Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

AGREEMENT RELATING TO PROFESSIONAL
COMBAT SPORTS PERMITS
BETWEEN QUÉBEC
AND KAHNAWAKE

WHEREAS the parties are willing to unite their effort in order to assure that the organization of professionnal combat sports is efficient, effective and honest and ensures the safety and the integrity of the people taking part or assisting in an event;

WHEREAS the parties are willing to unite their efforts in order to assure that all safety and control measures necessary are considered in light of the nature of the activities related to these sports in accordance with applicable laws;

WHEREAS, in concluding this Agreement, the parties clearly express their commitment to consult each other regarding the exercise of their respective authority regarding professional combat sports;

NOW THEREFORE IT IS AGREED THAT:

Purpose and Interpretation


1. The purpose of this Agreement is to establish a framework for effective cooperation between the parties with the issuance and control of professional combat sports permits in the territory of Kahnawake.
2. The territory of Kahnawake, for the purpose of this Agreement, is the territory over which the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake has jurisdiction.
3. The preamble is an integral part of this Agreement.

Constitution, Mission and Operation of the Kahnawake Athletic Commission

4. Kahnawake agrees to maintain and operate a regulatory organization named the Kahnawake Athletic Commission, hereinafter called the "Commission", which is responsible for issuing, suspending and cancelling professional combat sports licences or permits as well as controlling their use.
5. The Commission has the authority to issue, suspend, cancel, regulate and control the use of professional combat sports licences or permits in the territory of Kahnawake according to applicable laws.
6. The professional combat sports licences or permits governed by this Agreement are organizer, contestant, manager, trainer, corner attendant, official or printer in connection with a sports event.
7. Kahnawake shall take such measures as are necessary to ensure that:

i) In the discharge of its functions, the Commission shall act in a reasonable and equitable manner with all persons concerned; at any time, it shall act so as to ensure that, in the public interest, professional combat sports are engaged in with safety, competence and integrity and that their good reputation is maintained in the territory of Kahnawake.
ii) The Commission members shall be objective and impartial in the discharge of their functions and shall avoid situations susceptible to put them in conflict of interest.
iii) No member may, on pain of forfeiture of office, have any direct or indirect interest in an enterprise causing his personal interest to conflict with that of the Commission. However, forfeiture is not incurred where such an interest devolves to him by succession or gift, provided that he renounces or disposes of it with diligence.

8. The Commission and the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux, hereinafter called the "Régie" agree to cooperate and harmonize their respectives, rules regulations, interpretations and processes.
9. To harmonize their respective rules, regulations, interpretations and processes, the Régie will send a written notice to the Commission when its laws relating to professional combat sports, its regulations or rules will be modified, in conformity with the Framework Agreement.
10. For the same purposes, the Commission undertakes to send a written notice to the Régie when its regulations and rules will be modified.

Functions, duties and responsibilities of the Kahnawake Athletic Commission

11. Within its jurisdiction, the Commission and its employees have the same authority, rights, duties and immunities as the Régie under all applicable laws relating to professional combat sports licences or permits.
12. As to the prosecution of offences of legislative provisions relating to professional combat sports under this Agreement, the parties agree that the status quo shall prevail until they negotiate and agree on methods other than prosecution initiated by the Attorney General.
13. The Commission shall maintain a standardized system of files on licences or permits holders in the territory of Kahnawake.
14. Conditions for the issue and the use of a licence or a permit governed by this Agreement should be generally similar to those applied elsewhere in Québec giving due consideration to local conditions.
15. It is agreed that, should it find it advisable within the scope of its discretionary powers, considering public interest, the safety, the competence and the integrity of the professional combat sport and nowithstanding any provisions of this Agreement, the Commission may set additional or more restrictive requirements to issue and use of licence or a permit.

Information

16. The Commission undertakes to provide to the Liaison Committee, for information purpose, periodic reports of its operation.
17. The Commission and the Régie undertake to communicate to each other without delay, for informations purposes, any decision regarding the issuance, suspension or cancellation of a licence or a permit.
18. The Commission and the Régie undertake also to exchange information relating to their respective files. Each party will respect the confidentiality of this information and will use it only in accordance with applicable laws to the extent necessary to achieve the purposes of this Agreement.

Cooperation

19. The Régie and the Commission will combine their efforts to achieve the purposes of this Agreement and, to that effect, may conclude between themselves agreements and other arrangements which are complementary to this Agreement.

Liaison Committee

20. A Liaison Committee is formed as the advisory body in charge of supervising the application of this Agreement.
21. The Liaison Committee shall be composed of at least four (4) members; the numbers of representatives of each party must be equal.
22. The Liaison Committee shall meet as often as required.
23. The Liaison Committee shall have the power to make joint recommandations to the parties concerning any matter relative to the implementation of this Agreement.

