Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

AGREEMENT ON FISCAL MATTERS
RELATED TO TOBACCO, PETROLEUM
AND ALCOHOL PRODUCTS
BETWEEN QUÉBEC
AND KAHNAWAKE

WHEREAS Quebec and Kahnawake have signed a Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect and a Framework Agreement which provides for the negotiation of sectoral agreements in a number of areas, including fiscal matters;

AND WHEREAS the Mohawks of Kahnawake have the right to the tax exemptions described in the Indian Act (R.S.C. (1985) c. I-5).

AND WHEREAS the present situation with regard to taxation of tobacco, petroleum and alcohol products is not satisfactory and has resulted in misunderstandings which have caused conflicts between the parties;

AND WHEREAS the parties wish to conclude an agreement for the purpose of establishing certain principles and procedures that will resolve these misunderstandings and avoid future conflicts between themselves;

AND WHEREAS the parties are intended to sign a complementary agreement on fiscal matters related to consumer goods and services.

NOW THEREFORE THE PARTIES AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

Part 1

OBJECT OF THE AGREEMENT


1. The purpose of this Agreement is to identify the principles and procedures that will define the relationship between the parties in fiscal matters regarding tobacco, petroleum and alcohol products.

2. The Territory of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Territory") is, for the purpose of this Agreement, the territory over which the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Council") has jurisdiction.

3. The Preamble is an integral part of this Agreement.

4. The following Schedules are an integral part of this Agreement:

1. Definitions;
2. Monitoring of the general level of prices.

5. The taxes covered by this Agreement are the tax on tobacco under the Tobacco Tax Act (R.S.Q., c. I-2), the tax on petroleum products under the Fuel Tax Act (R.S.Q., c.T-1) and the tax on alcoholic beverages under Title II of the Act respecting the Québec Sales Tax (R.S.Q., c.T-0.1), (hereinafter referred to collectively as "specific taxes").

Part 2

SPECIAL PRODUCTS


6. Kahnawake will provide for a regulatory framework for the supply and sale of tobacco, petroleum and alcohol products (collectively referred to as "special products") within the Territory.

7. Kahnawake will establish a single supply system for all special products sold in the Territory.

8. Kahnawake will provide that all special products supplied in the Territory to persons who are not Mohawks have been legally obtained from sources acceptable to both parties.

9. Except to the extent that the operation of this Agreement provides otherwise, the supply of special products outside the Territory is subject to applicable taxes.

Part 3

REMITTANCE TO KAHNAWAKE


10. The Minister of Revenue shall remit to Kahnawake, or such entity as may be identified by Kahnawake, the amount of the specific taxes which have been collected on the special products supplied in the Territory to Mohawks for personal use or consumption; no reimbursement of any specific tax will be made directly to an individual or merchant by Québec.

11. This remittance is made, following a request by the Council on the terms and conditions determined by the parties. The amount of the remittance is calculated on the basis of the special products that have been supplied during the period through the single supply channel referred to in section 7 to the Mohawk merchants and supplied again by them to the Mohawks for their own consumption.

12. The Minister of Revenue may deduct from this remittance an amount established in a manner agreed upon by the parties, corresponding, in whole or in part, to the cost of the identification card system defined in Schedule 1.

Part 4

ASSESSMENT MECHANISMS

Price Structure Monitoring


13. The parties agree that in the event the retail price of the special products supplied in the Territory to persons who are not Mohawks are not within the prevailing market prices in the surrounding region, it shall not be attributable to operation of this Agreement.

14. The parties agree to set up a joint mechanism for the monitoring of the general price levels in the Territory and in the surrounding region as provided in Schedule 2.

Exchange of Information

15. The parties agree to exchange regularly all the informations, data and statistics required for each party to be in a position to appraise the implementation of this Agreement. Each party will respect the confidentiality of such information and use it, in accordance with applicable laws, for no other purpose than matters identified in this Agreement.

16. The parties agree to exchange regularly all the informations, data and statistics required for each party to be in a position to appraise the implementation of this Agreement. Each party will respect the confidentiality of such information and use it, in accordance with applicable laws, for no other purpose than matters identified in this Agreement.

Part 5

COOPERATION


17. The parties to this Agreement recognize the need to cooperate and to combine their efforts to achieve the purposes of this Agreement.

Implementation

18. The chief of the Office defined in Schedule 1 and the deputy-minister of Revenue are responsible for the application and implementation of this Agreement. Each of them may delegate to any person of the Office or the Department the power to implement any section of this Agreement.

19. Quebec agrees to take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

20. Kahnawake agrees to shall take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

Liaison Committee

21. The Liaison Committee defined in Schedule 1 is charged with supervising the application of this Agreement.

22. The Liaison Committee shall have the power to make joint recommendations to the parties concerning any matter relative to the implementation of this Agreement.

Part 6

FINAL PROVISIONS

Duration of the Agreement


23. This Agreement shall take effect on the date of its signing by both parties and remain in effect for a period of five years, subject to the provisions of this Agreement.

However, sections 6, 7, 8 and 10 shall come into effect on the date agreed upon in writing by the parties.

