effort to avoid the commission of any action or holding of any event likely to aggravate the situation under examination by the parties.

IMPEDIMENTS

21. The Parties agree to submit to the Liaison Committee any omision, disagreement or situation that they deem prevents the application of any or all of the provisions in this Agreement with a view to resolving the problem.

Should the problem persist beyond the minimum time frame of 30 days after the date on which it was brought to the attention of the Liaison Committee, the party that submitted the problem may send to the other party written notice of the termination of this Agreement in accordance with article 37.

COOPERATION AMONG POLICE FORCES

22. It is understood that this Agreement is not intended to modify the mandates attributed by law to the Sûreté du Québec, the RCMP and the Kahnawake Peacekeepers.

The parties agree that the Sûreté du Québec and the Kahnawake Peacekeepers must take the necessary steps to ensure mutual assistance and cooperation with respect to the effective monitoring of compliance with applicable legislation.

The Parties further agree that signed operational protocols have been or could be developed as between the Peacekeepers and the Sûreté du Québec, the Peacekeepers and the RCMP, and the Peacekeepers and the MUC. Such other police forces as are found to require a working relationship with the Peacekeepers may also develop a protocol with the Peacekeepers.

FINANCING

23. Quebec agrees to contribute, in conjunction with Canada, to the financing of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers. This contribution shall not be higher than 48% of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers annual budget, as negotiated by the Liaison Committee.
24. Quebec's contribution, for the term of this Agreement, shall be as follows:
1999 - 2000 : 1 224 000$
2000 - 2001 : 1 272 000$
2001 - 2002 : 1 320 000$
2002 - 2003 : 1 320 000$
2003 - 2004 : 1 320 000$

25. Moreover, the parties agree to the following provisions respecting the aforementioned financial contribution:
a) Quebec will pay its financial contribution referred to in article 24 to the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake annually, in installments scheduled as follows:

50% of Quebec's share stipulated in Article 24 shall be paid in an initial installment in the first week of June;

25% of Quebec's share stipulated in Article 24 shall be paid in a second installment in the first week of October, and

25% of Quebec's share stipulated in Article 24 shall be paid in a third installment in the first week of February;
b) For the purpose of this Agreement, the annual financial contribution of Quebec referred to in article 24 is subject to approval by the National Assembly of the necessary appropriations.
c) Quebec and Kahnawake agree to the following terms, over and above the terms already provided for in the present Agreement:

Kahnawake shall ensure that the financial contribution paid by Quebec for the Kahnawake Peacekeepers is used to maintain a level and quality of policing in Kahnawake consistent with applicable norms and standards.

Kahnawake agrees to provide the Liaison Committee, within ninety (90) days of the end of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake's fiscal year, with an audited financial statement on the financial operations related to the implementation of the present agreement.

26. In addition, due to exceptional circumstances, and, in conjunction with Canada, Québec agrees to an additional yearly contribution for improvement to Peacekeepers infrastructures over the term of this agreement. Quebec's annual contribution in the amount of $152,000. shall be made in a single payment annually in first week of May.
27. Québec can, for reasonable cause and following a written notice of such cause addressed to the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake, appoint an independent auditor to review the financial records maintained by the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake with respect to the costs of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers and the costs related to the implementation of the present Agreement. Kahnawake agrees to provide access to such financial records.
28. In the event that there is a surplus, in any given fiscal year, in the actual operating cost of the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake will undertake to transfer such surplus to the subsequent fiscal year and to use the surplus for police related purposes. Such transfer of surplus from one fiscal year to the next shall not affect the annual financial contribution of Quebec as determined by agreement between Quebec and Kahnawake.

INSURANCE

29. Kahnawake undertakes to have the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake take out general fire and theft insurance as well as employer-employee liability insurance in an amount of not less than 2 000 000 $ per incident and 5 000 000 $ maximum for all incidents, against bodily injury or material damage of any kind that may be caused to third parties by the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, the special body accountable to Council established pursuant to article 7 of this Agreement or their respective members, employees, officers or agents in the performance of this Agreement. Canada and Québec shall be named as co-insured parties in the insurance policies. Kahnawake shall provide to Québec proof of such insurance as soon as possible after the signing of this Agreement.

