Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Secrétariat > Mission of the Secrétariat

Mission and orientations of the Secrétariat

Mission

The Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) is the agency entrusted with the prime responsibility for maintaining ties between the Aboriginal peoples and the Gouvernement du Québec. For 35 years, it has worked with Amerindian and Inuit organizations to facilitate their access to the various government programs and to adapt government activities to their needs in some cases.

The SAA is part of Québec’s ministère du Conseil exécutif and reports to Minister for Aboriginal Affairs.

It is up to the Secretariat to establish harmonious relations and partnerships between the Aboriginal peoples and the government as well as between the Aboriginal peoples and the general public. This is achieved, in particular, through the negotiation of agreements, the dissemination of appropriate information and the providing of support for the social, economic and cultural development of the Amerindians and the Inuit.

The Secretariat must also coordinate all government actions in aboriginal communities. It is responsible for ensuring coherency in the policies, interventions, initiatives and positions of the various departments and agencies of Québec involved in this action. With this objective in mind, the SAA works in close collaboration with ministerial aboriginal affairs coordinators with whom it meets on a regular basis. The assembly of ministerial coordinators, created in 1978 at the same time as the Secretariat, is a forum for exchanging information and holding consultations on the government’s action.

The Secretariat mainly intervenes with representatives of the communities, nations and various aboriginal organizations. When required, the Secretariat is also active with the general public via the municipal world, wildlife and forestry associations as well as other stakeholders, in order to obtain points of view and also to provide appropriate information.

To implement the vision and action priorities of the Gouvernement du Québec in relation to aboriginal matters made public in the spring of 2004, the Secretariat is the main gateway for the Aboriginal peoples to Québec’s government apparatus.

Orientations

The orientations of the SAA are initially based on the general principles found in the resolutions that the National Assembly passed in 1985 and 1989. These principles recognize the eleven aboriginal nations of Québec (10 Amerindian nations and one Inuit nation) as well as their right to develop their identities, cultures, economic base and autonomy within Québec. These principles formally commit Québec to promote these rights and to enter into agreements in the pursuit of this objective.

This basically involves:

  • Fostering the participation of the Aboriginal peoples in economic development, notably through access to and the development of lands and natural resources;
  • Recognizing aboriginal institutions and the exercise of contractual jurisdictions;
  • Developing legislative and regulatory flexibility;
  • Establishing harmonious relations;
  • Ensuring the coherency and convergence of government actions in aboriginal communities.

The orientations apply to all of Québec’s aboriginal nations, whether their populations live in northern villages, on reserves or in communities. The orientations concern the following four intervention fields:

  • The aboriginal nations that are not signatories of the northern agreements and that are not taking part in comprehensive territorial negotiations;
  • The nations that are signatories of the northern agreements;
  • The nations taking part in comprehensive territorial negotiations;
  • Aboriginals outside the communities.

Principles

The 15 principles referred to in the resolution of the National Assembly are those which Cabinet adopted on February 9, 1983, which read as follows:

  1. « Québec recognizes that the aboriginal peoples of Québec constitute distinct nations, entitled to their own culture, language, traditions and customs, as well as having the right to determine, by themselves, the development of their own identity.
  2. lt also recognizes the right of aboriginal nations, within the framework of Québec legislation, to own and to control the lands that are attributed to them.
  3. These rights are to be exercised by them as part of the Québec community and hence could not imply rights of sovereignty that could affect the territorial integrity of Québec.
  4. The aboriginal nations may exercise, on the lands agreed upon between them and the government, hunting, fishing and trapping rights, the right to harvest fruit and game and to barter between themselves. Insofar as possible, their traditional occupations and needs are to be taken into account in designating these lands. The ways in which these rights may be exercised are to be defined in specific agreements concluded with each people.
  5. The aboriginal nations have the right to take part in the economic development of Québec. The government is also willing to recognize that they have the right to exploit to their own advantage, within the framework of existing legislation, the renewable and unrenewable resources of the lands allocated to them.
  6. The aboriginal nations have the right, within the framework of existing legislation, to govern themselves on the lands allocated to them.
  7. The aboriginal nations have the right to have and control, within the framework of agreements between them and the government, such institutions as may correspond to their needs in matters of culture, education, language, health and social services as well as economic development.
  8. The aboriginal nations are entitled within the framework of laws of general application and of agreements between them and the government, to benefit from public funds to encourage the pursuit of objectives they esteem to be fundamental.
  9. The rights recognized by Québec to the aboriginal peoples are also recognized to women and men alike.
  10. From Québec's point of view, the protection of existing rights also includes the rights arising from agreements between aboriginal peoples and Québec concluded within the framework of land claims settlement. Moreover, the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement and the Northeastern Québec Agreement are to be considered treaties with full effect.
  11. Québec is willing to consider that existing rights arising out of the Royal Proclamation of October 7, 1763, concerning aboriginal nations be explicitly recognized within the framework of Québec legislation.
  12. Québec is willing to consider, case by case, the recognition of treaties signed outside Canada or before Confederation, aboriginal title, as well as the rights of aboriginal nations that would result therefrom.
  13. The aboriginal nations of Québec, due to circumstances that are peculiar to them, may enjoy tax exemptions in accordance with terms agreed upon between them and the government.
  14. Were the Government to legislate on matters related to the fundamental rights of the aboriginal nations as recognized by Québec, it pledges to consult them through mechanisms to be determined between them and the Government.
  15. Once established, such mechanisms could be institutionalized so as to guarantee the participation of the aboriginal nations in discussions pertaining to their fundamental rights. »

Administrative publications

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: February 27, 2014

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Secrétariat > Mission et orientations

Mission et orientations du Secrétariat

Mission

Le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) est l'organisme qui a la responsabilité première d'assurer le lien entre les Autochtones et le gouvernement du Québec. Depuis 35 ans, il travaille avec les organismes amérindiens et inuits afin de leur faciliter l'accès aux divers programmes gouvernementaux et, dans certains cas, d'adapter les activités gouvernementales à leurs besoins.

Le SAA fait partie du ministère du Conseil exécutif du Québec. Il relève du ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones.

Il incombe au Secrétariat d'établir des relations harmonieuses et des partenariats entre les Autochtones et le gouvernement, entre les Autochtones et la population en général. Cela s'exprime notamment par la négociation d'ententes, la diffusion d'information appropriée et par un appui au développement social, économique et culturel des Amérindiens et des Inuits.

Le Secrétariat doit aussi coordonner toute l'action gouvernementale en milieu autochtone. Il a pour responsabilité d'assurer la cohérence dans les politiques, les interventions, les initiatives et les positions des divers ministères et organismes du Québec engagés dans cette action. À cette fin, il est en étroite collaboration avec les coordonnateurs ministériels en milieu autochtone qu'il rencontre sur une base régulière. Créée en 1978 en même temps que le Secrétariat, l'assemblée des coordonnateurs ministériels représente une table d'échange d'information et de concertation de l'action gouvernementale.

Le Secrétariat intervient principalement auprès des représentants des communautés, des nations et des diverses organisations autochtones. Lorsque requis, le Secrétariat agit aussi auprès de la population en général via le monde municipal, les associations fauniques, forestières, et autres, pour recueillir les points de vue et fournir aussi l'information appropriée.

Afin de mettre en œuvre la vision et les priorités d'action du gouvernement du Québec en matière autochtone rendues publiques au printemps 2004, le Secrétariat s'avère la principale porte d'entrée des Autochtones à l'État québécois.

Orientations

Les orientations du SAA reposent au départ sur les principes fondamentaux contenus dans les résolutions adoptées en 1985 et 1989 par l'Assemblée nationale. Ces principes reconnaissent les onze nations amérindiennes et inuite du Québec ainsi que leur droit à développer leurs identités, leurs cultures, leur base économique et leur autonomie au sein du Québec. Elles engagent formellement le Québec à promouvoir ces droits et à conclure des ententes en ce sens.

Il s'agit essentiellement de :

  • Favoriser la participation des Autochtones au développement économique, notamment par l'accès et la mise en valeur des terres et des ressources naturelles;
  • Reconnaître les institutions autochtones et l'exercice de juridictions contractuelles;
  • Développer la flexibilité législative et réglementaire;
  • Établir des rapports harmonieux;
  • Assurer la cohérence et la convergence des actions gouvernementales en milieu autochtone.