24. The parties may agree on an agenda for the progressive implementation of this Agreement and, if necessary, on transitional arrangements.

Amendment of the Agreement

25. The parties may, by written agreement, amend this Agreement or conclude supplementary agreements by an exchange of letters with respect to the implementation of this Agreement on matters not specified herein

Difficulties of Application

26. The parties agree to submit to the Liaison Committee any disagreement or situation that may hinder the application of any or all of the provisions of this Agreement.

27. Should the difficulty remain unresolved at the expiry of a delay of thirty (30) days from the date it was submitted to the committee, the party that submitted it may address the other party a written resiliation notice as provided in section 28.

Cancellation of the Agreement

28. This Agreement is canceled at the expiry of a delay of sixty (60) days from the date a written resiliation notice is forwarded by either of the parties, unless the parties agree on different terms before the end of such delay.

29. In case of cancellation, the Liaison Committee shall recommend to the parties the transitional or final arrangements to be made.

Renewal of the Agreement

30. This Agreement is renewed automatically unless one of the parties gives the other a written notice of termination. This Agreement remains in effect for a maximum period of sixty (60) days after its expiry unless the parties agree otherwise.

In the event of non renewal of this Agreement, section 29 applies.

31. This Agreement is not intended to be an agreement or a treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 nor is it to be interpreted in any way as abrogating, derogating, negating or recognizing any aboriginal, treaty or other rights, except to the extent that it recognizes the right of the Mohawks to tax exemptions.

32. Nothing in this Agreement affects the rights of a person who is not a Mohawk to whom this Agreement applies to benefit from the tax exemptions provided for in the Indian Act.

33. Should any provision of this Agreement be declared null or void by a competent tribunal, the parties undertake to remedy this nullity or invalidity as quickly as possible so that the purposes of this Agreement can be achieved.

N WITNESS WHEREOF the parties have signed this _____ day of _____ 1999:

Pour le Québec

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

_______________
Rita Dionne-Marsolais
Ministre du Revenu

_______________
Bernard Landry
Vice-Premier ministre
Ministre d'État à l'Économie et aux Finances
Ministre de l'Industrie et du Commerce
Ministre des Finances

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE SUR LA FISCALITÉ DU TABAC, DES CARBURANTS ET DES BOISSONS ALCOOLIQUES ENTRE LE QUÉBEC ET KAHNAWAKE

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec et Kahnawake ont signé une Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel et une Entente-cadre qui prévoit la négociation d'ententes sectorielles dans un certain nombre de domaines, dont la fiscalité;

CONSIDÉRANT que les Mohawks de Kahnawake ont droit aux exemptions fiscales décrites dans la Loi sur les Indiens (L.R.C. (1985) c. I-5);

CONSIDÉRANT qu'en ce qui concerne les taxes sur le tabac, les carburants et les boissons alcooliques, la situation actuelle n'est pas satisfaisante et a causé des mésententes et de la friction entre les parties;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties veulent s'entendre sur des principes et des procédures susceptibles de résoudre ces mésententes et de prévenir les conflits entre elles;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties ont l'intention de conclure une entente complémentaire sur la fiscalité des services et des biens de consommation ;

EN CONSÉQUENCE, LES PARTIES CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

Section 1

OBJET DE L'ENTENTE

1. La présente entente a pour objet de définir les principes et procédures qui guideront les parties en matière de fiscalité relative au tabac, aux carburants et aux boissons alcooliques.

2. Le territoire de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Territoire ») est aux fins de la présente entente, le territoire sur lequel le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Conseil ») a compétence.

3. Le préambule fait partie intégrante de la présente entente.

4. Les annexes ci-après énumérées font partie intégrante de la présente entente :

1. Définitions ;
2. Évaluation du niveau général des prix .

5. Les taxes et impôts visés par la présente entente sont l'impôt sur le tabac prévu par la Loi concernant l'impôt sur le tabac (L.R.Q., c.I-2), la taxe sur les carburants prévue par la Loi concernant la taxe sur les carburants (L.R.Q., c.T-1) et la taxe spécifique sur les boissons alcooliques prévues par le titre II de la Loi sur la taxe de vente du Québec, ci-après appelées « taxes spécifiques ».

Section 2

PRODUITS SPÉCIAUX

6. Kahnawake établira un cadre réglementaire pour la fourniture et la vente, sur le Territoire, des produits du tabac, des carburants et des boissons alcooliques (désignés collectivement sous le nom de « produits spéciaux »).

7. Kahnawake mettra sur pied un système d'approvisionnement unique pour tous les produits spéciaux vendus sur le Territoire.

8. Kahnawake s'assurera que tous les produits spéciaux vendus sur le Territoire à des personnes qui ne sont pas mohawks ont été légalement obtenus de sources acceptables aux deux parties.

9. Sauf dans la mesure requise pour l'application de la présente entente, la fourniture de produits spéciaux à l'extérieur du Territoire est assujettie aux taxes applicables.

