Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

AGREEMENT ON TRANSPORT
AND USER FEES
BETWEEN QUÉBEC
AND KAHNAWAKE

WHEREAS Quebec and Kahnawake have signed a Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect and a Framework Agreement which provides for the negotiation of sectoral agreements in a number of areas, including transport and user fees;

AND WHEREAS the parties have had long and extensive exchanges in matters of transport infrastructures and movement of goods and persons;

AND WHEREAS Kahnawake must be adequately compensated for the loss of use of its territory and the other disadvantages caused by the highways crossing its territory;

AND WHEREAS Quebec agrees to recognize Kahnawake's responsibility for the roads located in its territory, and Kahnawake agrees to recognize the special character of routes 132 and 132-138 leading to the Mercier Bridge;

NOW THEREFORE THE PARTIES AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

Part 1

OBJECT OF THE AGREEMENT


1. The purpose of this Agreement is to improve the cooperation between the parties in matters of transport and to settle the question of user fees.

2. The Territory of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Territory" ) is, for the purpose of this Agreement, the territory over wwich the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake (hereinafter referred to as the "Council") has jurisdiction.

3. The Preamble is an integral part of this Agreement.

4. The following Schedules are an integral part of this Agreement:

1. Roads for which user fees are payable
2. Roads for which Kahnawake is responsible
3. Financial Transfer Adjustment Formula

Part 2



RESPECTIVE RESPONSIBILITIES

User Fees


5. The Ministère des transports du Québec (hereinafter referred to as "MTQ") agrees to indemnify Kahnawake through its Council for the use of its territory for the purpose of the roads listed in Schedule 1 by paying user fees.

In order to preserve the quietness and security of the inhabitants, the parties may agree on some restrictions to the access to roads within the Territory. It is agreed however that no such restriction should apply to Routes 132, 132-138 and the Mercier Bridge.

Joint Committee Report

6. The parties agree to implement the recommendations of the Final Report of the MTQ/Kahnawake Joint Committee, dated June 30, 1998.

Road Management

7. Kahnawake shall be responsible, on a year round basis, for the management within the Territory of the roads listed in Schedule 2 and for the maintenance of routes 132 and 132-138. Kahnawake undertakes to carry this management within the standards and specifications generally applicable to Quebec roads.

8. The MTQ agrees that all works, other than maintenance, to be performed within the Territory on Routes 132, 132-138 and the Mercier Bridge by others than MTQ's employees shall be performed under a negotiated contract with the Council, provided an agreement on such a contract can be achieved in due time.

Failing such a negotiated contract, the works shall be subject to public tender under ordinary rules.

Any contract awarded to a bidder who is not from Kahnawake shall include a clause giving priority to the use of Kahnawake resources and of qualified Kahnawake manpower or sub-contractors, when available.

Public Transportation

9. In order to facilitate public transportation within the Territory, the parties agree to make the necessary arrangements in terms of traffic control, signalization, police services and such other matters as may, from time to time, arise.

FINANCIAL TRANSFER

10. In accordance with the undertakings referred to in sections 5, 7 and 9, the MTQ shall make to Kahnawake one lump sum payment in the amount of $2 million, and an annual financial transfer in the amount of $2 million, under the terms and conditions agreed to by the parties.

11. The annual amount of the transfer shall be adjusted every year according to the formula described in Schedule 3.

ADJACENT LANDS

12. In order to facilitate the economic development of Kahnawake, the parties agree to set up a joint working group to report on the possible use, including potential joint ventures, of the lands under the control of the MTQ which are immediately adjacent to the Territory.

Any use of, or potential joint venture regarding, said lands shall be without prejudice to any claims Kahnawake may wish to make, particularly as regards the Seigneury of Sault St. Louis.

COOPERATION

13. The parties to this Agreement recognise the need to cooperate and to combine their efforts to achieve the purposes of this Agreement.

Liaison Committee

14. A Liaison Committee is formed to supervise the application of this Agreement.

15. The Liaison Committee shall be composed of an equal number of representatives from each party.

16. The Liaison Committee shall meet as often as required.

17. The Liaison Committee shall have the power to make joint recommendations to the parties concerning any matter relative to the implementation of this Agreement.

FINAL PROVISIONS

Duration of the Agreement


18. This Agreement shall take effect on the date of its signing by both parties and remain in effect for a period of five years, subject to the provisions of this Agreement.

19. The parties may agree on an agenda for the progressive implementation of this Agreement and, if necessary, on transitional arrangements.

Amendment of the Agreement

20. The parties may, by written agreement, amend this Agreement or conclude supplementary agreements by an exchange of letters with respect to the implementation of this Agreement on matters not specified herein.

