Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Mohawks

The Mohawk nation, which has more than 16,200 members, is Québec’s most populous aboriginal nation. Approximately 2,700 Mohawks live outside the reserve, whereas 13,500 are spread out between three communities: Kahnawake (7,300), Akwesasne (4,900) and Kanesatake (1,300). The language generally spoken by the Mohawks is English. However, some speak the Mohawk language, while others speak French.

The Mohawks are part of the Iroquois nations which, prior to the arrival of the Europeans, formed the Confederation of Five Nations. Traditionally, their society was matrilineal, with women passing on the blood line and the clan’s identity. In 1649, the Mohawks, allies of the British forces, supplanted the Hurons who were the main trading partners of the French. As a result, the Mohawks acquired new hunting territories. In the 17th century, Jesuit missionaries, several of whom settled in Canada, converted many Mohawks to Catholicism.

Beginning in the 19th century, Mohawks held occupations in great demand, such as that of paddler on the boats of the era that crossed the Lachine Rapids. Following the construction of Victoria Bridge in 1850, Mohawks acquired a world reputation as workers specializing in the construction of high steel structures.

The Mohawks of Kahnawake, located near Montréal, have taken charge of most sectors of community activity for several years now. Having entered into an agreement with Québec in 1984, they now assume full responsibility for the construction and operation of the Kateri Centre, a hospital. The community also has its own police force. The community’s schools, including the Survival School, offer instruction that integrates various aspects of Mohawk culture.

The Akwesasne Reserve overlaps the territories of the State of New York, Québec and Ontario. The governments of Québec, Ontario and Canada have helped give the Canadian Mohawk community basic infrastructures in the field of health, social services, recreation, education, training and the administration of justice.

The community of Kanesatake, which lives near Lac des Deux-Montagnes, is confronted with a fairly unusual territorial problem. Not only do the lands acquired by the Federal Government for the benefit of the Mohawks not officially constitute a reserve, they also overlap the properties of the inhabitants of Oka. The territorial question continues to be an issue in the region and was one of the causes of the Oka Crisis in 1990.

Previous page - Next page

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: May 19, 2009
Online as of: November 11, 2004

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Mohawks

La nation mohawk, qui compte plus de 16 200 membres, est la plus populeuse des nations autochtones du Québec. Environ 2 700 Mohawks vivent hors réserve, alors que 13 500 se répartissent entre trois communautés : Kahnawake (7 300), Akwesasne (4 900) et Kanesatake (1 300). La langue d’usage des Mohawks est l’anglais; certains parlent leur langue maternelle et quelques-uns s’expriment en français.

Les Mohawks font partie des nations iroquoises qui, avant l’arrivée des Européens, formaient la Confédération des cinq nations. Leur société était traditionnellement matrilinéaire, les femmes y transmettant la parenté et l’identité clanique. En 1649, les Mohawks, alliés des forces britanniques, ont supplanté les Hurons qui étaient alors les principaux partenaires commerciaux des Français. Ils ont ainsi acquis de nouveaux territoires de chasse. Au XVIIe siècle, les missionnaires jésuites, dont plusieurs se sont installés au Canada, ont converti de nombreux Mohawks au catholicisme.

À partir du XIXe siècle, des Mohawks ont exercé des métiers recherchés, comme celui de pagayeurs dans les embarcations qui franchissaient les rapides de Lachine. Depuis la construction du pont Victoria, en 1850, les Mohawks se sont acquis une réputation mondiale en tant que monteurs de structures d’acier.

Établis à proximité de Montréal, les Mohawks de Kahnawake ont pris en charge, depuis plusieurs années, la plupart des secteurs de leur activité communautaire. Ayant conclu en 1984 une entente avec le Québec, ils ont maintenant la pleine responsabilité de la construction et du fonctionnement d’un hôpital, le Centre Kateri. La communauté possède aussi son propre corps policier. Les écoles de la communauté, dont la Survival High School, offrent un enseignement intégrant divers aspects de la culture mohawk.

La réserve d’Akwesasne recoupe les territoires de l’État de New York, du Québec et de l’Ontario. Les gouvernements du Québec, de l’Ontario et du Canada contribuent à doter la communauté mohawk canadienne d'infrastructures de base en matière de santé, de services sociaux, de loisirs, d’éducation, de formation et d’administration de la justice.

Vivant près du lac des Deux-Montagnes, la communauté de Kanesatake est aux prises avec une question territoriale particulière. Non seulement les terres acquises par le gouvernement fédéral au bénéfice des Mohawks ne constituent pas officiellement une réserve, mais elles s’imbriquent dans les propriétés des habitants d’Oka. La question territoriale demeure toujours un enjeu dans la région, et elle fut l’une des causes de la crise d’Oka en 1990.

Page précédente - Page suivante

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 19 mai 2009
Mise en ligne : 29 octobre 2004