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE AGREEMENT

30. Québec undertakes to adopt as quickly as possible the measures necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.
31. The Mohawk Council of Kahnawake undertakes to adopt as quickly as possible the measures necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL GUARANTEES

32. This Agreement has been concluded between Québec and the Mohawks of Kahnawake in the spirit of cooperation for the purpose of harmonization of police services and is without prejudice to current or future negotiations concerning Canada/Québec/Kahnawake relations or any other agreement likely to result from such negotiations.
33. This Agreement is not intended to be an agreement or a treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 nor is it to be interpreted in any way as abrogating, derogating, negating or recognizing any aboriginal, treaty or other rights.

TERM OF THIS AGREEMENT

34. Notwithstanding the date on which this Agreement is executed, it shall be in effect from April 1, 1999 to March 31, 2004, subject to the termination provisions contained in this Agreement, and article 29.
35. This Agreement may be renewed or extended according to conditions agreed upon in writing by the parties.

AMENDMENTS

36. The parties may, by written agreement, amend this Agreement or conclude subsidiary agreements on provisions respecting police services that are not stipulated in this Agreement.

The procedure stipulated in articles 30 and 31 of this Agreement will apply, as the case may be, to give effect to such amendments or subsidiary agreements.

TERMINATION

37. The Agreement may be terminated at the end of 90 days from the date of submission of a notice of termination by either party to this Agreement, unless the parties agree otherwise prior to the expiry of this deadline subject to articles 17 to 20.
38. In the event the Agreement is terminated, the Liaison Committee will recommend to the parties the transitional or final measures to be adopted.
39. Upon termination of this Agreement by any party, the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake will :
a) ensure that all outstanding accounts have been satisfied for goods provided or services rendered to the Kahnawake police force up to and including the day of termination; and
b) refund 48% of unexpended funds to Québec within 90 days of the termination of this Agreement.


GENERAL PROVISIONS

40. dvenant qu'une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un ribunal compétent, les autres dispositions conserveront leur plein effet et les parties s'engagent à emédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs echerchés par cette entente soient atteints.

Signed on the _____ of _____ 1999.

On behalf of Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

On behalf of Kahnawake,

_______________
Grand Chief
Mohawk Council of Kahnawake

_______________
Serge Ménard
Ministre de la Sécurité publique

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE SUR LES SERVICES DE POLICE ENTRE LE QUÉBEC ET KAHNAWAKE

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake et le Québec ont signé, le 15 octobre 1998, une « Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel » et une « Entente-cadre » qui établit le cadre de leurs relations;

CONSIDÉRANT que, dans l'« Entente-cadre », Kahnawake et le Québec conviennent que les Mohawks de Kahnawake se gouvernent par l'entremise du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake et exercent leurs droits par l'entremise de ce Conseil;

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake, le Québec et le Canada ont signé, en septembre 1995, une entente concernant les services de police sur le territoire de Kahnawake, laquelle s'est révélée bénéfique pour toutes les parties;

CONSIDÉRANT que, fiers de leur culture, de leur langue, de leurs coutumes, règles et traditions, le Québec et Kahnawake ont convenu de négocier dans le respect mutuel de leur identité nationale de même que de leur histoire et de leur occupation du territoire;

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake et le Québec veulent continuer à unir leurs efforts aux fins d'assurer dans le territoire de Kahnawake la prestation de services de police efficaces, efficients, de qualité professionnelle et respectueux de la culture du milieu et ce, conformément aux besoins et aux attentes des populations concernées;

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake et le Québec ont convenu, dans la « Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel », que Kahnawake continuera de pouvoir conclure des ententes avec tout autre gouvernement, suivant ses propres priorités, dans l'exercice de ses compétences et par l'entremise de ses institutions légales;

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake et le Canada ont conclu et peuvent conclure des ententes complémentaires concernant les services de police; et

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake, le Québec et le Canada désirent continuer à se concerter quant à l'exercice de leur autorité respective en matière de prestation de services de police.

EN CONSÉQUENCE, KAHNAWAKE ET LE QUÉBEC (LES PARTIES) CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

OBJET ET INTERPRÉTATION

1. Cette entente a pour objet de définir le cadre d'une coopération effective entre les parties en matière de services de police afin de préserver la paix, l'ordre et la sécurité publique à Kahnawake et d'établir des rapports fonctionnels entre les parties en cette matière. Elle fixe aussi la participation du Québec, en complémentarité avec celle du Canada, au financement du corps de police de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Peacekeepers »).

2. Le territoire de Kahnawake, aux fins de la présente entente, est le territoire sur lequel le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake a compétence.

