Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

AGREEMENT ON FISCAL MATTERS
CONSUMER GOODS AND SERVICES
BETWEEN QUÉBEC
AND KAHNAWAKE

WHEREAS Quebec and Kahnawake have signed a Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect and a Framework Agreement which provides for the negotiation of sectoral agreements in a number of areas, including fiscal matters;

AND WHEREAS the Mohawks of Kahnawake have the right to the tax exemptions described in the Indian Act. (R.S.C. (1985) c. I-5).

AND WHEREAS the present situation with regard to taxation of consumer goods and services is not satisfactory and has resulted in misunderstandings which have caused conflicts between the parties;

AND WHEREAS the parties wish to conclude an agreement for the purpose of establishing certain principles and procedures that will resolve these misunderstandings and avoid future conflicts between themselves;

AND WHEREAS the parties are intended to sign a complementary agreement on fiscal matters related to consumer goods and services.

NOW THEREFORE THE PARTIES AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

Part 1

OBJECT OF THE AGREEMENT


1. The purpose of this Agreement is to identify the principles and procedures that will define the relationship between the parties in fiscal matters regarding consumer goods and services.

2. The Territory of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Territory") is, for the purpose of this Agreement, the territory over which the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Council") has jurisdiction.

3. The Preamble is an integral part of this Agreement.

4. The following Schedules are an integral part of this Agreement:

  1. Definitions;
  2. Monitoring of the general level of prices;
  3. Reimbursement process and record keeping;
  4. List of tax-exempt goods.

    5. The taxes covered by this Agreement are the Quebec sales tax (QST) under Title I of the Act respecting the Québec Sales Tax (R.S.Q, c. T-0.1) and the Goods and Services tax (GST) under Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (R.S.C. (1985) c.E-15), hereinafter referred to collectively as " sales taxes ";

    If an agreement cannot be concluded with Canada for the inclusion of the GST in this Agreement, the parties reserve the right to review this Agreement.

    6. The parties agree that the fiscal regime defined in this Agreement applies only to Mohawks of Kahnawake who ordinarily reside on the Territory, hereinafter referred to individually or collectively as " beneficiary" or "beneficiaries".

    Part 2

    PURCHASES MADE BY BENEFICIARIES

    Supply of Goods and Services on the Territory


    7. The supply on the Territory to a beneficiary of goods for personal use or consumption or of services remain exempt from sales taxes at the time and place of supply.

    Supply of goods outside the Territory

    8. The supply outside the Territory to a beneficiary of goods for personal use or consumption in the Territory is exempt from sales taxes at the time and place of supply, on the mandatory presentation to the merchant of the identification card the form and content of which will be acceptable to the parties.

    9. The goods covered by section 8 are those coming within the categories listed in Schedule 4.

    This Schedule may be amended with the consent of the parties.

    10. The parties may agree to set maximum amounts or other limits for the goods supplied outside the Territory and beyond which the identification card referred to in section 8 cannot be used.

    Notwithstanding the foregoing, the parties may agree on a process for reimbursing the sales taxes paid by a beneficiary on the supply of goods for personal consumption in the Territory and for which the card referred to in section 8 cannot be used because of the application of the first paragraph.

    Supply of Services Outside the Territory

    11. The sales taxes paid on the supply outside the Territory to a beneficiary of services designated by the parties or which are related to a personally owned moveable or immoveable good, situated in the Territory, may be reimbursed under the terms and conditions agreed upon by the parties.

    The parties may also agree that the supply of certain designated services shall be exempt from sales taxes at the time and place of supply on the mandatory presentation of the identification card referred to in section 8.

    Part 3

    PURCHASES MADE BY NON BENEFICIARIES


    12. The parties agree that in the event the retail price of the goods or services supplied in the Territory to persons who are not beneficiaries are not within the prevailing market prices in the surrounding region, it shall not be attributable to the operation of this Agreement.

    13. For the application of sections 12 and 20, the Council may replace the sales taxes by a charge or fee the proceeds of which shall remain in Kahnawake, and the amount of which shall be harmonized with the amount of the QST and the GST.

    Part 4

    RETAIL BUSINESS


    14. A supply of goods or services made to a recognized Mohawk merchant for the purpose of use, consumption or supply in the course of that Mohawk merchant's retail business in the Territory, is exempt from the sales taxes.