Implementation of the Agreement

21. Quebec agrees to take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

22. Kahnawake agrees to take, as quickly as possible, whatever measures are necessary to ensure the implementation of this Agreement.

Difficulties of Application

23. The parties agree to submit to the Liaison Committee any disagreement or situation that may hinder the application of any or all the provisions of this Agreement.

24. Should the difficulty remain unresolved at the expiry of a delay of thirty (30) days from the date it was submitted to the committee, the party that submitted it may address the other party a written resiliation notice as provided in section 25.

Cancellation of the Agreement

25. This Agreement is cancelled at the expiry of a delay of sixty (60) days from the date a written resiliation notice is forwarded by either of the parties, unless the parties agree on different terms before the end of such delay.

26. In case of cancellation, the Liaison Committee shall recommend to the parties the transitional or final arrangements to be made.

Extension or Renewal of the Agreement

27. This Agreement is renewed automatically unless one party gives the other a written notice of termination. This Agreement remains in effect for a maximum period of sixty (60) days after its expiry unless the parties agree otherwise.

In the event of non renewal of this Agreement, section 26 applies.

28. This Agreement is not intended to be an agreement or a treaty as contemplated in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 nor is it to be interpreted in any way as abrogating, derogating, negating or recognising any aboriginal, treaty or other rights.

29. Should any provision of this Agreement be declared null or void by a competent tribunal, the parties undertake to remedy this nullity or invalidity as quickly as possible so that the purposes of this Agreement can be achieved.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the parties have signed this _____ day of _____ 1999:

On behalf of Québec

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

On behalf of Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand Chief
Mohawk Council of Kahnawake

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

ENTENTE SUR LES TRANSPORTS ET LES DROITS D'USAGE ENTRE LE QUÉBEC ET KAHNAWAKE

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec et Kahnawake ont signé une Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel ainsi qu'une entente-cadre qui prévoit la négociation d'ententes sectorielles dans un certain nombre de domaines, dont les transports et les droits d'usage;

CONSIDÉRANT que les parties ont depuis longtemps de nombreux échanges en matière d'infrastructures de transport et de circulation des biens et des personnes;

CONSIDÉRANT que Kahnawake doit être adéquatement indemnisé pour la perte de jouissance de son territoire et les autres inconvénients qui découlent de la présence de grandes routes sur son territoire;

CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec accepte de reconnaître la responsabilité de Kahnawake sur les routes situées sur son territoire et que Kahnawake accepte de reconnaître le caractère spécial des routes 132 et 132-138 conduisant au Pont Mercier;

EN CONSÉQUENCE, LES PARTIES CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

OBJET DE L'ENTENTE

1. La présente entente a pour objet d'établir le cadre de relations harmonieuses en matière de transports et de régler la question des droits d'usage.

2. Le territoire de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Territoire ») est aux fins de la présente entente, le territoire sur lequel le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake (ci-après appelé « Conseil ») a compétence.

3. Le préambule fait partie intégrante de la présente entente.

4. Les annexes ci-après énumérées font partie intégrante de la présente entente :

1. Routes pour lesquelles des droits d'usage sont payables
2. Routes sous la responsabilité de Kahnawake
3. Formule d'ajustement du transfert financier

RESPONSABILITÉS RESPECTIVES

Droits d'usage

5. Le ministère des Transports du Québec (ci-après appelé « Ministère ») accepte d'indemniser Kahnawake par l'entremise du Conseil pour l'utilisation de son territoire aux fins des routes décrites à l'annexe 1 en lui payant des droits d'usage.

Les parties pourront convenir de certaines restrictions d'accès aux routes situées dans le Territoire afin de protéger la sécurité et la tranquillité des riverains. Les parties conviennent cependant qu'aucune telle restriction ne doit s'appliquer aux routes 132, 132-138 et au Pont Mercier.

Rapport du Comité conjoint

6. Les parties acceptent de mettre en oeuvre le rapport final du Comité conjoint Québec-Kahnawake, daté du 30 juin 1998.

Gestion des routes

7. Kahnawake sera pleinement responsable, tout au long de l'année, de la gestion des routes décrites à l'annexe 2 qui sont situées dans le Territoire de même que de l'entretien des routes 132 et 132-138. Kahnawake s'engage à faire cet entretien suivant les normes et spécifications qui s'appliquent généralement aux routes du Québec.

8. Le Ministère fera en sorte que tous les travaux autres que d'entretien sur la partie des routes 132, 132-138 et du Pont Mercier située dans le Territoire qui ne sont pas faits en régie, seront exécutés suivant un contrat négocié avec le Conseil dans la mesure où l'on pourra s'entendre sur un tel contrat en temps utile.

En cas d'absence de contrat négocié, ces travaux seront accordés sur appel d'offres public et suivant les règles habituelles.

