Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Innu (Montagnais)

The Innu nation, which has close to 16,000 members, is one of the most populous aboriginal nations of Québec, ranking in second place. Seven of the nine Innu villages are located on the Côte-Nord, while the others are located in Lac-Saint-Jean and near Schefferville. Innu is spoken by the majority of the members of this nation in their day-to-day life, with French being their second language.

The Innu communities are very different from one another, whether in terms of their geographical location and their size or their socioeconomic development. The main economic activities include stores, businesses, outfitting establishments, as well as activities related to hunting, traditional fishing and commercial fishing (salmon rivers). The Innu and the gouvernement du Québec have spared no efforts to improve the socioeconomic situation of the communities.

Several organizations, such as the Institut culturel et éducatif montagnais, the Shaputuan Museum and the Native Museum of Mashteuiatsh are working to ensure the development and dissemination of the Innu culture. What is more, all of the Innu communities have a community radio station linked to the network of the Société de communication Atikamekw – Montagnais (SOCAM).

Comprehensive territorial negotiations

Since 1980, the Mamuitun Tribal Council and the Mamu Pakatatau Mamit Assembly have been engaged in comprehensive territorial negotiations with the governments of Québec and Canada with a view to obtaining for their nation the recognition of aboriginal and territorial rights as well as the right to self-government. An important step was taken in 2004 with the signing of the memorandum of understanding between the two governments and the Innu of Mamuitun, a memorandum which the community of Nutashkuan subsequently adhered to. Since then, the discussions for the conclusion of a treaty have been continuing with the Mamuitun Tribal Council.

Previous page - Next page
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: May 19, 2009
Online as of: November 11, 2004

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Innus (Montagnais)

La nation innue, qui compte plus de 16 000 membres, est l’une des nations autochtones les plus populeuses du Québec, la deuxième, en fait. Sept des neuf villages innus sont établis sur la Côte-Nord, les deux autres étant situés au Lac-Saint-Jean ainsi qu’à proximité de Schefferville. La majorité parle innu dans la vie quotidienne, de même que français.

Les communautés innues sont très différentes les unes des autres, tant par leur situation géographique et leur taille que par leur développement socioéconomique. Les principales activités économiques comprennent les commerces, les entreprises, les pourvoiries, ainsi que les activités liées à la chasse, à la pêche traditionnelle et à la pêche commerciale (rivières à saumon). Les Innus et le gouvernement du Québec n’épargnent aucun effort pour améliorer la situation socioéconomique des communautés.

Plusieurs organismes, tels que l’Institut culturel et éducatif montagnais, le musée Shaputuan et le Musée amérindien de Mashteuiatsh, pour ne nommer que ceux-là, œuvrent à l’épanouissement et à la diffusion de la culture innue. De plus, toutes les communautés innues possèdent une station de radio communautaire reliée au réseau de la Société de communication Atikamekw-Montagnais (SOCAM).

La négociation territoriale globale

Depuis 1980, le Conseil tribal Mamuitun et l’Assemblée Mamu Pakatatau Mamit sont en négociation territoriale globale avec les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada en vue d’obtenir pour leur nation la reconnaissance de droits ancestraux et territoriaux ainsi que celle du droit à l’autonomie gouvernementale. Un pas important a été franchi en 2004 par la signature d’une entente de principe entre les deux gouvernements et les Innus de Mamuitun, entente à laquelle s’est jointe par la suite la communauté de Nutashkuan. Depuis, les discussions pour la conclusion d’un traité se poursuivent avec le Conseil tribal Mamuitun.

Page précédente - Page suivante

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 19 mai 2009
Mise en ligne : 29 octobre 2004