    For the purposes of this section, Kahnawake agrees to implement a procedure for identifying all Mohawk merchants carrying on retail businesses in the Territory and differentiating them from the Mohawk merchants carrying on wholesale or manufacturing businesses in the Territory.

    Part 5

    PURCHASES BY COUNCIL


    15. Goods and services supplied for its own use to the Council or to an entity of the Council to which the latter has delegated powers, or to any other entity of a public nature jointly designated by the parties, shall be exempt from sales taxes at the time and place of supply.

    Part 6

    ASSESSMENT MECHANISMS

    Establishment of an Office


    16. Kahnawake will establish and maintain an Office (hereafter referred to as the "Office") to manage the identification card system and the reimbursement process.

    17. Quebec recognizes the Office as a Kahnawake Mohawk institution charged with the implementation of this Agreement, including the administration of reimbursement demands.

    Use of Identification Card

    18. Kahnawake shall provide for regular controls of the identification card system.

    19. A list of all Mohawks to which this Agreement applies shall be transmitted to the Minister of Revenue for his information. This list shall identify the beneficiaries who are temporarily absent from the Territory and shall be updated on a regular basis.

    The Minister of Revenue shall keep this information strictly confidential and shall not use it without the consent of the Council for any purpose other than matters identified in this Agreement.

    Price Structure Monitoring

    20. The parties agree to set up a joint mechanism for the monitoring of the general price levels in the Territory and in the surrounding region as provided in Schedule 2.

    Exchange of Information

    21. The parties agree regularly to exchange all the information, data and statistics required for each party to be in a position to appraise the implementation of this Agreement. Each party will respect the confidentiality of such information and use it, in accordance with applicable laws, for no other purpose than matters identified in this Agreement.

    22. In the event the parties cannot agree on the nature of the information, data or statistics to be exchanged, the matter will be submitted to the Liaison Committee referred to hereinafter.

    Part 7

    COOPERATION


    23. The parties to this Agreement recognize the need to cooperate and to combine their efforts to achieve the purposes of this Agreement.

    24. Quebec will assist the Office, its members and the employees charged by the Council to implement this Agreement in order to facilitate the application of the tax exemption and reimbursement system contemplated in this Agreement.

    Implementation

    25. The chief of the Office and the deputy-minister of Revenue are responsible for the application and implementation of this Agreement. Each of them may delegate to any person of the Office or the Department the power to implement any section of this Agreement.

    26. Quebec agrees to take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

    27. Kahnawake agrees to take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

    Liaison Committee

    28. A Liaison Committee is formed as an advisory body in charge of supervising the application of this Agreement and of a complementary agreement on the taxation of tobacco, petroleum and alcohol products.

    29. The Liaison Committee shall be composed of an equal number of representatives from each party.

    30. The Liaison Committee shall meet as often as required.

    31. The Liaison Committee shall have the power to make joint recommendations to the parties concerning any matter relative to the implementation of this Agreement.

    Part 8

    FINAL PROVISIONS

    Duration of the Agreement


    32. This Agreement shall take effect on the date of its signing by both parties and remain in effect for a period of five years, subject to the provisions of this Agreement.

    However, section 8, 12, 13, 14,16, 18 and 20 shall come into effect on the date agreed upon in writing by the parties.

    33. The parties may agree on an agenda for the progressive implementation of this Agreement and, if necessary, on transitional arrangements.

    Amendment of the Agreement

    34. The parties may, by written agreement, amend this Agreement or conclude supplementary agreements by an exchange of letters with respect to the implementation of this Agreement on matters not specified herein.

    Difficulties of application

    35. The parties agree to submit to the Liaison Committee any disagreement or situation that may hinder the application of any or all the provisions of this Agreement.

    36. Should the difficulty remain unresolved at the expiry of a delay of thirty (30) days from the date it was submitted to the committee, the party that submitted it may address the other party a written resiliation notice as provided in section 37.

    Cancellation of the Agreement

    37. This Agreement is canceled at the expiry of a delay of sixty (60) days from the date a written resiliation notice is forwarded by either of the parties, unless the parties agree on different terms before the end of such delay.