Tout contrat accordé à un soumissionnaire autre que Kahnawake devra inclure une clause à l'effet que priorité doit être donnée à l'utilisation des matériaux, de la main d'oeuvre et des sous-contractants de Kahnawake, lorsque disponibles.

Transport collectif

9. Afin de faciliter le transport collectif sur le Territoire, les parties s'engagent à mettre en place les arrangements nécessaires en ce qui concerne le contrôle de la circulation, la signalisation, les services policiers et les autres matières de même nature qui pourraient éventuellement être requises.

TRANSFERT FINANCIER

10. Pour donner suite aux engagements mentionnés aux articles 5, 7 et 9, le Ministère fera à Kahnawake un paiement forfaitaire de 2 millions $ et un transfert financier annuel au montant de 2 millions $. Ce transfert se fera suivant les modalités dont pourront convenir les parties.

11. Le montant annuel du transfert sera réajusté à tous les ans suivant la formule décrite à l'annexe 3.

TERRAINS CONTIGUS

12. Afin de favoriser le développement économique de Kahnawake, les parties conviennent de mettre sur pied un groupe de travail conjoint afin de faire rapport sur l'utilisation éventuelle, possiblement dans le cadre d'un projet commun, des terrains contigus au Territoire qui sont sous la gestion du Ministère.

Tout usage de ces terrains ou tout projet commun à leur égard, ne porte pas préjudice à toute revendication que Kahnawake pourrait désirer faire, notamment en ce qui concerne la Seigneurie du Sault Saint-Louis.

COOPÉRATION

13. Les parties reconnaissent la nécessité de coopérer et de mettre leurs efforts en commun pour réaliser les objectifs de la présente entente.

Comité de liaison

14. Un Comité de liaison est constitué en vue de surveiller l'application de la présente entente.

15. Le Comité de liaison sera composé à parts égales de représentants de chacune des parties.

16. Le Comité de liaison se réunira aussi souvent que nécessaire.

17. Le Comité de liaison aura le pouvoir de faire aux parties des recommandations conjointes sur toute question relative à la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

DISPOSITIONS FINALES

Durée de l'entente

18. La présente entente prend effet à la date de sa signature par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur pour une période de cinq ans, sous réserve des dispositions de la présente entente.

19. Les parties pourront convenir d'un calendrier de mise en vigueur progressive des dispositions de la présente entente et, au besoin, de la mise sur pied de mécanismes transitoires.

Amendement de l'entente

20. Les parties peuvent, d'un commun accord exprimé par écrit, amender la présente entente ou conclure des ententes complémentaires par un échange de lettres sur des modalités d'application de la présente entente non prévues à celle-ci.

Mise en oeuvre de l'entente

21. Le Québec s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

22. Kahnawake s'engage à prendre, dans les meilleurs délais, les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de la présente entente.

Difficulté d'application

23. Les parties conviennent de soumettre au Comité de liaison toute mésentente ou situation qu'elles estiment de nature à empêcher l'application de l'une ou de l'ensemble des dispositions de la présente entente.

24. Si la difficulté demeure non résolue à l'expiration de trente jours de la date où le Comité en a été saisi, la partie qui l'a soumise peut adresser à l'autre partie un avis de résiliation écrit, tel que prévu à l'article 25.

Résiliation de l'entente

25. L'entente est résiliée à l'expiration de soixante jours de la date de transmission, par l'une ou l'autre des parties, d'un avis de résiliation écrit, à moins que les parties ne conviennent avant ce terme de dispositions différentes.

26. En cas de résiliation, le Comité de liaison verra à recommander aux parties les dispositions transitoires ou finales à prendre.

Reconduction ou renouvellement de l'entente

27. La présente entente sera renouvelée automatiquement à moins qu'une partie donne à l'autre un avis écrit ou contraire. Elle demeure en vigueur pour une période n'excédant pas soixante jours après son expiration, à moins que les parties n'en conviennent autrement.

En cas de non-renouvellement de l'entente, l'article 26 s'applique.

28. La présente entente ne constitue pas un traité au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et ne doit être interprétée d'aucune façon comme ayant l'effet d'une abrogation, d'une dérogation, d'une négation ou d'une reconnaissance d'un droit ancestral, d'un droit issu de traité ou d'un autre droit.

29. Advenant qu'une disposition quelconque de la présente entente soit déclarée nulle ou invalide par un tribunal compétent, les parties s'engagent à remédier, dans les meilleurs délais, à cette nullité ou invalidité de manière à ce que les objectifs recherchés par l'entente soient atteints.

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé ce _____ jour de _____ 1999 :

Pour le Québec,

_______________
Guy Chevrette
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre des Transports

Pour Kahnawake,

_______________
Joseph Tokwiro Norton
Grand chef
Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 30 mars 1999