3. Le préambule fait partie intégrante de la présente entente.

ANNEXES

4. Les annexes suivantes sont incorporées par les présentes à cette entente et en font partie intégrante :

Annexe I : Dispositions du Code de déontologie des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake.

Annexe II : Recrutement - critères d'embauche

CORPS DE POLICE

5. Kahnawake s'engage à maintenir en opération le corps des Peacekeepers, un corps de police dûment constitué sous l'autorité du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake et chargé de maintenir la paix, l'ordre et la sécurité publique dans le territoire de Kahnawake, d'y prévenir le crime ainsi que les infractions aux lois applicables sur ce territoire et d'en rechercher les auteurs.

Les parties reconnaissent que ce corps de police des Peacekeepers est de nature distincte et, par conséquent, les dispositions de la présente entente ne doivent pas être interprétées comme signifiant que le corps de police de Kahnawake est un corps de police provincial ou un corps de police municipal.

6. Il est convenu que les membres des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake exercent leurs pouvoirs à titre d'employés du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake sous la direction d'un chef de police (ci-après appelé « Chief Peacekeeper ») sous l'autorité du Peacekeepers Administration Board (ci-après appelé « PAB »).

INDÉPENDANCE POLICIÈRE ET MÉCANISME D'IMPUTABILITÉ

7. Il est convenu qu'afin d'assurer l'indépendance fonctionnelle des Peacekeepers, le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake devra maintenir en opération le PAB en tant qu'organisme imputable à la communauté des activités des Peacekeepers. Cet organisme sera chargé de déterminer les buts, objectifs, priorités et politiques de gestion du corps de police et d'en surveiller l'administration.

8. Kahnawake s'engage à assurer au Chief Peacekeeper, pour l'exercice de ses fonctions, l'exercice d'une autorité indépendante du Conseil, de ses membres ou de son personnel.

9. Il est convenu que le Conseil, ses membres, son personnel et tout organisme constitué par lui doit s'abstenir de donner des directives au Chief Peacekeeper ainsi qu'aux membres des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, au sujet de décisions opérationnelles particulières ou des opérations quotidiennes du corps de police, sauf en conformité des dispositions de la « Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law ».

NORMES D'EMBAUCHE

10. Il est convenu que pour devenir membre des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, une personne devra satisfaire aux normes de la « Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law » tel que décrites à l'annexe II.

ASSERMENTATION

11. Il est entendu qu'avant d'entrer en fonction, les membres des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake devront prêter serment (ou affirmation solennelle) selon ce qui est prévu à la « Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law ».

DÉONTOLOGIE POLICIÈRE

12. Il est convenu qu'en matière de déontologie policière, les dispositions de l'annexe I régissent la conduite des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake.

Tout manquement ou toute omission concernant un devoir ou une norme de conduite prévus à l'Annexe I constitue un acte dérogatoire et peut entraîner l'imposition d'une sanction à la suite d'une plainte formulée par une personne en vertu des lois applicables.

13. Un plaignant qui est un Mohawk de Kahnawake doit suivre la procédure prévue à la « Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law ».

14. Un plaignant autre qu'un Mohawk de Kahnawake peut suivre la procédure prévue à la « Kahnawake Peacekeepers Law » ou , à son choix, la procédure prévue à la Loi sur l'organisation policière.

15. Le Commissaire à la déontologie policière peut conclure un protocole d'entente avec le PAB en ce qui concerne :

a) les plaintes visées aux articles 13 et 14,
b) les plaintes faites par un Mohawk à l'endroit d'un membre de tout corps de police québécois.

16. Lorsque le Comité de déontologie siège en rapport avec une plainte contre un membre des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, le membre qui préside doit être membre d'une communauté autochtone.

COMITÉ DE LIAISON

17. Le Comité de liaison constitué par les présentes est chargé de surveiller l'application de la présente entente et de l'entente complémentaire entre Kahnawake et le Canada.

18. Le Comité de liaison sera composé d'au moins quatre (4) membres, dont&nbps;:

a) deux (2) représentants de Kahnawake;
b) un (1) représentant du Québec;
c) un (1) représentant du Canada.