    38. In case of cancellation, the Liaison Committee shall recommend to the parties the transitional or final arrangements to be made.

    Renewal of the Agreement

    39. This Agreement is renewed automatically unless one of the parties gives the other a written notice of termination. This Agreement remains in effect for a maximum period of sixty (60) days after its expiry unless the parties agree otherwise.

    In the event of non renewal of this Agreement, section 38 applies.

    40. This Agreement is not intended to be an agreement or a treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 nor is it to be interpreted in any way as abrogating, derogating, negating or recognizing any aboriginal, treaty or other rights, except to the extent that it recognizes the right of the Mohawks to tax exemptions.

    41. Nothing in this Agreement affects the rights of a person who is not a beneficiary to benefit from the tax exemptions provided for in the Indian Act.

    42. Should any provision of this Agreement be declared null or void by a competent tribunal, the parties undertake to remedy this nullity or invalidity as quickly as possible so that the purposes of this Agreement can be achieved.

    IN WITNESS WHEREOF the parties have signed this _____ day of _____ 1999:

    On behalf of Québec,

    _______________
    Guy Chevrette
    Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

    On behalf of Kahnawake,

    _______________
    Joseph Tokwiro Norton
    Grand Chief
    Mohawk Council of Kahnawake

    _______________
    Rita Dionne-Marsolais
    Ministre du Revenu

    _______________
    Bernard Landry
    Vice-Premier ministre
    Ministre d'État à l'Économie et aux Finances
    Ministre de l'Industrie et du Commerce
    Ministre des Finances

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE SUR LA FISCALITÉ DES SERVICES ET DES BIENS DE CONSOMMATION ENTRE LE QUÉBEC ET KAHNAWAKE

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec et Kahnawake ont signé une Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel et une Entente-cadre qui prévoit la négociation d'ententes sectorielles dans un certain nombre de domaines, dont la fiscalité;

CONSIDÉRANT que les Mohawks de Kahnawake ont droit aux exemptions fiscales décrites dans la Loi sur les Indiens (L.R.C. (1985) c. I-5);

CONSIDÉRANT qu'en ce qui concerne les taxes sur les services et les biens de consommation, la situation actuelle n'est pas satisfaisante et a causé des mésententes et de la friction entre les parties;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties veulent s'entendre sur des principes et des procédures susceptibles de résoudre ces mésententes et de prévenir les conflits entre elles;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties ont l'intention de conclure une entente complémentaire sur la fiscalité du tabac, des carburants et des boissons alcooliques ;

EN CONSÉQUENCE, LES PARTIES CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

Section 1

OBJET DE L'ENTENTE

1. La présente entente a pour objet de définir les principes et procédures qui guideront les parties en matière de fiscalité relative aux biens de consommation et aux services.

2. Le territoire de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Territoire ») est aux fins de la présente entente, le territoire sur lequel le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Conseil ») a compétence.

3. Le préambule fait partie intégrante de la présente entente.

4. Les annexes ci-après énumérées font partie intégrante de la présente entente :

1. Définitions ;
2. Évaluation du niveau général des prix ;
3. Modalités de remboursement et maintien des registres;
4. Liste des biens exemptés.

5. Les taxes et impôts visés par la présente entente sont la taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ) prévue par le Titre I de la Loi sur la taxe de vente du Québec (L.R.Q., c.T-0.1) et la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) prévue par la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (L.R.C. (1985) c.E-15),ci-après appelées « taxes de vente »;

Si une entente ne peut être conclue avec le Canada en vue d'inclure la TPS dans la présente entente, les parties se réservent le droit de revoir la présente entente.

6. Les parties conviennent que le régime fiscal défini dans la présente entente ne s'applique qu'aux Mohawks de Kahnawake qui résident habituellement dans le Territoire (ci-après appelés individuellement ou collectivement « bénéficiaire » ou « bénéficiaires »).

Section 2

ACHATS EFFECTUÉS PAR LES BÉNÉFICIAIRES

Fourniture de biens ou de services sur le Territoire

7. La fourniture sur le Territoire à un bénéficiaire de biens pour sa consommation ou utilisation personnelle ou d'un service continue d'être exempte de taxes de vente au moment et à l'endroit de la fourniture.

