Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Inuit

In Québec, almost the entire Inuit nation lives north of the 55th parallel, in Nunavik. Approximately 10,000 Inuit and a few hundred other people live in 14 villages located on the shores of Hudson Bay, Hudson Strait and Ungava Bay. Inuktitut is the mother tongue spoken by more than 95% of the Inuit. English is the second language used by the majority of the Inuit, but French has been progressing steadily in recent years.

During the 1950s, the Inuit very quickly went from a semi-nomadic to a more sedentary lifestyle, changing their way of life drastically in an effort to adapt in a few short decades to centuries of technological evolution. Today, the Inuit are eager to retain their values, language and culture, while maintaining harmonious relations with the rest of Québec.

James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement

The James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA), signed in 1975 by the Inuit, the Crees and the governments of Québec and Canada, led to the creation of several institutions that have been headed by the Inuit ever since. Numerous organizations were created in the wake of the agreement. Makivik Corporation, established in 1978, is the mouthpiece of the Inuit when it comes to the protection of their rights and interests related to the JBNQA. The Kativik Regional Government (KRG), which was also created in 1978, is a supramunicipal body, made up of representatives of each northern village, and which exercises its jurisdiction in various public administration fields, including economic development, transportation, police services, telecommunications and wildlife protection. As for the northern village corporations, they are administered by elected municipal councils, whose operation is similar to that of the municipalities in the southern part of the province. Among the other Inuit institutions and organizations, mention may be made of the Kativik School Board and the Nunuvik Regional Board of Health and Social Services. Since the end of the 1950s, the cooperative movement has played a key role in the economic evolution of Nunavik. Along with Makivik Corporation, the Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec is the region’s major economic player.

Institutional ties between the Inuit and Québec

For more than 30 years, the implementation of the JBNQA has led to the intensification of relations between northern public bodies and the departments of the Gouvernement du Québec regarding the development of policies, the growth of funding and the adaptation of the legislative framework. In recent years for example, Québec and the Inuit have reached the Sanarrutik Agreement to accelerate the economic and community development of Nunavik. In 2004, the Gouvernement du Québec and the KRG signed the Sivunirmut Agreement making it possible to combine a large portion of the funding from several departments and agencies into one large budget. Thirty years after the signing of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, the Katimajiit meeting, which was held in Kuujjuaq in August 2007, made it possible to mobilize political decision-makers of all levels of government as well as Inuit leaders in order to open new socioeconomic horizons for Nunavik.

Turning to the subject of self-government, the Inuit made known to the Gouvernement du Québec in the 1980s their aspiration to have their own government institution. The question began to take clearer form towards the end of the 1990s with the creation of the Nunavik Commission and, in 2003, with the signing, between Québec, the Inuit and the Federal Government, of a framework agreement dealing with the negotiations to be undertaken in order for a regional government to be formed and placed under Québec’s jurisdiction.

In December 2007, the same three parties reached a memorandum of understanding which establishes the framework and the process whereby the future regional government of Nunavik can be created: this regional institution, which will evolve under Québec’s jurisdiction, will be public in nature and will come from the merger of the Kativik Regional Government, the Nunuvik Regional Board of Health and Social Services and the Kativik School Board.

On the 27th of April 2011, a referendum was held in Nunavik on the establishment of a regional government. This project was rejected by the population and negotiations have been on hold since that time. The government of Quebec remains open to the further progress on this issue.

Previous page - Next page

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: January 7, 2014
Online as of: November 11, 2004

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Inuits

Au Québec, la quasi-totalité de la nation inuite habite au nord du 55e parallèle, le Nunavik. Environ   10 000 Inuits et quelques centaines d’autres personnes vivent dans 14 villages situés sur le littoral de la baie d’Hudson, du détroit d’Hudson et de la baie d’Ungava. Leur langue maternelle est l’inuktitut, parlée par plus de 95 % des Inuits. La langue seconde est majoritairement l’anglais, mais l’emploi du français connaît une nette progression depuis quelques années.