19. Le Comité de liaison se réunira aussi souvent que nécessaire mais au moins une fois tous les deux (2) mois.

20. Le Comité de liaison aura pour fonctions principales, entre autres :

a) d'assurer un forum de liaison et de promouvoir la coopération entre le Québec, Kahnawake et le Canada;
b) d'évaluer les besoins en formation des policiers oeuvrant sur le territoire de Kahnawake et de formuler des recommandations concernant : le choix des institutions de formation policière; l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre d'un programme annuel de formation; d'autres programmes portant, entre autres, sur le détachement, les échanges et la formation spécialisée;
c) d'assurer le suivi de l'élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre des dispositions de l'article 22 de la présente entente concernant l'assistance mutuelle et la coopération opérationnelle entre les Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, la Sûreté du Québec et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, et de surveiller la mise en oeuvre de toute autre entente, actuelle ou éventuelle, entre le corps de police de Kahnawake et tout autre service de police;
d) de recevoir les rapports d'activités annuels et les transmettre aux parties aux présentes;
e) de revoir les demandes budgétaires annuelles et spéciales et les transmettre aux parties aux présentes;
f) de faire les recommandations qu'il juge appropriées aux parties sur la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente;
g) de voir à la mise en oeuvre du protocole d'entente entre le Commissaire à la déontologie et le PAB qui est prévu à l'article 15.

Les parties à la présente entente s'engagent à informer le Comité de liaison par écrit et en temps utile de toute question qu'une ou l'autre des parties considère importante et qui est susceptible d'avoir un effet négatif sur les services de police. Les parties devront alors confier au Comité de liaison le mandat de résoudre la difficulté ou de faire des recommandations aux parties.

Il est entendu que le Comité bénéficiera d'une période d'au moins 30 jours pour suggérer aux parties les voies de solutions. Il est également entendu que les solutions que le Comité de liaison peut proposer peuvent être intérimaires ou permanentes.

Dans le délai mentionné précédemment, les parties conviennent de faire de leur mieux pour résoudre la difficulté qui est sensée avoir un effet négatif sur les services de police et, également, de faire tous les efforts requis pour prévenir la commission ou l'omission de tout geste susceptible d'aggraver la situation sous examen par les parties.

DIFFICULTÉS D'APPLICATION

21. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au Comité de liaison toute omission, mésentente ou situation qu'elles estiment de nature à empêcher l'application de l'une ou de l'ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente, en vue de régler la difficulté.

Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l'expiration de 30 jours de la date où le Comité en a été saisie, la partie qui l'a soumise peut adresser aux autres parties un avis écrit de résiliation de la présente entente, en vertu de l'article 37.

COLLABORATION ENTRE CORPS DE POLICE

22. Il est entendu que la présente entente n'a pas pour objet de modifier le mandat dévolu à la Sûreté du Québec, à la GRC et aux Peacekeepers de Kahnawake en vertu des lois applicables.

Les parties conviennent que la Sûreté du Québec et les Peacekeepers de Kahnawake devront prendre des arrangements d'assistance mutuelle et de coopération opérationnelle relativement à la surveillance effective de l'observation des lois.

Les parties conviennent de plus que des protocoles opérationnels existent ou peuvent exister entre, d'une part, les Peacekeepers et, d'autre part, la Sûreté du Québec, ou la GRC, ou le SPCUM. De tels protocoles pourront également être conclus entre les Peacekeepers et tout autre corps de police avec lequel une telle coopération serait requise.

FINANCEMENT

23. Le Québec convient de participer, en complémentarité avec le Canada, au financement des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake. Cette contribution ne doit pas dépasser 48% du budget annuel des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, tel que négocié par le Comité de liaison.

24. La contribution du Québec, pour la durée initiale de la présente entente, sera la suivante :

1999 - 2000

1 224 000$

2000 - 2001

1 272 000$

2001 - 2002

1 320 000$

2002 - 2003

1 320 000$

2003 - 2004

1 320 000$


25. De plus, les parties conviennent que la dite contribution sera assujettie aux modalités suivantes :

a) Québec paiera annuellement sa contribution financière, visée à l'article 24, au Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake selon les modalités de versement suivantes :

50 % de la contribution du Québec, visée à l'article 24, sera versée en un premier versement, durant la première semaine de juin;
25 % de la contribution du Québec, visée à l'article 24, sera versée dans un deuxième versement, durant la première semaine d'octobre;
25 % de la contribution du Québec, visée à l'article 24, sera versée dans un troisième versement, durant la première semaine de février.

b) Pour les fins de la présente entente, la contribution financière annuelle du Québec prévue à l'article 24 est sujette à l'approbation des crédits nécessaires par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec.
c) Le Québec et Kahnawake conviennent, de plus que les dispositions additionnelles suivantes prévaudront sur les autres dispositions de la présente entente :
Kahnawake devra s'assurer que la contribution financière provenant du Québec pour les Peacekeepers de Kahnawake serve à maintenir, à Kahnawake, un niveau et une qualité de services policiers qui correspondent aux normes et standards applicables.