Fourniture de biens hors du Territoire

8. La fourniture en dehors du Territoire à un bénéficiaire de biens pour sa consommation ou utilisation personnelle sur le Territoire est exempte de taxe de vente au moment et à l'endroit de la fourniture, sur présentation obligatoire au commerçant de la carte d'identité dont la forme et le contenu auront été acceptés par les parties.

9. Pour l'application de l'article 8, les biens visés par cet article sont ceux qui sont décrits à l'annexe 4.
Cette annexe peut être modifiée du consentement des parties.

10. Les parties peuvent fixer des montants maximums ou autres limites s'appliquant aux biens fournis hors du Territoire et au-delà desquels la carte visée à l'article 8 ne pourra pas être utilisée.

Toutefois, les parties pourront convenir d'une méthode de remboursement des taxes de vente payées par un bénéficiaire à l'égard de la fourniture de biens pour sa consommation ou utilisation personnelle dans le Territoire et pour lesquels la carte d'identité visée à l'article 8, n'a pas pu être utilisée en raison de l'application du premier alinéa.

Fourniture de services hors du Territoire

11. Les taxes de vente payées par un bénéficiaire à l'égard de la fourniture qui lui a été rendue à l'extérieur du Territoire d'un service désigné par les parties ou d'un service relié à un bien situé sur le Territoire et qui lui appartient, peuvent faire l'objet d'un remboursement conformément aux conditions et modalités déterminées par les parties.
Les parties peuvent également convenir que la fourniture de certains services désignés pourra être exempte de taxes de vente au moment et à l'endroit de la fourniture sur présentation de la carte d'identité visée à l'article 8.

Section 3

ACHATS EFFECTUÉS PAR DES NON BÉNÉFICIAIRES

12. Les parties conviennent que dans le cas où le prix de détail des biens ou services fournis sur le Territoire à des personnes qui ne sont pas des bénéficiaires divergerait des prix du marché observés dans la région avoisinant ce Territoire, cela ne doit pas être dû à l'application de la présente entente.

13. Pour l'application des articles 12 et 20, le Conseil peut remplacer les taxes de vente par une charge ou un frais dont le produit doit rester à Kahnawake et dont le montant, déterminé par Kahnawake, doit être harmonisé au montant de la TVQ et de la TPS.

Section 4

COMMERCE DE DÉTAIL

14. La fourniture de biens ou de services effectuée à un marchand mohawk reconnu pour les fins d'utilisation, de consommation ou de fourniture dans le cadre de son commerce de détail sur le Territoire, est exempte de taxes de vente.

Aux fins du présent article, Kahnawake convient de mettre en place une procédure permettant d'identifier les marchands mohawks qui sont engagés dans le commerce de détail sur le Territoire et de les distinguer des marchands mohawks engagés dans le commerce de gros ou la fabrication dans le Territoire.

Section 5

ACHATS PAR LE CONSEIL

15. Les biens et services fournis pour son propre usage au Conseil ou à une entité du conseil à laquelle celui-ci a délégué des pouvoirs ou à toute autre entité de nature publique désignée conjointement par les parties, sont exempts de taxe de vente au moment et au lieu de la fourniture.

Section 6

MÉCANISMES D'ÉVALUATION

Création d'un Bureau

16. Kahnawake mettra sur pied un Bureau (ci-après appelé « Bureau ») qui aura pour mandat de gérer le système de cartes d'identité et les demandes de remboursement.

17. Le Québec reconnaît le Bureau comme un organisme mohawk de Kahnawake ayant pour mandat d'appliquer la présente entente et notamment de gérer les demandes de remboursement.

Utilisation d'une carte d'identité

18. Kahnawake verra à établir un contrôle périodique du système de cartes d'identité.

19. Une liste des détenteurs de ces cartes devra être remise au ministère du Revenu à titre de renseignement. Cette liste devra identifier les bénéficiaires qui sont temporairement absents du Territoire; elle doit être mise à jour régulièrement.

Le ministre du Revenu respectera le caractère confidentiel de cette information et, sauf du consentement du Conseil, ne l'utilisera que pour les fins de la présente entente.

Surveillance de la structure générale des prix

20. Les parties conviennent de mettre sur pied un mécanisme conjoint de surveillance du niveau général des prix de détail sur le Territoire et dans la région avoisinante, tel que décrit à l'annexe 2.