Au cours des années 1950, les Inuits sont passés très rapidement du semi-nomadisme à la sédentarité et ont dû s’adapter en quelques décennies à des siècles d’évolution technologique, ce qui a modifié profondément leur mode de vie. Aujourd’hui, ils tiennent à conserver leurs valeurs, leur langue et leur culture, tout en maintenant des liens harmonieux avec le reste du Québec.

La Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois

La Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ), signée en 1975 entre les Inuits, les Cris et les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada, a mené à la création de plusieurs institutions que dirigent les Inuits depuis. De nombreux organismes ont été créés dans la foulée de la convention. La Société Makivik, constituée en 1978, est la porte-parole des Inuits en ce qui concerne la protection de leurs droits et de leurs intérêts liés à la CBJNQ. Également créée en 1978, l’Administration régionale Kativik (ARK) est un organisme supramunicipal, composé de représentants de chaque village nordique et qui exerce sa compétence dans différents domaines de l’administration publique, dont le développement économique, les transports, les services policiers, les télécommunications et la protection de la faune. Quant aux corporations de villages nordiques, elles sont administrées par des conseils municipaux élus, dont le fonctionnement est semblable à celui des municipalités du sud de la province. Parmi les autres institutions et organismes inuits, mentionnons la Commission scolaire Kativik et la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik. Depuis la fin des années 1950, le mouvement coopératif joue un rôle de premier plan dans l’évolution économique du Nunavik. La Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec est, avec la Société Makivik, le principal acteur économique de la région.

Les liens institutionnels entre les Inuits et le Québec

Depuis plus de 30 ans, la mise en œuvre de la CBJNQ a entraîné l’intensification des liens entre les organismes publics nordiques et les ministères du gouvernement du Québec en matière de développement de politiques, d’accroissement du financement et d’adaptation du cadre législatif. Au cours des dernières années, par exemple, le Québec et les Inuits ont conclu l’Entente Sanarrutik, en 2002, afin d’accélérer le développement économique et communautaire du Nunavik. En 2004, le gouvernement du Québec et l’ARK ont signé l’Entente Sivunirmut, qui a permis de regrouper une grande partie du financement provenant de plusieurs ministères et organismes en une seule enveloppe globale. Trente ans après la signature de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois, la rencontre Katimajiit, qui s'est déroulée à Kuujjuaq, en août 2007, a permis de mobiliser les décideurs politiques de tous les ordres de gouvernement ainsi que les leaders Inuits, afin de favoriser de nouveaux horizons socioéconomiques pour le Nunavik.

Sur le plan de l’autonomie gouvernementale, les Inuits ont fait valoir au gouvernement du Québec, dans les années 1980, leur aspiration à une institution gouvernementale qui leur soit propre. La question a commencé à se préciser vers la fin des années 1990 par la création de la Commission du Nunavik et, en 2003, par la signature, entre le Québec, les Inuits et le gouvernement fédéral, d’une entente-cadre portant sur la négociation à entreprendre pour qu’un gouvernement régional soit formé et placé sous la juridiction du Québec.

En décembre 2007, les trois mêmes parties ont conclu une entente de principe qui fixe le cadre et le processus selon lesquels le futur gouvernement régional du Nunavik pourrait être créé : cette institution régionale évoluerait sous la juridiction du Québec, serait de nature publique et proviendrait de la fusion de l'Administration régionale Kativik, de la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik et de la Commission scolaire Kativik.

Le 27 avril 2011 le Nunavik a tenu un référendum sur un projet de gouvernement régional. Cette proposition a été rejetée. Les négociations sont donc suspendues depuis ce temps. Le gouvernement du Québec demeure ouvert au dialogue avec les Inuits sur cet enjeu.

Page précédente - Page suivante

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 7 janvier 2014
Mise en ligne : 29 octobre 2004