Les orientations s'appliquent à l'ensemble des nations autochtones du Québec, que leurs populations vivent dans des villages nordiques, des réserves ou sur des établissements. Elles touchent les quatre milieux d'intervention suivants :

  • Les nations autochtones non signataires de conventions ni en négociation territoriale globale;
  • Les nations signataires de conventions;
  • Les nations en négociation territoriale globale;
  • Les Autochtones hors communautés.

Principes

Quinze principes constituent le fondement de l'action gouvernementale à l'égard des Autochtones. Ils ont été adoptés le 9 février 1983 par le Conseil des ministres :

  1. « Le Québec reconnaît que les peuples aborigènes du Québec sont des nations distinctes qui ont droit à leur culture, à leur langue, à leurs coutumes et traditions ainsi que le droit d'orienter elles-mêmes le développement de cette identité propre.
  2. Le Québec reconnaît également aux nations autochtones, dans le cadre des lois du Québec, le droit de posséder et contrôler elles-mêmes les terres qui leur sont attribuées.
  3. Les droits mentionnés aux sous-paragraphes 1 et 2 doivent s'exercer au sein de la société québécoise et ne sauraient par conséquent impliquer des droits de souveraineté qui puissent porter atteinte à l'intégrité du territoire du Québec.
  4. Les nations autochtones peuvent exercer, sur des territoires dont elles ont ou auront convenu avec le gouvernement, des droits de chasse, de pêche, de piégeage, de cueillette des fruits, de récolte faunique et de troc entre elles; dans la mesure du possible, la désignation de ces territoires doit tenir compte de leur occupation traditionnelle et de leurs besoins; les modalités d'exercice de ces droits doivent être définies dans des ententes particulières avec chaque nation.
  5. Les nations autochtones ont le droit de participer au développement économique de la société québécoise; le gouvernement est prêt à leur reconnaitre également le droit d'exploiter, à leur bénéfice, dans le cadre des lois du Québec, les ressources renouvelables et non renouvelables des terres qui leur sont attribuées.
  6. Les nations autochtones ont le droit, dans le cadre des lois du Québec, de se gouverner sur les terres qui leur sont attribuées.
  7. Les nations autochtones ont le droit d'avoir et de contrôler, dans le cadre d'ententes avec le gouvernement, des institutions qui correspondent à leurs besoins dans les domaines de la culture, de l'éducation, de la langue, de la santé, des services sociaux et du développement économique.
  8. Les nations autochtones ont droit de bénéficier, dans le cadre des lois d'application générale ou d'ententes conclues avec le gouvernement, de fonds publics favorisant la poursuite d'objectifs qu'elles jugent fondamentaux.
  9. Les droits reconnus aux Autochtones par le Québec sont reconnus également aux hommes et aux femmes.
  10. Du point de vue du Québec, la protection des droits existants des Autochtones s'étend également aux droits inscrits dans des ententes conclues avec lui dans le cadre de revendications territoriales; de plus la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois et celle du Nord-Est québécois doivent être considérées comme des traités et avoir plein effet.
  11. Le Québec est prêt à considérer que les droits existants issus de la Proclamation royale du 7 octobre 1763 concernant les nations autochtones puissent être explicitement reconnus dans ses lois.
  12. Le Québec est prêt à considérer cas par cas la reconnaissance des traités signés à l'extérieur du Canada ou avant la Confédération, le titre d'aborigène, ainsi que les droits des peuples aborigènes qui en découleraient.
  13. Les Autochtones du Québec en vertu de situations qui leur sont particulières, peuvent bénéficier d'exemptions de taxes selon les modalités convenues avec le gouvernement.
  14. Le Québec, s'il légifère sur des sujets qui concernent les droits fondamentaux reconnus par lui aux nations autochtones, s'engage à les consulter par le truchement de mécanismes à déterminer avec elles.
  15. Les mécanismes mentionnés au sous-paragraphe 14, une fois déterminés, pourraient être institutionnalisés afin que soit assurée la participation des nations autochtones aux discussions relatives à leurs droits fondamentaux. »

Documents administratifs

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 16 janvier 2017
Mise en ligne : 17 janvier 2001