Difficulties of Applications

24. The parties agree to submit to the Liaison Committee any dispute or situation that may hinder the application of any or all the provisions of this Agreement
25. Should the difficulty remain unresolved at the expiration of a delay of thirty (30) days from the date it was submitted to the Liaison Committee, the party that submitted it may address to the other party a written termination notice according to section 31.

Implementation of the Agreement

26. Québec agrees to take as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.
27. Kahnawake agrees to take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

Duration of the Agreement

28. This Agreement shall take effect on the date of its signing by both parties subject to the provisions of this Agreement.

The parties may agree on an agenda for the progressive implementation of this Agreement and, if necessary, on transitional arrangement.

29. The duration of this Agreement is for a period of five (5) years and will be, at is expiry, automatically renewed for additional terms unless one of the parties send a termination notice to the other.

Amendment of the Agreement

30. The parties may, by a written agreement, amend this Agreement or conclude supplementary agreements by an exchange of letters in respect to the implementation of this Agreement or to matters not specified herein.


Termination of the Agreement

31. This Agreement may be terminated at the expiry of a delay of sixty (60) days from the date a termination notice is forwarded by either of the parties, unless the parties agree on different terms before the end of such delay.
32. In case of termination, the Liaison Committee shall recommend to the parties the transitional or final arrangements to be made.
33. In case of termination of this Agreement by either one of the parties, the parties agree to take the appropriate steps to end this Agreement.

Miscellanous Provisions

34. This Agreement is not intended to be an Agreement or a treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 nor is it to be interpreted in anyway as abrogating, derogating, negating or recognizing any aboriginal, treaty of other rights.
35. Should any provision of this Agreement be declared null or invalid by a competent tribunal, the parties undertake to remedy this nullity or invalidity as quickly as possible so that the goals pursued by Agreement are achieved.

Signed on the _____ day of _____ 1999:

Pour le Québec,

_________________________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

__________________________
Serge Ménard
Ministre de la Sécurité publique
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE SUR LES SPORTS DE COMBAT ENTRE LE QUÉBEC ET KAHNAWAKE

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec et Kahnawake ont signé une Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel et une Entente-cadre qui prévoit la négociation d'ententes particulières dans un certain nombre de domaines, dont les questions reliées à la Sécurité publique;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties veulent unir leurs efforts aux fins d'assurer que l'encadrement des sports de combat professionnels soit efficace, efficient et intègre et que la sécurité et l'intégrité des personnes qui y participent ou y assistent soient assurées;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties veulent également unir leurs efforts aux fins de s'assurer que toutes les mesures de sécurité et de contrôle nécessaires soient prises compte tenu de la nature des activités reliées à de tels sports, conformément aux lois applicables;

CONSIDÉRANT qu'en concluant la présente entente, les parties expriment clairement leur engagement de se concerter quant à l'exercice de leur autorité respective en matière de sports de combat professionnels;

LES PARTIES CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

Objet et interprétation

1. Cette entente a pour objet d'établir le cadre d'une coopération efficace entre les parties en ce qui concerne la délivrance et le contrôle des permis relatifs aux sports de combat professionnels sur le territoire de Kahnawake.

2. Le territoire de Kahnawake, aux fins de la présente entente, est le territoire sur lequel le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake a compétence.

3. Le préambule fait partie intégrante de la présente entente.

Constitution, mission et fonctionnement de la Commission athlétique de Kahnawake

4. Kahnawake s'engage à maintenir en opération un organisme de contrôle, appelé Kahnawake Athletic Commission (ci-après désigné la « Commission »), qui est chargé de la délivrance, de la suspension, de l'annulation des permis relatifs aux sports de combat professionnels ainsi que du contrôle de leur exploitation.

5. La Commission a le pouvoir de délivrer , de suspendre, d'annuler, de réglementer et de contrôler l'exploitation des permis relatifs aux sports de combat professionnels sur le territoire de Kahnawake en vertu des lois applicables.

6. Les permis relatifs aux sports de combat professionnels visés par la présente entente sont ceux d'organisateur, de concurrent, de gérant, d'entraîneur, de préposé au coin, d'officiel et d'imprimeur à l'occasion d'une manifestation sportive.

7. Kahnawake prendra les mesures requises pour s'assurer que :

i) dans l'exercice de ses fonctions, la Commission agit d'une manière raisonnable, juste et équitable à l'égard de toutes les personnes intéressées; en tout temps, elle agit de façon à ce que, dans l'intérêt public, les sports de combat professionnels se déroulent de manière sure, compétente et intègre et que leur bonne réputation soit maintenue sur le territoire de Kahnawake;
ii) les membres de la Commission doivent être objectifs et impartiaux dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions ; ils doivent éviter les situations qui les mettent en conflit d'intérêt;
iii) aucun membre ne peut, sous peine de déchéance de sa charge, avoir un intérêt direct ou indirect dans une entreprise qui met en conflit son intérêt personnel et celui de la Commission. Toutefois, cette déchéance n'a pas lieu si un tel intérêt lui échoit par succession ou par donation, pourvu qu'il y renonce ou en dispose avec diligence.