Section 3

REMISE À KAHNAWAKE

10. Le ministre du Revenu remet à Kahnawake ou à une entité désignée par Kahnawake le produit des taxes spécifiques qui a été pré-perçu sur les produits spéciaux vendus sur le Territoire à des Mohawks pour leur consommation personnelle ; aucun remboursement d'une taxe spécifique ne sera fait directement par le Québec à un individu ou à un marchand.

11. Cette remise est faite à la suite d'une demande faite par le Conseil selon des modalités convenues entre les parties. Le montant de cette remise est calculé en fonction des produits spéciaux qui ont été fournis, durant la période visée, aux marchands mohawks par le lieu d'approvisionnement unique visé à l'article 7, et fournis ensuite par eux à des Mohawks pour leur consommation personnelle.

12. Le ministre du Revenu peut déduire de cette remise, suivant les modalités convenues entre les parties, une somme correspondant, en tout ou en partie, au coût du système de carte d'identité défini à l'annexe 1.

Section 4

MÉCANISMES D'ÉVALUATION

Surveillance de la structure générale des prix

13. Les parties conviennent que dans le cas où le prix de détail des produits spéciaux fournis sur le Territoire à des personnes qui ne sont pas mohawks divergerait des prix du marché observés dans la région avoisinant ce Territoire, cela ne doit pas être dû à l'application de la présente entente.

14. Les parties conviennent de mettre sur pied un mécanisme conjoint de surveillance du niveau général des prix de détail sur le Territoire et dans la région avoisinante conformément à l'annexe 2.

Échange d'informations

15. Les parties conviennent de s'échanger, sur une base régulière, les informations, données et statistiques requises pour que chacune soit en mesure de juger du bon fonctionnement de l'entente. Chaque partie respectera la confidentialité de cette information et ne l'utilisera, dans le cadre des lois applicables, que pour les fins de la présente entente.

16. Dans le cas où les parties ne pourraient pas s'entendre sur la nature de l'information, des données ou des statistiques qui doivent être échangées, la question sera soumise au Comité de liaison défini à l'annexe 1.

Section 5

COOPÉRATION

17. Les parties reconnaissent la nécessité de coopérer et de mettre leurs efforts en commun pour réaliser les objectifs de la présente entente.

Mise en oeuvre de l'entente

18. Le chef du Bureau défini à l'annexe 1 et le sous-ministre du Revenu sont les personnes responsables de l'application et de l'exécution de la présente entente. Ils peuvent déléguer respectivement à toute personne du Bureau ou du Ministère la responsabilité de l'application d'une ou de plusieurs dispositions prévues à la présente entente.

19. Le Québec s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

20. Kahnawake s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Comité de liaison

21. Le Comité de liaison défini à l'annexe 1 est chargé de surveiller l'application de la présente entente.

22. Le Comité de liaison aura le pouvoir de faire aux parties des recommandations conjointes sur toute question relative à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Section 6

DISPOSITIONS FINALES

Durée de l'entente

23. La présente entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur pour une période de cinq ans, sous réserve des dispositions de la présente entente.
Toutefois, les articles 6, 7, 8 et 10 prendront effet à la date fixée par écrit par les parties.

24. Les parties pourront convenir d'un calendrier de mise en vigueur progressive des dispositions de la présente entente et, au besoin, de la mise sur pied de mécanismes transitoires.

Amendement de l'entente

25. Les parties peuvent, d'un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires par un échange de lettres sur des modalités d'application de la présente entente non prévues à celle-ci.

Difficulté d'application

26. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au Comité de liaison toute mésentente ou situation qu'elles estiment de nature à empêcher l'application de l'une ou de l'ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente.

27. Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l'expiration de trente jours de la date où le Comité en a été saisi, la partie qui l'a soumise peut adresser à l'autre partie un avis de résiliation écrit, tel que prévu à l'article 28.

Résiliation de l'entente

28. L'entente est résiliée à l'expiration de soixante jours de la date de transmission, par l'une ou l'autre des parties, d'un avis de résiliation écrit, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes.

29. En cas de résiliation, le Comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

Renouvellement de l'entente

30. La présente entente sera renouvelée automatiquement à moins d'un avis contraire donné par écrit par l'une des parties à l'autre. Elle demeure en vigueur pour une période n'excédant pas soixante jours après son expiration, à moins que les parties n'en conviennent autrement.

En cas de non-renouvellement de l'entente, l'article 29 s'applique.

31. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit, sauf dans la mesure où elle reconnaît le droit des Mohawks de Kahnawake à des exemptions fiscales.

32. Rien dans la présente entente n'affecte les droits d'une personne qui n'est pas un Mohawk auquel s'applique la présente entente de bénéficier des exemptions fiscales prévues à la Loi sur les Indiens.

33. Advenant qu'une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un tribunal compétent, les parties s'engagent à remédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs recherchés par l'entente soient atteints.

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé ce _____ jour de_____ 1999 :

Pour le Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

_______________
Rita Dionne-Marsolais
Ministre du Revenu

_______________
Bernard Landry
Vice-Premier ministre
Ministre d'État à l'Économie et aux Finances
Ministre de l'Industrie et du Commerce
Ministre des Finances

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 30 mars 1999