Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Attikameks

There are approximately 6,300 Attikameks, who are part of the greater Algonquin linguistic and cultural family. Close to 85% of them live in Manawan, Wemotaci and Obedjiwan, while the others are spread out across Québec. The community of Manawan is located in the Lanaudière region, Obedjiwan is on the north shore of the Gouin reservoir in the Haute-Mauricie region, and Wemotaci is located northwest of La Tuque. The entire population speaks Attikamek and uses French as a second language.

In 1975, the Attikameks teamed up with the Innu nation to found the Conseil des Atikamekw et des Montagnais (CAM). Up until its dissolution in December 1994, this council had been mandated to defend the rights of the two nations within the context of the comprehensive territorial negotiations being carried out with the governments of Canada and Québec. Since 1994, the Conseil de la nation Atikamekw (CNA) has been conducting the negotiations with a view to obtaining recognition of aboriginal and territorial rights as well as the right to self-government.

In 1979, the CAM submitted to the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada a text dealing with its territorial claim, and the negotiations between the CAM and the federal and provincial parties began the following year. In 1994, the CAM split in two; the two nations opted for separate negotiations with the governments. The tribal council in charge of representing the Attikameks adopted the name of Conseil de la nation Atikamekw (CNA). In 2003, the CNA submitted a new agreement-in-principle proposal and re-launched the negotiations.

The Attikameks have created various organizations, such as Services forestiers atikamekw aski and Mamo Ateskewin which bring together the hunters, fishermen, trappers and gatherers of the territory. By way of Atikamekw Sipi (the Conseil de la nation Atikamekw), services are offered to the three communities in several fields: social services, technical services, education, language and culture, economic development, and document management. The general assembly of the CNA is made up of elected members from the three band councils: Manawan, Obedjiwan and Wemotaci. The mission of the CNA is to serve as official representative of all Attikameks at the regional, national and international levels, as well as to engage in the promotion of their rights and interests in the social, economic and cultural spheres.

Previous page - Next page

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: May 19, 2009
Online as of: November 11, 2004

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Attikameks

On compte environ 6 300 Attikameks, lesquels font partie de la grande famille linguistique et culturelle des Algonquiens. Près de 85 % d’entre eux habitent à Manawan, à Wemotaci et à Obedjiwan, les autres étant disséminés dans le reste du Québec. La communauté de Manawan est située dans la région de Lanaudière, Obedjiwan sur la rive nord du réservoir Gouin, en Haute-Mauricie, et Wemotaci, quant à elle, se trouve au nord-ouest de La Tuque. L’ensemble de la population parle attikamek et utilise le français comme langue seconde.

En 1975, les Attikameks se sont associés à la nation innue pour fonder le Conseil des Atikamekw et des Montagnais (CAM). Ce dernier, jusqu’à sa dissolution en décembre 1994, avait obtenu le mandat de promouvoir les droits des deux nations dans le cadre de la négociation  territoriale globale menée avec les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec. Depuis 1994, le Conseil de la nation Atikamekw (CNA) pilote la négociation en vue d’obtenir la reconnaissance de droits ancestraux et territoriaux ainsi que celle du droit à l’autonomie gouvernementale.

En 1979, le CAM a déposé auprès du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien un texte portant sur sa revendication territoriale, et la négociation entre le CAM et les parties fédérale et provinciale a débuté l’année suivante. En 1994, la CAM se scinde; les deux nations optent pour des négociations distinctes avec les gouvernements. Le conseil tribal chargé de représenter les Attikameks prend le nom de Conseil de la nation Atikamekw (CNA). En 2003, le CNA dépose une nouvelle proposition d'entente de principe et relance les négociations.

Les Attikameks ont créé divers organismes, tels que les Services forestiers atikamekw aski et Mamo Ateskewin qui regroupent les chasseurs, pêcheurs, piégeurs et cueilleurs du territoire. Par l’entremise d’Atikamekw Sipi (le Conseil de la nation Atikamekw), des services sont offerts aux trois communautés dans plusieurs domaines : services sociaux, services techniques, éducation, langue et culture, développement économique, gestion documentaire. L'assemblée générale du CNA est composée de membres élus des trois conseils de bande : Manawan, Obedjiwan et Wemotaci. Le CNA a pour mission d'agir à titre de représentant officiel de l'ensemble des Attikameks à l'échelle régionale, nationale et internationale, ainsi que de faire la promotion de leurs droits et intérêts sur les plans social, économique et culturel.

Page précédente - Page suivante

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 19 mai 2009
Mise en ligne : 29 octobre 2004