8. La Commission et la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux (ci-après appelée la « Régie »), conviennent de coopérer ensemble et d'harmoniser leurs règles, règlements, interprétations et procédés respectifs.

9. Pour harmoniser leurs règles, règlements, interprétations et procédés respectifs la Régie avisera par écrit la Commission de toute modification aux lois régissant les sports de combat professionnels et à ses règlements et à ses règles suivant les termes de l'Entente-cadre.

10. Aux mêmes fins, la Commission avisera par écrit la Régie de toute modification à ses règlements et à ses règles.

Fonctions, devoirs et responsabilités de la Commission athlétique de Kahnawake

11. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, la Commission, ses membres et ses employés ont les mêmes pouvoirs, droits et immunités que la Régie en vertu des lois applicables aux sports de combat professionnels.

12. En ce qui concerne la poursuite d'infractions aux dispositions législatives relatives aux sports de combat professionnels en vertu de la présente entente, les parties conviennent que le statu quo est maintenu jusqu'à ce qu'elles aient négocié et convenu, s'il y a lieu, de modalités autres que la poursuite sur instruction du procureur général.

13. La Commission maintiendra un système standardisé de dossiers concernant les titulaires de permis sur le territoire de Kahnawake.

14. Les conditions d'obtention et d'exploitation des permis délivrés en vertu de la présente entente seront généralement semblables à celles qui s'appliquent au Québec, compte tenu des conditions locales.

15. Il est entendu que la Commission peut établir des conditions d'obtention et d'exploitation supplémentaires ou plus strictes, si elle le juge opportun, dans l'exercice de sa discrétion, compte tenu de l'intérêt public, de la sécurité, de la compétence et de l'intégrité des sports de combat professionnels.

Information

16. La Commission s'engage à remettre au comité de liaison, à titre d'information, des rapports périodiques de ses activités.

17. La Commission et la Régie s'engagent à se communiquer l'une à l'autre, sans délai et à titre d'information, toute décision rendue en matière de délivrance, de suspension ou d'annulation de permis.

18. La Régie et la Commission s'engagent également à procéder à un échange d'informations concernant leurs dossiers respectifs. Chaque partie respectera la confidentialité de cette information et ne l'utilisera que dans le cadre des lois applicables et dans la mesure nécessaire pour atteindre les objectifs de la présente entente.

Coopération

19. La Régie et la Commission reconnaissent la nécessité de mettre leurs efforts en commun pour réaliser les objectifs de la présente entente et, à cette fin, pourront conclure des ententes et arrangements qui sont complémentaires à la présente entente.

Comité de liaison

20. Un comité de liaison est constitué afin de surveiller l'application de la présente entente.

21. Le Comité de liaison sera composé d'au moins quatre (4) membres répartis en nombre égal de représentants pour chacune des parties.

22. Le Comité de liaison se réunira aussi souvent que nécessaire.

23. Le Comité de liaison aura le pouvoir de faire aux parties des recommandations conjointes sur toute question relative à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Difficultés d'application

24. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au Comité de liaison toute mésentente ou situation qu'elles estiment de nature à empêcher l'application de l'une ou de l'ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente.

25. Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l'expiration de trente (30) jours de la date où le Comité en a été saisi, la partie qui l'a soumise peut adresser à l'autre partie un avis de résiliation écrit tel que prévu à l'article 31 de la présente entente.

Mise en oeuvre de l'entente

26. Le Québec s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

27. Kahnawake s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Durée de l'entente

28. La présente entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties sous réserve des dispositions de la présente entente.

Les parties pourront convenir d'un calendrier de mise en oeuvre progressive des dispositions de la présente entente Et, au besoin, de la mise sur pied de mécanismes transitoires.

29. La durée de la présente entente est de cinq (5) ans, et elle se renouvelle automatiquement pour de nouveaux termes à moins que l'une des parties donne à l'autre un avis écrit à l'effet contraire.

Amendement de l'entente

30. Les parties peuvent, d'un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires par un échange de lettres sur des modalités d'application de la présente entente non prévues à celle-ci.

Résiliation de l'entente

31. L'entente est résiliée à l'expiration de soixante (60) jours de la date de transmission, par l'une ou l'autre des parties, d'un avis de résiliation, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes.

32. En cas de résiliation, le Comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

33. En cas de résiliation de la présente entente par l'une ou l'autre des parties, les parties s'engagent à prendre les mesures appropriées pour mettre fin à la présente entente.

Clauses diverses

34. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit.

35. Advenant qu'une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un tribunal compétent, les parties s'engagent à remédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs recherchés par l'entente soient atteints.

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé ce _____ jour de _____ 1999 :

Pour le Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

_______________
Serge Ménard
Ministre de la Sécurité publique

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 30 mars 1999