Kahnawake s'engage à transmettre au Comité de liaison, dans les 90 jours qui suivent la fin de l'exercice financier du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake, des états financiers vérifiés des opérations financières reliées à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

26. De plus, en raison de circonstances exceptionnelles et en complémentarité avec le Canada, le Québec convient de faire une contribution annuelle additionnelle afin d'améliorer les infrastructures requises par les Peacekeepers au cours de la durée initiale de la présente entente. Cette contribution annuelle, au montant de 152 000 $, sera faite au moyen d'un versement unique au cours de la première semaine de mai.

27. Le Québec pourra, pour cause raisonnable et après avis de cette cause donné par écrit au Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake, nommer un vérificateur indépendant pour réviser les livres financiers tenus par le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake en rapport avec le coût des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake et les coûts reliés à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente. Kahnawake convient de donner accès aux dits livres financiers.

28. Advenant qu'il y ait, au cours d'une année financière donnée, un surplus par rapport aux coûts réels de fonctionnement des Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake s'engage à transférer cet excédent à l'année financière subséquente et à affecter cet excédent à des activités reliées à la police. Le transfert d'un tel excédent d'une année financière à une autre sera sans conséquence sur la contribution financière annuelle du Québec convenue par entente entre le Québec et Kahnawake.

ASSURANCES

29. Kahnawake s'engage à faire souscrire par le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake une assurance générale feu-vol ainsi qu'une assurance responsabilité employeur-employé d'un montant d'au moins 2 000 000 $ par sinistre et d'un montant maximum de 5 000 000 $ pour tous les sinistres, à l'égard des dommages corporels ou matériels de quelque nature que ce soit pouvant être causés à des tiers par les Peacekeepers de Kahnawake, par l'organisme spécial imputable devant le Conseil, constitué en vertu de l'article 7 de la présente entente, ou par leurs membres, employés, dirigeants ou agents respectifs, dans l'exécution de la présente entente. Le Canada et le Québec seront désignés coassurés dans les polices d'assurance en question. Kahnawake présentera au Québec une preuve de ces assurances aussitôt que possible après la signature de la présente entente.

MISE EN OEUVRE DE L'ENTENTE

30. Le Québec s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

31. Le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

GARANTIES JURIDIQUES ET CONSTITUTIONNELLES

32. La présente entente est conclue entre le Québec et les Mohawks de Kahnawake dans un esprit de coopération en vue d'harmoniser les services de police et ce, sans préjudice aux négociations en cours ou à venir sur les relations entre le Canada, le Québec et Kahnawake ou à toute entente susceptible de résulter de ces négociations.

33. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit.

DURÉE

34. Malgré la date de sa signature, la présente entente prend effet à compter du 1er avril 1999 et demeurera en vigueur jusqu'au 31 mars 2004, sujette aux dispositions des présentes en matière de résiliation, et à l'article 29.

35. La présente entente peut être renouvelée ou prolongée aux conditions convenues par écrit par les parties.

AMENDEMENTS

36. Les parties peuvent, d'un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires sur des modalités en matière de services de police non prévues à la présente entente.

Pour donner effet à tels amendements ou à de telles ententes complémentaires, les articles 30 et 31 des présentes s'appliquent.

RÉSILIATION

37. L'entente est résiliée à l'expiration de 90 jours de la date de transmission par l'une ou l'autre des parties d'un avis de résiliation, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes, et ce, conformément aux dispositions des articles 17 à 20.

38. En cas de résiliation, le comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

39. En cas de résiliation de la présente entente par l'une ou l'autre des parties, le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake s'engage à :

a) voir au paiement de toutes les sommes dues pour des biens ou des services fournis au corps de police de Kahnawake avant ou à la date de la résiliation;
b) rembourser au Québec, 48% de la partie non dépensée de la contribution financière totale, dans les 90 jours de la date de résiliation.

DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES

40. In the event that any provision in this Agreement shall be deemed void or invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining provisions shall be and remain in full force and effect and the parties undertake to remedy this nullity or invalidity as quickly as possible so that the purposes of this Agreement can be achieved.

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé ce _____ jour de _____ 1999 :

Pour le Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

_______________
Serge Ménard
Ministre de la Sécurité publique

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 30 mars 1999