Échange d'informations

21. Les parties conviennent de s'échanger, sur une base régulière, les informations, données et statistiques requises pour que chacune soit en mesure de juger du bon fonctionnement de l'entente. Chaque partie respectera la confidentialité de cette information et ne l'utilisera, dans le cadre des lois applicables, que pour les fins de la présente entente.

22. Dans le cas où les parties ne pourraient pas s'entendre sur la nature de l'information, des données ou des statistiques qui doivent être échangées, la question sera soumise au Comité de liaison prévu ci-après.

Section 7

COOPÉRATION

23. Les parties reconnaissent la nécessité de coopérer et de mettre leurs efforts en commun pour réaliser les objectifs de la présente entente.

24. Le Québec s'engage à fournir assistance au Bureau, à ses membres et aux employés chargés par le Conseil d'administrer la présente entente afin de faciliter l'application de l'exemption fiscale et des remboursements prévus par la présente entente.

Mise en oeuvre de l'entente

25. Le chef du Bureau et le sous-ministre du Revenu sont les personnes responsables de l'application et de l'exécution de la présente entente. Ils peuvent déléguer respectivement à toute personne du Bureau ou du Ministère la responsabilité de l'application d'une ou de plusieurs dispositions prévues à la présente entente.

26. Le Québec s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

27. Kahnawake s'engage à prendre dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Comité de liaison

28. Un Comité de liaison est constitué en tant qu'organisme consultatif chargé de surveiller l'application de la présente entente et de l'entente complémentaire sur la taxation du tabac, des carburants et des boissons alcooliques.

29. Le Comité de liaison sera composé à part égale de représentants de chacune des parties.

30. Le Comité de liaison se réunira aussi souvent que nécessaire.

31. Le Comité de liaison aura le pouvoir de faire aux parties des recommandations conjointes sur toute question relative à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Section 8

DISPOSITIONS FINALES

Durée de l'entente

32. La présente entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur pour une période de cinq ans, sous réserve des dispositions de la présente entente.

Toutefois, les articles 8, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18 et 20 prendront effet à la date fixée par écrit par les parties.

33. Les parties pourront convenir d'un calendrier de mise en vigueur progressive des dispositions de la présente entente et, au besoin, de la mise sur pied de mécanismes transitoires.

Amendement de l'entente

34. Les parties peuvent, d'un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires par un échange de lettres sur des modalités d'application de la présente entente non prévues à celle-ci.

Difficulté d'application

35. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au Comité de liaison toute mésentente ou situation qu'elles estiment de nature à empêcher l'application de l'une ou de l'ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente.

36. Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l'expiration de trente jours de la date où le Comité en a été saisi, la partie qui l'a soumise peut adresser à l'autre partie un avis de résiliation écrit, tel que prévu à l'article 37.

Résiliation de l'entente

37. L'entente est résiliée à l'expiration de soixante jours de la date de transmission, par l'une ou l'autre des parties, d'un avis de résiliation écrit, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes.

38. En cas de résiliation, le Comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

Renouvellement de l'entente

39. La présente entente sera renouvelée automatiquement à moins d'un avis contraire donné par écrit par l'une des parties à l'autre. Elle demeure en vigueur pour une période n'excédant pas soixante jours après son expiration, à moins que les parties n'en conviennent autrement.

En cas de non renouvellement de l'entente, l'article 38 s'applique.

40. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit, sauf dans la mesure où elle reconnaît le droit des Mohawks à des exemptions fiscales.

41. Rien dans la présente entente n'affecte les droits d'une personne qui n'est pas un bénéficiaire de bénéficier des exemptions fiscales prévues à la Loi sur les Indiens.

42. Advenant qu'une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un tribunal compétent, les parties s'engagent à remédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs recherchés par l'entente soient atteints.

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé ce _____ jour de _____ 1999 :

Pour le Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

_______________
Rita Dionne-Marsolais
Ministre du Revenu


_______________
Bernard Landry
Vice-Premier ministre
Ministre d'État à l'Économie et aux Finances
Ministre de l'Industrie et du Commerce
Ministre des Finances

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 30 mars 1999